Roses - The Cranberries
Roses Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stephen Street produces the first album for the Irish rock band since 2001's Wake Up and Smell the Coffee.
  • Record Label: Cooking Vinyl
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Celtic Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    Roses may not immediately grab hold--and it's lacking one strong single to pull listeners in--but it's well-constructed adult pop that's unashamed of being either adult or pop.
  2. 70
    Arguably mellower, definitely matured, Roses is a collection that will please more than enough people to chart without quite winning best in bloom.
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    Overall, this is shaping up to be one of the most amazing albums of the year and will definitely not disappoint any hardcore Cranberries fans and may help them pick up some new converts along the way.
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    Cleverly, it mixes them [stadium rock and Celtic roots] both. [Mar 2012, p.99]
  5. 58
    Stalwart fans may swoon, but Roses, like its title track, just kinda wilts.
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    Even though bombast spawned the band's biggest hit, it sinks a lot of this record's second half. [No. 85, p.53]
  7. 40
    [Shows a] lack of development involved in either the music or the creators' worldview.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 3, 2012
    If you liked the Cranberries in the past you won't be disappointed by this album. It seems that many professional reviewers are somewhat misguided by musicians who can neither sing or play any instrument in their reviews. This album pretty much continues the discography of the Cranberries as if they have never taken a break. One small difference: The album is somewhat more mature, but this is just fine because most fans have matured as well. Riordan voice is still one of the best there is. Not without reason she has been chosen to sing in duet with vocal wonders like Pavarotti in the past.
    If you have never heard or seen the magic of the Cranberries, you should check out their spontaneous studio concert on NPR from the week before. Just amazing! They must be one of the few bands left who sound that great with minimum effort. No voice enhancers or pre-recorded singing here...
    I can't wait to see them live soon. Hope they will add a Bay Area concert to their tour soon!
    Enjoy! :)
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Valio la pena la espera. Me parece un buen album. Dolores O'Riordan demuestra que sigue siendo una de las mejores voces de los ultimos 20 años y mantiene un nivel alto a lo largo de todo el disco. Especialmente en temas como "Waiting In Walthamstow", "Conduct" o "Schizophrenic Playboy" sale a relucir toda su calidad vocal. La banda se muestra madura, compacta y homogenea, haciendo de "Roses" un grato momento. Mas que recomendable Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    The band's most compelling work since the glorious days of their fame. Sublime record. By the way, I find quiet unfair and unprofessional from not gathering enough reviews for this album as well as not have previous albums in the database. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    The Cranberries seem to be at a point where I'm beginning to wonder if they have anything else to offer us. Granted, there are four really great tracks on this album, but there are also other tracks that really disappoint. It's an album about desperation for companionship, and all it really left me feeling was a desperate want for these guys to kick it back into what made people fall in love with them in the 90's. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    After eleven years like a zombie which once sang about - The Cranberries are back with their sixth album. Dolores O'Riordan again regales us with the swirling melodies on the album carried by her characteristic timbre of voice . The CD is not outstanding - will not find same hits here whom once totaled band to the top. A very interesting and certainly standing out here is the single "Tomorrow," but also "Raining In My Heart" or the ballad "Astral Projection" are noteworthy. Notable entry only for fans of the band. Expand