Scurrilous

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. If I had to describe Scurrilous in one word, it would be indulgent, and that's not a bad thing. When you have this much talent, I want to hear it.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    All in all, Scurrilous succeeds at all levels. It takes the tediousness out of technicality, and injects more hooks than a tackle box into the Protest the Hero formula.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Stripped down, punishing, and more aloof than the two previous albums, the lack of any unifying theme makes Scurrilous a less inclusive outing, though the quintet's penchant for crafting impossibly precise breakdowns, staccato leads, and unpredictable melodies is far from diminished.
  4. Alternative Press
    Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Classic/stadium rock and brainy trash collide in "Tandem" and "Moonlight;" "Termites" rocks like Minus The Bear, Overkill and Yes; and it's obvious someone's discovered Mahavishnu Orchestra abnd Primus. [Apr 2011, p.118]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    How is this album considered good? How is this band considered good? This album is a bad progressive metal band disguised as a bad Warped TourHow is this album considered good? How is this band considered good? This album is a bad progressive metal band disguised as a bad Warped Tour metalcore band disguised as a shockingly bad pop band. And don't give me the oh its progressive and you need to learn to like less mainstream music. No! First of all I love progressive music, this isn't progressing if every song sounds the same and copies the same riff for 11 songs. Also, progressive metal goes on for longer than 2-5 minutes and never sounds the same. Second, just because a band isn't mainstream doesn't make them good. Look at Design The Skyline for an example of non-mainstream music, its torture. And my main standpoint with this album is that, I don't hate it. To quote the Nostalgia Chick, "...I Can not hate it because it can not fail because it can not try". Its literally the Freddy Got Fingered of metal albums. My final words are this, stop buying music by people who are pretentious and have no idea what they are doing. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Scurrilous, by Protest the Hero's standards, is just very good. For music standards, it's a great metal offering. They didn't necessarilyScurrilous, by Protest the Hero's standards, is just very good. For music standards, it's a great metal offering. They didn't necessarily try to "outdo" what they did on Fortress, but they took a few different directions. The first thing, most listeners would notice, is that the vocalist no longer "screams" during songs, which doesn't help or hurt the album. It does however make Scurrilous the best place to start for any new listeners of the band. Most of the songs are now written by the vocalist as well, which has upped the lyrical quality a tad. At times they can still be over the top, but Protest the Hero has never been a serious band by any means. It's quite telling, that they still haven't slowed down after three albums. Fortress and Kezia are stronger albums, but Scurrilous is still one hell of a ride. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    I loved Fortress and initially didn't think Scurrilous was as good. After many more listens, it's my favorite metal album. The pace andI loved Fortress and initially didn't think Scurrilous was as good. After many more listens, it's my favorite metal album. The pace and complexity keep it from getting old.. Full Review »