Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. A rich, exciting, and emotionally deep sounding album that carries on the freewheeling spirit and sound of the Unicorns as well as that of the Elephant 6 bands of the late '90s.
  2. The duo's current sonic incarnation favors melody over mayhem, and all the better for it.
  3. Return to the Sea is a case of Diamonds and Tambeur yanking up their anchor and setting sail for new waters, enjoying the freedoms of exploration and discovery.
  4. 84
    It's sprawling, ambitious pop music. It's just not perfect--not yet. [#20, p.92]
  5. The Frank Zappa/Neutral Milk Hotel/Muppet Show vibe doesn't always jibe, but that's half the fun. [7 Apr 2006, p.63]
  6. This album is a great deal of fun.
  7. A tighter, more controlled version of The Unicorns' wackiness.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 9, 2006
    One of the best this year. A constantly fun and interesting listen. "Swans (Life After Death)" is one of the best songs this year.
  2. FlinchBot
    Sep 23, 2006
    Album of the year so far.
  3. KevinM
    Sep 16, 2006
    A pop masterpiece. This isn't the Unicorns back from the dead, Nick Diamond in a new project with a whole different mood, and sound than the Unicorns. This is a rich piece of work, it has probably the best pop song of the year (Rough Gem), a fantastic epic opener and some other great highlights such as "Don't Call me Whitney, Bobby", "Where There's A Whale There's A Whalebone", and "Bucky Little Wing". Definitely listen to this for some great organic pop and some great instrumentation. This album IS an adventure as someone else pointed out. Full Review »