Saints Of Los Angeles

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulA.
    Jul 6, 2008
    8
    Great Album (apart from chick = trouble). "The Animal in me" is without a doubt the greatest song these guys have written/recorded.
  2. MatthewM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Welcome Back Motley Crue!!
  3. MatthewA.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    The best music they've made since Dr Feelgood!
  4. ScottW.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year so far. Best Crue since Dr. Feelgood.
  5. JoelC.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Best, Pure Dirty Rock N Roll album recorded since.......I don't even fuckin know!!! Every song is an anthem, I personally don't think you HAVE to be a fan to realte to this album. You could be anyone, Mick's riffs made the album, Tommy's energy, Sixx's beast of a Bass and Vince's Jagermeister Vocals combined make a hell of an album everytime. This time Best, Pure Dirty Rock N Roll album recorded since.......I don't even fuckin know!!! Every song is an anthem, I personally don't think you HAVE to be a fan to realte to this album. You could be anyone, Mick's riffs made the album, Tommy's energy, Sixx's beast of a Bass and Vince's Jagermeister Vocals combined make a hell of an album everytime. This time though, Rock N Roll needed it. Modern sound with a classic Motley Crue feel. 10/10 from me. Thanks Guys. Expand
  6. ken
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    Fantastic full length album with original line up. Every song is worth a listen. A+
  7. JasonS.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Great album, enough said.
  8. Daniel
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    After a couple of listens it has become my favorite album of the year so far. A fantastic return to form.
  9. Scott
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    The more i listen the more it has really grown on me.A good showing.next time NO OUTSIDE WRITERS!! It does have its classic moments and energy.Solos could be louder and longer.Overall a strong 8.The funny thing is this does kick the asses of most of the "current " bands i listen too.Thank god for the crue STILL carrying the rock torch.Stand out tracks SOLA,"Welcome to the machine",Going The more i listen the more it has really grown on me.A good showing.next time NO OUTSIDE WRITERS!! It does have its classic moments and energy.Solos could be louder and longer.Overall a strong 8.The funny thing is this does kick the asses of most of the "current " bands i listen too.Thank god for the crue STILL carrying the rock torch.Stand out tracks SOLA,"Welcome to the machine",Going out swinging". But "Down at the whiskey" is a classic. Expand
  10. JeffH.
    Oct 6, 2009
    8
    Good Effort.
  11. JackF.
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    No doubt Crue's best album since Dr. Feelgood. Mars kicks ass, Vinnie whines, Sixx sleazes and T-bone pounds the drums like the good 'ol days....
  12. PaulC
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Album of the year. This album goes far beyond anything I thought the Crue could ever create. This album truly is art.
  13. Kizab
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    I have been a crue head since the early eighties. With that said the album brings back some of that sound...which is great.
  14. WayneM.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    I grew up listening to the crue. This is the best they have done in almost 20 years. It's great to hear them play so well.
  15. LisaT.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    This album is absolutely great. I have listened to it over and over and there isn't one song I don't like. I'll take it anyday over the crap that's on the radio now. Who else can make you want to quit your job and kick someone's a-- at the same time? Go Crue!
  16. MikeE
    Jul 22, 2008
    9
    Been waiting for this album since Feelgood was released in '89. There isn't a bad song on it. I've listened to it at least twice a day since I bought it.
  17. GreggK.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    A fantastic piece of work by the Kings of Sleaze. SOLA has so many different elements to it that it's difficult not to appreciate each song for its own individualized style. "Face Down In The Dirt" explodes with raw punk/metal power. "What's It Gonna Take", although mid-tempo, is a journey through the early days when Motley first formed, and the band performs it with passion. A fantastic piece of work by the Kings of Sleaze. SOLA has so many different elements to it that it's difficult not to appreciate each song for its own individualized style. "Face Down In The Dirt" explodes with raw punk/metal power. "What's It Gonna Take", although mid-tempo, is a journey through the early days when Motley first formed, and the band performs it with passion. "Down At The Whiskey"- beautiful guitar and drum work by Mars and Lee. Catchy, groove-laden, and melodic. "SOLO" is the arena anthem Crue fans have been waiting for. The riff blazes and has a very nice dark bass intro by Nikki - a pure sing a long delight. "MF Of The Year" - one of my absolute favs ever. Drips of attitude and sleaze and musically it's so tight and heavy. "Animal In Me" - another all time favorite. Lyrically brilliant and musically its very unique and has a style not heard by the Crue before. The sound is so heavy. "Welcome To The Machine" - fast & furious with a "Shout" like appeal. "Just Another Psycho" - not one of my favs but certain elements are appealing like Mars' guitar work and a catchy chorus. "Chicks=Trouble" - classic Crue sleaze with a killer riff by Mars and frenetic drumming by Lee. Lyrically it's nothin deep but considering the Crue's track record of debaunchery, it's fitting and fun to sing along to. "This Aint A Love Song" - another fav. Sleazy, dirty, grimy, hook-heavy, and should be a single at some point. "White Trash Circus" - punked out with a killer riff following the main chorus but overall not one of my personal favs. Has a Too Fast For Love influence to it. "Goin Out Swingin" - with the exception of the main chorus this track kills it with an all out assault of guitas, drums, bass, and vocal. Takes me back to the days of Shout. Overall I absolutely love this CD and it's the Crue I've been waiting to hear for over a decade. Mixed with so many different musical elements - rock, metal, punk, & glam it's hard to dislike it in any way. Plus, since it's a semi-concept album, the songs match perfectly with the story telling. My second favorite Crue album with Shout being my first. Expand
  18. GregJ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Not their best, but pretty damn good album. A good album to follow up The Dirt!
  19. ChadH.
    Jun 28, 2008
    9
    This is a great album and in fact I think its the best they have done. No fillers and just great music to feed off of. This is the album that should of followed Dr. Feelgood. I hope they have more of this for us in the future. For now I will keep listening to the "Saints." If you don't like it you don't get it.
  20. BrianS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    Good Crue CD. People expect too much from the Crue. Good fun rocking tunes. Not as "HARD" as some may want but all around good CD.
  21. BradP
    Jul 18, 2008
    9
    I would have never believed the Crue would come out with a release like this. It is just amazing. I have been a Crue fan since Too Fast For Love. I agree that the guitar lacks the sound of the early Crue, but I actually like it better. You know it's Crue when Vince gets going. It is fantastic, and my favorite Crue yet.
  22. BrianL.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This Album speaks for a entire forgoten generation!
  23. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Although not what they use to be, who the hell is! A very good effort. I am happy to have it and added to my collection of Hard Rock and Metal music.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Motley Crue has been trumpeting their hedonism for so long and so loudly that it's become more of a caricature than a way of life, and while Saints of Los Angeles is the best thing they've laid to tape since their codpiece heydays, it's more of a walk down memory lane/sunset strip than a legitimate call to arms.
  2. While not every song is a winner, the title track and sleaze anthem 'This Ain't a Love Song' are standouts.
  3. There is some of the old energy here, thanks in part to the presence of drummer Tommy Lee, who drives 'Down at the Whisky' and 'Chicks=Trouble' like somebody with a head full of stimulants. Yet the album lacks the tune-craft that once made vintage Crüe such hits as 'Dr. Feelgood' and 'Kickstart My Heart' so appealing.