Rescue & Restore

Rescue & Restore Image

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    From start to finish, Rescue & Restore is an incredible leap for the band that should not only please the August Burns Red faithful, but opens them up to a wider audience of metal lovers.
  2. 80
    As a listener it’s a thrill to experience the album’s myriad twists and turns. Although it’s almost ominously dense in terms of the sheer amount of notes played, Rescue & Restore’s 11 tracks still seem to blaze by without becoming repetitive.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 15, 2013
    Rescue & Restore is a dove with singed wings, then--a monument more to what metalcore should be than what it all too often is. [29 Jun 2013, p.53]
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    Although the album doesn't repeat a verse-chorus-verse-chorus-breakdown formula, it also lacks distinct or memorable riffs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 30, 2015
    Intelligently written lyrics that explore exciting themes make it a more mature album overall. That's saying something. I mean, it's not likeIntelligently written lyrics that explore exciting themes make it a more mature album overall. That's saying something. I mean, it's not like their last album was kiddy stuff. What we get here is a incredibly heavy album that stands out from the pack thanks to dynamic vocals and true growth from the band.

    The sound is still aggressive and very heavy. The band sprinkles in some nice little surprises here and there that shake up their instrumental game. "Creative Captivity" has some trumpet sections that just sound fantastic and are one example of the enjoyable ways the band catches you off guard.

    The album's almost non-stop brutality can lead to a light sense of monotony if you try to listen to it all at once. Too heavy? There's no such thing. Yet, even at eleven tracks it's nice to get a quick break after a certain point to cleanse your listening palate to fully appreciate the album.

    With a uncompromising sense of heaviness, exciting changes in pace, and just an all around excellent sound, this is one you don't want to miss. It's an album that doesn't just deserve to be in any metal fans collection, it kind of needs to be. It's one of the most exciting examples of just how quality this genre can be. Metal has rarely shined brighter.

    I give this album a 9.7/10.