• Record Label: Vertigo
  • Release Date: Jun 30, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CDub
    Jul 8, 2008
    5
    A big step back from their promising first album, which I love. There are only about three songs on the entire record that really rock or even echo of punk, sadly the overwhelming majority of these songs are slow little strummers and sing-alongs. Really too bad, does not live up to my admittedly high expectations.
  2. MatthewB.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A brilliant album. Tuneful and flirtatious. Every song is wonderful!
  3. AlejandroI.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    It's almost as good as the first one, and for sure much better than "shotter´s nation".
  4. MauriceM.
    Jul 5, 2008
    8
    the album itself's delightful, but there is also a ready-made critical reaction to it, as far as most reviews go, of the tired "former libertine/indie scene" type. not fair. most songs on RASN strike me by how original they actually sound. you can feel a really remarkable imagination at work here. poetic, i dare say
  5. MoiMe
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    Really much better than their first and everything Babyshambles have ever done. Liking it a lot. PS. Mojo gave it 4/5, which hasn't been included in the overall score so far...
  6. JJ
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    I have totally fallen in love with this album. There are some great songs here that are very catchy. JJ Thailand.
  7. JavierM.
    Jul 7, 2008
    6
    Tiene calidad, pero, donde esta ese ramalazo punk del album anterior? Ya hay demasiados grupos haciendo este tipo de musica
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Enough signs are pointing in the right direction, but Romance At Short Notice isn’t brave enough to follow each road to its end.
  2. Sure, there’s a residual whiff of mediocrity here, but Carl’s clearly found something else in himself as part of this new gang, and as Dirty Pretty Things’ music grows in assurance, it appears Pete will remain a solitary man for some time yet.
  3. An endearing example of raucous rock with a cynicism-free soft centre.