Savages - Soulfly
Savages Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Max Cavalera, Marc Rizzo, Tony Campos, Zyon Cavalera
  • Summary: The ninth studio release for the metal band led by Max Cavalera is the first with his son Zyon on drums and includes guest appearances from Clutch's Neil Fallon, I Declare War's Jamie Hanks, and Napalm Death's Mitch Harris.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    Savages is a feisty record that returns to the familiar blend of hardcore, thrash and groove metal.
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    Savages is meant to be taken as both a warning and a rebel yell, and Cavalera and company connect on both levels, offering up an audio invoice for our past transgressions and a shot of adrenaline for the war ahead.
  3. 70
    This is a welcome blast from an uncompromising band. [Nov 2013, p.93]
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    Decidedly mixed results--but also, a sense of light at the end of the tunnel.
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    Overall, Max & Co. keep things tasty on Savages.
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    The indecisive saga of Soulfly continues: sometimes their albums are quite good, sometimes quite bad and sometimes, like this one, they're just in between, not leaving much of an impression at all.
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    Too many songs utilise the same plodding, mid-paced grooves and simple, one-line refrains. [5 Oct 2013, p.54]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    Soulfly return to form after their last two efforts left little to be desired. The approach this time is a more progressive, sometimes moreSoulfly return to form after their last two efforts left little to be desired. The approach this time is a more progressive, sometimes more psychedelic one, that when paired with Soulfly's trademark thrash/groove/tribal/world music sound sends forth an unrelenting behemoth of an album.

    With cameos by Napalm Death's Mitch Harris and Clutch's Neil Fallon to name but a few Savages boats a lot more diversity and momentum shifts than their more recent past efforts (and unsurprisingly most modern metal albums of late) have.

    Whether you are a fan of the genre or a fan of Max Cavalera's work, or you crave a little more diversity and originality from your thrash/groove metal bands, this album is definitely worth a listen.

    Stand-Out Tracks:

    Fallen; K.C.S; El Comegente; Soulfliktion; Bloodshed