Rise of an Empire - Young Money
Rise of an Empire Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for Young Money includes appearances from Birdman, Drake, Euro, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, and Tyga.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 75
    None if the newcomers can hang with superstar moments like Drake's blustery "Trophies," but the rookie-posse cut "Fresher Than Ever" crackles. [21 Mar 2014, p.62]
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    Call it a wobbly when it comes to quality, or a showcase for the young that's stolen by the old, but it's best to consider it a simple roster-promoting label compilation that just happens to come with an EP or so worth of fire.
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    Rise Of An Empire, Young Money Entertainment’s sophomore album, is marred by its lack of star power.
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    He should listen to Rise of an Empire more closely, though: He may be part of an empire now, but it’s looking more and more like Rome in decline.
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    We're introduced to a charming talkrapper named Euro and not much else beyond some diverse but mundane urban contemporary music dominated by familiar players.
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    If Rise of an Empire is meant to read like some kind of State of the Union address, it paints Young Money as a fractured team that’s lost its compass.
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    The album is bogged down in missteps like Tyga, Lil’ Twist and YG’s limp One Time and uninspired strip club anthem Back It Up.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    Easily can be debated as the best Young Money complication album yet. I think that Wayne did a great job of incorporating his new artists into most of the songs such as Lil Twist and Euro. Euro is going to have a big career and I can just say that now. The way Euro raps is just unbelievable, the way he comes at it every line shows great talent.This album is definitely the new rise of an empire at Young Money and in the future I expect this group to have lots of success, as they have had in their past as well. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    Euro has a future...Drake isn't really Young Money,Minaj has an identity crisis,Tyga...smh,Lil wayne I don't know what to say.Mediocre...Young Money is dead Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    The line up is promising. I suppose thats why Lil Wayne is making all this $! But the album is WEEEEEAAAAKKKK! There is one song by Drake that was hot. The rest of the songs are lyrically weak and very predictable. I mean if you like the same thing that Lil Wayne gives you time and time again (i.e. drugs, pu**y, money) then you'll probably love it. The beats were hitting though. I'd like to hear KDot or Slaughterhouse go in on some of them. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    Keep the Drake song, delete everything else. That all I have to say about Young money now a days. This album was suppose to be a coming out party for Euro. He came out, and he is trash!!! Expand