Rize of the Fenix - Tenacious D
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. May 15, 2012
    83
    No joke: Rize Of The Fenix is one of the year's most enjoyable hard-rock records.
  2. May 15, 2012
    83
    [The song] "Rize of the Fenix" is so powerful, so perfect, so representative of what these guys do well, what follows is almost sure to pale in comparison. Luckily, the highlights keep on coming.
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    And so, just like that, Tenacious D are back. They're funny, they're absurd and they're hotter than a phoenix. Sorry, fenix. Let's just hope we don't have to wait another six years for the next one. [May 2012, p.52]
  4. May 18, 2012
    80
    Rize of the Fenix does amount to a rousing comeback for Tenacious D: they're back to their old tricks, oblivious to whether the world at large actually cares about their shenanigans.
  5. May 29, 2012
    70
    Whether regaling us with an ode to a middle-aged prostitute or outlining their plans for solar domination, they're on fine form.
  6. May 22, 2012
    70
    All in all, it delivers the chuckles and a few guffaws, even if they are hitting up against the law of diminishing returns.
  7. May 15, 2012
    63
    Much like Black's sagging teacher in "School of Rock," this album lives its joke about redemption and returns to past glory.
  8. May 24, 2012
    60
    he best songs on Rize Of The Fenix address that real-life redemption story....Still, it's hard to ignore the fact that the joke is kind of stale.
  9. May 16, 2012
    60
    Yet another viciously fun balls-out rocker of an album.
  10. 60
    Rize of the Fenix proves that Tenacious D still reign supreme. But maybe only burrito or chicken supreme and not quite Cutlass Supreme this time out.
  11. May 15, 2012
    60
    The humor practiced by Black and cohort Kyle Gass hasn't evolved much since [2008's "Pick Of Destiny"]; Fenix is loaded with classic-rock-aping material which simultaneously admires and lampoons everything from Star Wars ("Deth Starr") to organized religion ("Throwdown").
  12. May 15, 2012
    40
    You wonder if Black and Gass have finally turned into the overblown wanksters they parody.
  13. May 17, 2012
    20
    A colossal disappointment. Tenacious D's album number three fails to capture the comic energy of the band's prior musical output and pales in comparison to other, much funnier rock music moments by the band's contemporaries.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 16, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic album with some brilliant songs and is only let down by some poor comedy skits. Ballad Of Hollywood Jack, Rize Of TheThis is a fantastic album with some brilliant songs and is only let down by some poor comedy skits. Ballad Of Hollywood Jack, Rize Of The Fenix, Senorita and Deth Starr really stick in the mind of some of the best tracks I have heard all year and this is easily the best album of 2012 so far Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2012
    10
    A much more mature album featuring some of the best vocal work JB has ever laid down. This may not be The D's funniest album but it is theirA much more mature album featuring some of the best vocal work JB has ever laid down. This may not be The D's funniest album but it is their most experimental and perhaps their most rewarding. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2012
    9
    I only signed up to this website and to review this album in particular because I saw the critic ratings (especially the rolling stones) toI only signed up to this website and to review this album in particular because I saw the critic ratings (especially the rolling stones) to give a quite narrow minded look at this album. I didn't know what to expect of this album, I really didn't. I had a long stage of loving the D and it faded over time in the gap between the two albums.
    This albums release has rekindled a nostalgic love of this music.
    The first thing that struck me about this album is the high quality of the tracks, there is no 'one note song' on this album or filler really, it seems to be mainly full of tracks they have a purpose for and a message, albeit sometimes crude message to put across. What almost hit me with every song was just how much of a tribute to the fans it was, references from the TV show and gallons of dare I call it D lore and other such things that the hardcore fans just love.
    My personal favourites from the album stretch my choices but I'd have to go with the samba epic 'senorita,' this is mainly due to the ending which is just amazingly fun to listen to and highlights a not happy ending in the love song epic it is so targeted to parody.
    The one thing I think anyone interested in buying this album should consider is "would I enjoy a light hearted album with a lot of parodies to songs I may like?" if the answer is yes then get ready for your socks to be rocked off and your ears to reach orgasm. If not then just listen to it on soundcloud for free and make your own oppinion. long live the D!
    Full Review »