• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 3, 2009
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LyleS.
    Nov 11, 2009
    1
    This record exhibits none of the genius seen on their previous two outputs. Max's looking glass is getting more predictable, less musical, and empty hearted. I wish he'd go back to playing the guitar and stop worrying about his voice sounding good. His voice sucks, but that never stopped them from making great records before.
  2. Mike
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Insanely catchy music with witty and clever lyrics proving just why Say Anything is the best pop punk band today.
  3. rudih
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    This is quite a brilliant offering from Say Anything. I like the variation in the tracks very much and the great lyrics also. One of the top cd's this year, in my opinion.
  4. JeffS
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Excellent followup to In Defense. I am a real boy still trumps it, but it is an excellent listen again and again.
  5. AaronS
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    You'll be singing the catchy hooks from this album for weeks on end.. It's pop and rocks hooks that make you scream the songs lyrics in the car on your way to work. It's similar to the hooks off of early Weezer records. You will dig this album.
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    I like a lot of songs on this album, but there are a few sporadically placed tracks that I don't necessarily enjoy. I wish the damn Metacritic site had formatting, so I could actually list the songs that I like and what I like about em, but I'll just go do that on Amazon. Either way, an okay album. I like the previous two more, however.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    A few great tracks, a few duds, a few in between. A very "meh" album in its purest form. For what it's worth, even the duds on this album are catchy as hell, though I'm not sure that's what the band was going for.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. This is an impulsive album, an odd piece of work that manages to be puzzling without alienating the listener.
  2. That's how much of of this album feels--confusing....Our advice? Stick to the disc's first half; it's where you'll find the best songs. [Nov 2009, p.114]
  3. On his third album, Bemis has crafted one of his strongest musical statements yet, outright mocking genre conventions one second before deliberately succumbing to them the next, showcasing large amounts of self-referential humor but never once stopping to point out just how clever he is and feeding into what could potentially be a Kanye-sized ego.