Satanic Panic In The Attic

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DonI
    Apr 22, 2004
    9
    This is an excellent album, especially Lysergic Bliss and the "Sad Love" song. They mix a bunch of different genres, such as New Wave and electronica, and it works. See them in concert! They are funny and great musicians; especially the paradoy of McDonald's "we're loving it" commercial.
  2. matta
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    A truly original, wildly inventive album. Some slow spots (particularly around the middle), but the good songs more than overcompensate.
  3. amberb
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    fabulous, just fabulous!
  4. AC
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    There best work to date.
  5. JustinR
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    The more you listen to the latest Of Montreal effort, the more brilliant it becomes. A truly great album. The fact that Kevin Barnes basically played and sang the whole thing himself is absolutely amazing.
  6. MattR
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This was an awesome CD!! The first time I listened to it I was a bit confused cuz the lyrics are a little off the wall, "the octopus in your purse"? but if you listen enough you kinda understand what there talkin bout most of the time. I wish I could see them in concert there gunna be like an hour away tommorow but I cant go.
  7. brianh
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    it is simply impossible to not like this cd. mark donohue is just sad that his latest indie pop venture went nowhere and he's still talking about bands he wants to be a part of.
  8. DanB.
    Jul 16, 2006
    8
    You can listen to this album from start to finish. There are some great standouts (Rapture Rapes the Muses, Vegan in Furs) too. I suppose I'll have to buy a few of their other albums now. :o)
  9. DMac
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing! A very well crafted pop album.
  10. TrekD
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of it's kind. Simply sensational to listen to.
  11. RonnieM
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Best album of 04.
  12. FrankH
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Solid, creative and fun as hell! Some of the best music I've had the pleasure of listening to in quite sometime. This is a real gem!
  13. mthappiness
    Dec 12, 2004
    9
    really really good album. i've listend to this album 20x more than any other released this year.
  14. IanR
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    How is this only rated a 75? This album is absolutely brilliant... I've bought a lot of "good" releases this year, but this is still definitely the most solid and consistent album of the year, in my opinion.
  15. Anna
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    IM in love! It's a satanic kind of love...
  16. HartS
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    I don't understand the criticism, this is possibly my favorite album ever. It's obvious these guys were doing a lot of hallucinogens when they wrote these songs, as their LSD-visual-inspired lyrics and irregular time key shifts will attest to. How can anyone criticise this album with songs like Lysergic Bliss and Rapture Rapes the Muses?
  17. DJay
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Wonderful! Really one of a kind. Genuis songs(Spike The Senses, My British Tour Diary, Rapture Rapes the Muses, An Erroneous Escape Into Erik Eckles, Disconnect The Dots, really the whole entire album. One of there best works...which is saying alot.
  18. IsaacC
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Most can argue that psychedelic experience and techno beats won't ever solder together. But, the kats from Athens(Athens,Ga-that is) show their musical prowess and genius(especially of prodigy, Kevin Barnes) on this release batting that nonsense aside.Satanic Panic in the Attic is the story of spiritual cleansing and suchness questioning that comes awake in this concept album. The Most can argue that psychedelic experience and techno beats won't ever solder together. But, the kats from Athens(Athens,Ga-that is) show their musical prowess and genius(especially of prodigy, Kevin Barnes) on this release batting that nonsense aside.Satanic Panic in the Attic is the story of spiritual cleansing and suchness questioning that comes awake in this concept album. The struggle of the character's joust with his mental dealings. Tracks like "Lysergic Bliss", surely and pointed out as, accounts of the character's dab with psychoacitves as an outlet to answering his inner wonderings. Others like "My British Tour Diary", presenting the character's acceptance of the natural world as something beautiful and abstract. Beyond the meaning of the album Of Montreal embeds catchy and dance-able tunes for fans of the like. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Of Montreal have safely entrenched themselves as an institution in the indie rock world, and Satanic Panic shows them as dependable as ever for some of the best pop songs around.
  2. Of Montreal are at least three indie subfads too late.
  3. These new stylistic change-ups give Of Montreal a contemporary edge, but dull the pastoral chaos that made them so charming to start with.