Rich Forever

Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    83
    It's a big project, but it never drags, overreaches, or stumbles; Ross rhymes throughout with so much power and economy that it just keeps barreling forward.
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    82
    It's a record that uses nastiness to cement the character "Rick Ross" as three-dimensional, and uses a barrage of bangers to cement the rapper Rick Ross as an undeniable force.
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    With Rich Forever, Ross continues to cement his position as one of hip-hop's best artists.
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    75
    While sonically it's different from anything else on Rich Forever, it's a product of the same insecurity machine that produces the rest of the tape's insistent cajoling.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    Rich Forever is a supremely confident mixtape, which is probably why it is extremely entertaining in small chunks, but can be witheringly boring listened to in its entirety.
  6. 70
    With clusters of meaty verses and throbbing, moody production, Rich Forever is almost on par with his last two solo albums, "Deeper Than Rap" and "Teflon Don" (Maybach Music/Slip-N-Slide/Def Jam), both great.
  7. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    Ross remains monomaniacally focused on monetary matters, spinning punch line after punch line about luxury cars, dripping jewels and high-grade cocaine.
  8. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    Rich Forever, the mixtape teaser for his forthcoming God Forgives, I Don't, is quite successful at doing nothing new at all.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Another MMG (Maybach Music Group) instant guilty pleasure. Wale, Meek Mill, Pill, and Ricky "Rozay" Ross make every trip to and from a concertAnother MMG (Maybach Music Group) instant guilty pleasure. Wale, Meek Mill, Pill, and Ricky "Rozay" Ross make every trip to and from a concert hype time. Hell, Illuminati (single off Rich Forever) makes a trip to the grocery store super-hype time! I have only been listening to Rozay for a couple years now, but he is already at the top. When anyone at the top puts out free mix tapes like this, and they are of the same quality in a mix tape said rapper is of a special breed. Rick Ross is cut of the same cloth as Lil Wayne, Dr. Dre, Eminem, Tupac, Biggy, and all the other greats. I can not wait to hear what the MMG "Don" has in store for his fans next! Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    horrible album by a horrible artist. All the beats are nauseating along with repeating lyrics. If your into music like that good for you, buthorrible album by a horrible artist. All the beats are nauseating along with repeating lyrics. If your into music like that good for you, but from a musical standpoint this is a disaster. Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    I loved this mixtape great wordplay and features such as Pharrell, Wale, Meek Mill. & Drake. I dont really like Rick Ross before this MixtapeI loved this mixtape great wordplay and features such as Pharrell, Wale, Meek Mill. & Drake. I dont really like Rick Ross before this Mixtape but after i heard the whole thing it made me like Rick Ross alot. but it had some flaws like Off the boat French Didnt deliver. But other than that good tape Full Review »