Rize of the Fenix

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 15, 2012
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2012
    4
    I always thought that the day I didn't like something by the D, that would seriously be the end of my existence, but I'm still here. I really wanted to like this album, i really did but it was really hard to. The writing seems recycled and generally kind if boring. I wont exactly recommend this to anyone, but if you cant believe what everybody else has been saying, just like me, then goI always thought that the day I didn't like something by the D, that would seriously be the end of my existence, but I'm still here. I really wanted to like this album, i really did but it was really hard to. The writing seems recycled and generally kind if boring. I wont exactly recommend this to anyone, but if you cant believe what everybody else has been saying, just like me, then go ahead but these guys are passed their prime. I'm really sad. Collapse
  2. May 16, 2012
    6
    After six years of waiting, I expected something... grown. Not talking about maturity itself, but musical performance and even more riddiculous humour. Well, there it is - Rize of the Fenix has all of it, it's both more mature and "Tenacious-D-like" than its predecessor, though yet something important about the duo's craziness is missing.
    Musically, the new work is greatly produced.
    After six years of waiting, I expected something... grown. Not talking about maturity itself, but musical performance and even more riddiculous humour. Well, there it is - Rize of the Fenix has all of it, it's both more mature and "Tenacious-D-like" than its predecessor, though yet something important about the duo's craziness is missing.
    Musically, the new work is greatly produced. "Señorita" is one of the most successful songs ever created by Tenacious D, as it comes to composition. The whole album sounds more subdued than the previous two, but it ain't no discredit. Guitar lines are significantly marked and skills of the duo seem much better than ever before. Lyrically, it's fine. Lyrics used on Rize of the Fenix are still humorous and full of - at first sight - nonsensical content, yet they miss the diversity that band made us used to.
    When it comes to skits, listener cannot expect much. There are just two such skits on the album, and they are by the far end of the line, when it comes both to the album itself and general work on skits by the band.
    What makes Rize of the Fenix difficult to listen to again and again? After a bunch of replays, it is quickly going boring. Though well-produced and nice to the ear, it misses the energy given by the band previously, especially at the duo's first work. I recommend to become acquainted with Rize of the Fenix, but not to prepare for being rocked out of your socks.
    Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    "Rize of the Fenix" exhibits Tenacious D at both their worst and their best. Comeback songs like the 'Rize of the Fenix' and 'To be the Best' marks some of the finest moments on the record due to the fact that they're fun and great tracks at the same time. But then there's tracks like "39" and "Throw Down" that makes the D seem like a parody of themselves. Especially in "39" that visits a"Rize of the Fenix" exhibits Tenacious D at both their worst and their best. Comeback songs like the 'Rize of the Fenix' and 'To be the Best' marks some of the finest moments on the record due to the fact that they're fun and great tracks at the same time. But then there's tracks like "39" and "Throw Down" that makes the D seem like a parody of themselves. Especially in "39" that visits a very familiar theme - there's nothing new about it. And that's not at a problem on it's own - but they have visited this theme before in a much more successful manner (Note: just see "Low Hangin' Fruit). But all in all "Rize of the Fenix" manages to become an album that flies just over okay with and interesting tribute to roadies in the perfectly named "Roadie" and a surprisingly funny sketch with "Flutes & Trombones". It's good, but I wouldn't go any further than that. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Kerrang!
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    And so, just like that, Tenacious D are back. They're funny, they're absurd and they're hotter than a phoenix. Sorry, fenix. Let's just hope we don't have to wait another six years for the next one. [May 2012, p.52]
  2. May 29, 2012
    70
    Whether regaling us with an ode to a middle-aged prostitute or outlining their plans for solar domination, they're on fine form.
  3. May 24, 2012
    60
    he best songs on Rize Of The Fenix address that real-life redemption story....Still, it's hard to ignore the fact that the joke is kind of stale.