Riot Act

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 104
  2. Negative: 6 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    0
    Boring, that's the only word I can think of when I think of this Album and Pearl Jam's Career since their first two albums.
  2. GuyH
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    Pearl Jam career arc: Ten (8), Vs (5), Vitalogy (8), No Code (6), Yield (5), Binaural (4), and this is where I give up! (2)
  3. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    3
    I like Pearl Jam. I really do despite my score. Ten, Vs., and Vitalogy were all brilliant records. Even the critically hated Yield was very good. Then No Code came out and I wanted to vomit. Binaurial didn't help that much as well. With Riot Act, Pearl Jam has succeeded in releasing three horrible albums in a row. I tried to get into this one. I listened to it for a week straight and I like Pearl Jam. I really do despite my score. Ten, Vs., and Vitalogy were all brilliant records. Even the critically hated Yield was very good. Then No Code came out and I wanted to vomit. Binaurial didn't help that much as well. With Riot Act, Pearl Jam has succeeded in releasing three horrible albums in a row. I tried to get into this one. I listened to it for a week straight and I still hated it. There are maybe 2 good tracks. Not great, good..barely good. The only reason it doesn't get a 2 or lower is because while its a bad CD, even horrible, it has a very slightly interesting side to it where if the band put more effort into it, it could have been a pretty good release. Expand
  4. borneos
    Nov 13, 2002
    1
    steaming pile. poor pearl jam
  5. purrjim
    Nov 23, 2004
    2
    I never expect to like a cd after just one listen. After about 30 listens I hate to admit it, but this cd is a let down, a dissapointment. Where is the voice that carried me throught it and above it, even below, but never down?
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    An adult rock record in which nuance succeeds over bombast. [Dec 2002, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    60
    A couple of songs could do with more melody and less of Mike McCready's spidery guitar breaks. [Dec 2002, p.132]
  3. Eddie's heartfelt lyrics rarely cohere... [but their] grooves still sound taut, emotive, and world-class.