Resilience Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jasen Moreno joins the Texas metal band as the newest lead singer on its fifth full-length release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    [Drowning Pool have] managed to produce consistently killer albums with an unmistakable sound. This continues with album No. 5.... The weakest songs here are the singles.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Resilience mostly lives up to the promise of its moniker, delivering another well-executed, purely fan-centric collection of testosterone-fueled, post-grunge/processed metal jams with a complete disregard for subtlety.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    40
    Now on their fourth singer, their music is built on lunkheadness, all dumb riffs and blustery choruses. [May 2013, p.99]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    40
    New singer Jasen Moreno has an adequate bark, but the songs themselves are the problem. [30 Mar 2013, p.54]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Jasen Moreno is the perfect fit for Drowning Pool, and 'Resilience' proofs that. He keeps the down-to-earth and powerful vocals of hisJasen Moreno is the perfect fit for Drowning Pool, and 'Resilience' proofs that. He keeps the down-to-earth and powerful vocals of his predecessors, but he also adds his own touch with his voice. The album runs like a story, traveling from angry subjects to deep ones. Drowning Pool have been through so much when it comes to their singers, and it seems as Jasen is here to stay, a good choice on their part. He really fits the mold and is an excellent singer, and this album shows that clearly. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Resilience has got to be THE best album Drowning Pool has recorded, closely followed by Sinner. Drowning Pool's new vocalist :Jasen MorenoResilience has got to be THE best album Drowning Pool has recorded, closely followed by Sinner. Drowning Pool's new vocalist :Jasen Moreno brings a unique sound to the band which is incredibly close to the sound of Dave. The variety of notes Jasen can hit with his voice is phenomenal! His scream is also one of the best ones I've heard throughout metal music. You can hear the emotion through his tone on this album especially in the tracks "In Memory Of" and "Digging These Holes" Resilience is one of those albums I can't sit still to. It makes me want to get up and do something. Which is not a bad thing at all. Being able to relate to the songs on this album is also another fantastic thing. It's always a great feeling to be able to connect to music and let your emotions out through music. You can really kick ass and work out to any song on this album but the best ones being "Anytime,Anyplace", "Die for Nothing", "One Finger and a Fist", and "Digging These Holes" You don't hear many slow songs by Drowning Pool but they have one on this album "In Memory Of" I'm pretty sure I speak for everyone when I say we all have that one person or persons that we wish we could have back by our side, but we just can't. But you remember them by all the memories you shared together. GREAT SONG. If you haven't bought the album yet YOU'RE MISSING OUT!! Hopefully the front-man change is OVER because with Jasen's vocals and the band's resilience, they will continue to move forward through thick and thin like they have been and create more astounding music such as what you hear on Resilience. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Resilience is another step forward for the band and shows clear evolution in their sound. The themes of the songs change throughout, withResilience is another step forward for the band and shows clear evolution in their sound. The themes of the songs change throughout, with plenty of angst and aggression, but also some meaningful and deep content. New vocalist Jasen Moreno does a great job and seems like the perfect fit. It's clear the band are comfortable with him and hopefully they are done now with the "singer switch" and can focus on putting out more quality albums like Resilience. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Love this album! Jasen Moreno is a keeper. The music covers a range of emotion from anger to depression and Jasen's vocals intensify theLove this album! Jasen Moreno is a keeper. The music covers a range of emotion from anger to depression and Jasen's vocals intensify the sound with energetic consciousness. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Killer album! Jasen Moreno is what they needed! Diggin these Holes, Low Crawl, Die For Nothing, one way Prophecy are absolute heavyKiller album! Jasen Moreno is what they needed! Diggin these Holes, Low Crawl, Die For Nothing, one way Prophecy are absolute heavy screamers. while Bleed with you, Skip to the End, and In Memory of.. are melodic powerful songs. see for your self. Get Reailiance now Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    I was sent to review a concert and Drowning Pool was the opening act. Worst. Band. Ever. They lack true creativity. Their music and lyricsI was sent to review a concert and Drowning Pool was the opening act. Worst. Band. Ever. They lack true creativity. Their music and lyrics are seriously lacking. And they couldn't make bigger fools of themselves if they tried. I just was in complete shock. I've never listened to the band before that. And I would never recommend it to anyone. Collapse
  7. May 10, 2013
    1
    Drowning Pool's "Resilience" is yet another example of every horrendous bad cliche in radio rock music. From countless songs in Drop C# tuningDrowning Pool's "Resilience" is yet another example of every horrendous bad cliche in radio rock music. From countless songs in Drop C# tuning to themes of partying, selfishness, and violence, Drowning Pool once again scrape the bottom of the barrel, although not as much as their debut. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews