Santogold

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 66
  2. Negative: 6 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CatQ
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    She can sometimes wallow in retro pop a bit too much but this eclectic mix really works and santogold has also seemed to grasp good pop ideals of catchy riffs and awesome instrumentation. She somehow manages to be part of and subvert the indie scene at the moment and its something everyone can listen too and enjoy if only because i love squealing the intro to creator!
  2. BartekB.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great album - probably the most fresh 2008's stuff...
  3. LouiseG.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    What impresses about her songs are the depth, the hooks are intantly gratifying, instantly likeable, but somehow manage to get more and more profound upon each listen. You're mesmerized, disoriented, taunted even, but through the twists and turns her voice cuts through and achors you down. This kind of all consuming music is hard to come by, I'm compelled to dance, to spin, to What impresses about her songs are the depth, the hooks are intantly gratifying, instantly likeable, but somehow manage to get more and more profound upon each listen. You're mesmerized, disoriented, taunted even, but through the twists and turns her voice cuts through and achors you down. This kind of all consuming music is hard to come by, I'm compelled to dance, to spin, to fly, to dig deep.... it doesn't get much better folks. Expand
  4. JarrellC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Thanks for Metacritic or else I wouldn't have discovered Santogold. This album is what the U.S. needed. Arguably, the only decent music that comes from the Hip-hop/R&B/Rap genres (there are few outside of this such as LCD Soundsystem), and there hasn't been an amazing new artist in the U.S. since Lupe Fiasco (in my opinion, again). Truthfully, I can't even place Santogold Thanks for Metacritic or else I wouldn't have discovered Santogold. This album is what the U.S. needed. Arguably, the only decent music that comes from the Hip-hop/R&B/Rap genres (there are few outside of this such as LCD Soundsystem), and there hasn't been an amazing new artist in the U.S. since Lupe Fiasco (in my opinion, again). Truthfully, I can't even place Santogold in one specific genre, which is the best thing about her. She draws comparison to M.I.A with her working with known M.I.A. producers, Diplo and Switch but I think she stands her ground. Definitely check out L.E.S. Artistes, You'll Find A Wat, Starstruck, Unstoppable and I'm A Lady. Expand
  5. LeviS.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    I think it's a great, versatile album. There is not a single track on it you'd want to skip when listening.
  6. foofighter
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Possibly my favorite album of the 2000's. She takes all the lessons learned from pop music of the late 70's through today and melds them into a genius sound; disco beats under punk bass with reggae backing vocals and a pop hook, with occasional hip-hop rapping to drive home points. Really, really excellent.
  7. TomA.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    A fantastic debut, mashing various styles and sounds, from electro, punk, rock and pop with a wider world influence, flavours of M.I.A., Bjork and even Gwen Stefani. Ultimately a strong and determined voice, with a a sense of passion and determination. A fresh classic album to define the summer of 08, I cant wait to see her live.
  8. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2008
    10
    It's the perfect blend of pop, indie, rock, dance, alt and electronic music. Santogold really is in a genre by itself.
  9. JasonA.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    From start to finish this is a really listenable and most excellent album. Very eclectic mix of styles; indie, new wave, dance, dub reggae, etc... One song will sound like The Pretenders, another like M.I.A, then another like No Doubt, then another like Tegan and Sara and then 4 others like nothing I've ever heard before. Despite the fact that I'm a dude, I can't stop From start to finish this is a really listenable and most excellent album. Very eclectic mix of styles; indie, new wave, dance, dub reggae, etc... One song will sound like The Pretenders, another like M.I.A, then another like No Doubt, then another like Tegan and Sara and then 4 others like nothing I've ever heard before. Despite the fact that I'm a dude, I can't stop listening to "I'm a Lady". What a freakin' song! Expand
  10. FrostG
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing and then it gets better with every listen. Song by song it is not hard to make comparisons - one song is like one of the best MIA songs, another like one of the best YYYs songs. They all hang together and in fact when you listen as a group and get a feel for the big idea here none of the comparisons make any sense. This album is for real. If I have heard a better This album is amazing and then it gets better with every listen. Song by song it is not hard to make comparisons - one song is like one of the best MIA songs, another like one of the best YYYs songs. They all hang together and in fact when you listen as a group and get a feel for the big idea here none of the comparisons make any sense. This album is for real. If I have heard a better album this year I must have forgot about it when I started listening to this. Expand
  11. Geoff
    May 8, 2008
    10
    While it resembles M.I.A it enters territory not covered by the latter and does so effectively. i.e It kicks some serious ass and will be pumping in my ride for at least the next week
  12. MarkS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Weird but wonderful with at least three gems on there that are 'first time lovers'.
  13. GaryM.
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    In my opinion, this is the best album of 2008 I have listened to, so far. It's truly amazing. Purchase this album, if you're interested.
  14. RaphS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Is it me or does this feel like a recycled version of bloc party's silent alarm with r'n'b twangs added to make it a bit different. it's still pretty good but only as an IT album. Don't expect fireworks. more like a 6.5.
  15. AaronF.r
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    This isn't usually my sort of music so I was pleasantly surprised by this as it is one of my favourite albums of the year now.
  16. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Santigold did a perfect job on this album, combining perfectly and mergers distant sounds amazing, fun melodies and a very particular depth in her voice and lyrics, without a doubt one of the best alternative albums of the decade and one of the best voices of the moment, Creator and LES Artistes are masterpieces! i really enjoy her music!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. This is music that looks outward at the pan-continental landscape while staying firmly adherent to and respectful of its deeply American roots; this is the emerging--and hopeful--face of the new millennium, and an altogether shining accomplishment.
  2. Despite Santogold's bloggorific buzz, her eponymous debut, while diverse, is no revolution.
  3. Santogold pours all that experience into a bracingly eclectic set full of fuzzy New Wave synths, sticky avant-soul melodies, busted-laptop beats and sing-song vocal chants inherited from the likes of Neneh Cherry and Björk. If you've managed to avoid her until now, you won't be able to for much longer.