• Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinD
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Truely a amazing work of artistic structure and brilliance. This entire record is playing at my funeral when my time is done.
  2. JohnA.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    First let me say I am a real person, not a robot, and I don't work for a record label. I honestly this is as close to perfection as you can get. Pink Cellphone goes hard in the paint.
  3. jorges
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    always a fan of deftones since they began i just think they are the only band that can play with my feelings chino voice just is incredible nice they didnt became too much team sleep this album is just great as everything they do
  4. CindyS
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    It is one of the best albums!
  5. joshb
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    i haven't been able to take it out of any of my cd players since i got it. amazing!!!!!!
  6. CosterM
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    You can't BRAND deftones. I think that is the whole point of their SWAG. It's music. mood.
  7. JacobB
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    I've always been a casual Deftones fan. I don't own any of their albums but I like Minerva, Back to School, Change, all the usual. This album however, has made me totally fall in love with Deftones. I haven't plugged into an album for weeks and not gotten tired of it like I have with this album. I don't know how else to explain this album except by saying its amazing. I've always been a casual Deftones fan. I don't own any of their albums but I like Minerva, Back to School, Change, all the usual. This album however, has made me totally fall in love with Deftones. I haven't plugged into an album for weeks and not gotten tired of it like I have with this album. I don't know how else to explain this album except by saying its amazing. Chino's voice is used like a musical instrument, a beautiful one at that, and I wouldn't change a damn thing about this album. Expand
  8. ivant
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Wow!
  9. carlosf
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    remember the red hot chilli peppers? remember when no one "got"their music? well the deftones aren't here to please you or the radio.. i love the deftones, and well i don't care if they ever make it into mainstream or play on the radio.. who needs another band with too much executive influence?"?? they are a garage band! and that is where their soul lies.. all about the music.. remember the red hot chilli peppers? remember when no one "got"their music? well the deftones aren't here to please you or the radio.. i love the deftones, and well i don't care if they ever make it into mainstream or play on the radio.. who needs another band with too much executive influence?"?? they are a garage band! and that is where their soul lies.. all about the music.. the music they want to make. Expand
  10. BradleyB
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Deftones return to form after the disappointing 2003 album. Up there with White Pony and Around the Fur.
  11. Vincent
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    excellent addition. the best tones' record since the white pony. atmospheric, dense, angular, harmonic and melodic, and it still rocks out well enough
  12. SeamusS
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    The most accurate review is the one claiming that if anyone has interest in Heavy Music, this is a must. I, though not a fan of metal per say, have always thought of the Deftones as something of a guilty pleasure, I felt awkward admitting to listening to them. This changed it. It's a beautiful and atmospheric album. Please listen to it. The highlights are "Cherry Waves" and "Kimdracula".
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    My favorite Deftones record with some peaceful and Violent melodies mixed together to make it a perfect album. We will be waiting for Chi until he wakes up.
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    it's everything you could ask for in a Deftones album, and more. their music perfectly blends alternative metal with shoegaze, creating a new experience and an altogether enjoyable experimentation. my only complaint would be the track "Pink Cellphone" and their choice of spoken word; i often end up skipping that track altogether in my regular playthroughs.
  15. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    A truly incredible masterpiece in it's own respect. This album takes you to another world and makes you wonder if you can ever go back. Xerces tears your soul out through your ears.
  16. RobT
    Dec 20, 2007
    9
    I find this to be about on par with "Deftones", and I probably enjoy it more than White Pony. It's a good release, with some real standout moments. One thing that irks me is Delgado's contributions being way more overt and kinda cheesy in parts... I prefer his usual fare of creating tension in the background subtly.
  17. mikem
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    Thier best since 'Around the Fur'
  18. jonnyl
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    this is hardcore new wave at its best.
  19. meghanl
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    excellent. the deftones have finally reached their potential and a new level of sophistication. abe cunningham's drumming, long the band's weakest link, has improved dramatically.
  20. JR
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    It's not White Pony, but it continues in that direction with a lot of Chino Moreno's Team Sleep vocal experience mixed in. Lyrics and are standard Deftones quality - which means they're brilliantly poetic.
  21. BrianV
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Saturday Night Wrist is a solid culmination of what Deftones have been doing the past two albums. The songs here surpass the self-titled effort but fall short of the artier White Pony.
  22. Declanm
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    one of there best albums superb apart from pink cellophone what rubbish would be a 10 apart from that song
  23. SteveH
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    As others have been saying, this is a great album, but White Pony is such a masterpiece that it would be very unprobably for this band to produce any future albums that even come close.
  24. StevenF
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    I was ready to be dissapointed with this album because the release date kept being pushed back. This is their best album to date. It was well worth the wait.
  25. AEOlson
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Should have been the follow up to White Pony, leaps and bounds better than self-titled
  26. JonG
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    I'd almost call this a return to form for the Deftones, but nobody can really tell just what their form is, so I'll kick this off by saying it's a big diversion from their self titled, and in a good way. Hole In The Earth is a great album opener that illustrates the problems the band has been going through in the last year, and from there it's all awesome until the I'd almost call this a return to form for the Deftones, but nobody can really tell just what their form is, so I'll kick this off by saying it's a big diversion from their self titled, and in a good way. Hole In The Earth is a great album opener that illustrates the problems the band has been going through in the last year, and from there it's all awesome until the Contra code song, which is skippable. Rats!Rats!Rats! is a hit in the face much like Hexagram was on the self titled, and Pink Cellphone is either the greatest thing ever or the worst filler track of all time. Buy it now and see them live, they might not be around much longer. Expand
  27. SpiralStairs
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    I think SNW is just the latest in a long string of classic 'tones realeases. Personally, I think WP will stand as thier masterpiece, though I'd argue for all the others (well, maybe not Adrenalin). PC is awful, hence the 1 point deduction but the rest of the record is insane...They've been listening to alot of MBV and The Cure lately... I don't understand why everyone I think SNW is just the latest in a long string of classic 'tones realeases. Personally, I think WP will stand as thier masterpiece, though I'd argue for all the others (well, maybe not Adrenalin). PC is awful, hence the 1 point deduction but the rest of the record is insane...They've been listening to alot of MBV and The Cure lately... I don't understand why everyone is still harping on this divide b/w the "metal" tones fans (Adrenalin Rules!/etc.) and the pop ones (WP is the single greatest record ever made/etc.) The Deftones haven't been a "metal" or "pop" band for a long time now...they transcend any and all tags and genres. Remember, in the 80's, the cure were dismissed as "goth", now they are seen as the inspiration for countless bands, across all genre lines. I think history will remember the deftones the same way. And stop riffing on the 2003 ST record...it rules. Expand
  28. DeepG
    Nov 12, 2006
    9
    the sacto boys are back! After coming across as very down-and-nearly-out on their self-titled album...they really come back on this record re-energized, and loving what they do...and the results: deftones' most cohesive and eclectic record to date...and only time will tell as to whether this one of their finest works!
  29. DG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Cohesive and beautifully produced, a big improvement over that last self-titled record. Maybe not as vital as 'White Pony', but nearly every song on here is perfect (though I have a hard time listening through the collab with Annie).
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. There's little of the fire and invention that characterised 2000's White Pony. [Nov 2006, p.140]
  2. Features the kind of envelope-pushing fans have come to expect.
  3. If you’ve even the slightest interest in ‘heavy’ music, you simply must make Saturday Night Wrist an integral part of your record collection.