Savane - Ali Farka Toure
Savane Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Savane' is the final album from the acclaimed guitarist from Mali, who died in March 2006 after a three-decade recording career which found him injecting American blues into traditional African music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. An elegant summation of his work. [11 Aug 2006, p.69]
  2. All we need to know is, he was a master and this is his masterwork.
  3. His unsentimental, voluptuously masculine, spirit-guided magic is captured at its best, for all time, in this magnificent farewell.
  4. One of his most accomplished recordings.
  5. It is beautiful, emotive music, literally and figuratively entrancing.
  6. This final record shows Touré still brimming with vitality. Savane is his wonderful farewell gift.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. tupper
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    amazing! everything rock and roll should be.
  2. HorriM
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    I own most of the CD
  3. BrettG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Supremely magical, a triumph of revelation in the sober gray world of today.
  4. madsl
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    a stunning, raw and exciting effort from the late desert blues king! perhaps his greatest album ever! As Ry Cooder has remarked, this is pure genius!
  5. AladdynSane
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I do have to agree with Todd W. that there's usually a love fest associated with recently-dead musicians. I reserve 10's for truly amazing, groundbreaking, listen to over and over again type of music. This album beats 99% of things out there today, but I would agree that this is no Pink Moon, Pet Sounds, etc. etc. Still, if this genre is your thing or you're open-minded enough to give this one a shot, I think you'll be very satisfied. Expand
  6. JabezH.
    Sep 8, 2007
    6
    This is an OK album, but not nearly as good as 2005's "In the Heart of the Moon", or even "Talking Timbuktu". It certainly wasn't the best record of 2006, but worth it if you into the blues or a Toure fan. Expand
  7. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    0
    This vote is not so much a rejection of this album, but the whole Dead Music Artist Releases Swan Song and Critics Swoon idea. See Johnny Cash and Warren Zevon, et al. I know they're probably just trying to be kind, which is fine if you happen to be at the wake, but call it as you hear it, not as your heart wants it in some Alice in Wonderland musical utopia. Perhaps I'm missing something, but are you telling me this album is in league with "Astral Weeks," "Forever Changes," "Highway 61," "Pet Sounds," "Closer," "O.K. Computer," "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea," "Pink Moon," or "Spiderland?" I'm sorry, my condolences, but no. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.