Seal IV

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasA
    Oct 30, 2003
    9
    Redeem the world with just one sound. You know music has the power to take you to the 4th dimension. Well this one does it. Forget about the lyrics, its music and the intention what makes this holy music.
  2. PacoS
    Sep 23, 2003
    8
    I gotta tell ya', I had been awaiting the arrival of this album for the better part of five years now - ever since being completely and utterly floored by the underrated (and, in most cases, flat out unnoticed) genius of his last album, Human Being. Let me say, Seal IV has been well worth the wait. Though not as strong from front to back as his last, this record boasts more than its I gotta tell ya', I had been awaiting the arrival of this album for the better part of five years now - ever since being completely and utterly floored by the underrated (and, in most cases, flat out unnoticed) genius of his last album, Human Being. Let me say, Seal IV has been well worth the wait. Though not as strong from front to back as his last, this record boasts more than its share of masterpiece compositions. If you're a fan of pop music, I urge you not to take for granted the genius of this artist or of this record. Get it, listen to it often, live it and love it. Expand
  3. StephenN
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Excellent Album! Seal gets back to his roots with a series of songs that blend many musical styles. Only wish there were more tracks!
  4. MarlonM
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best CD's I have heard in a long time. It's been playing non-stop in my car CD player. It's an album that you must listen to on a good system to appreciate it. My Audi A4 has an excellent Bose system which is why the impact is so great. "Heavenly" could easily be the theme for the next James Bond movie! In fact Seal should seriously be considered to do This is one of the best CD's I have heard in a long time. It's been playing non-stop in my car CD player. It's an album that you must listen to on a good system to appreciate it. My Audi A4 has an excellent Bose system which is why the impact is so great. "Heavenly" could easily be the theme for the next James Bond movie! In fact Seal should seriously be considered to do the theme for the next Bond movie. This album soars to the heavens with a great mix of emotion and energy. Live long and prosper Seal! Expand
  5. NseE
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Unimaginative title aside, this is a great return to form for Seal. I wasn?t too taken by his last effort (with the exception of ?Human beings? and ?State of grace?) but this is sooo good. Nobody else sings like Seal. With slight touches of different styles from rock to reggae. Standouts include the tender ?Touch?, ?Tinsel town?, ?Loneliest star?, ?Where there?s gold?, and his deep lyrics Unimaginative title aside, this is a great return to form for Seal. I wasn?t too taken by his last effort (with the exception of ?Human beings? and ?State of grace?) but this is sooo good. Nobody else sings like Seal. With slight touches of different styles from rock to reggae. Standouts include the tender ?Touch?, ?Tinsel town?, ?Loneliest star?, ?Where there?s gold?, and his deep lyrics and soothingly beautiful slightly raspy vocals make the world seem a better place. Just the balm we need. Expand
  6. ChrisW
    Sep 20, 2003
    7
    While I enjoy every one of Seal's albums, I think his lack of growth is a shame. Yes, each album is great, but they are also quite similar. I'm not saying don't buy it. In fact, I think it's a great album. It's just that when you buy a Seal album, at this point, you know exactly what you're gonna get, for better or worse.
  7. HazelM
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    Love it!!! As always Seal has out done himself on this one. There are very few artist that I wait with anticipation for the release date and rush out to buy as soon as it hits the shelf...it was worth the wait!
  8. RonyN
    Sep 24, 2003
    8
    While this isn't Seal's best work (how could he ever beat that first album?), it's certainly nowhere near as bad as some critics would have you believe. There are some pretty lame tracks in there, something nearly every album has, and there are some weak lyrics. On the whole the album gels perfectly, throwing my emotions around in sympathy with each track - a rarity While this isn't Seal's best work (how could he ever beat that first album?), it's certainly nowhere near as bad as some critics would have you believe. There are some pretty lame tracks in there, something nearly every album has, and there are some weak lyrics. On the whole the album gels perfectly, throwing my emotions around in sympathy with each track - a rarity experience not felt since Seal's second album. Expand
  9. KatrinaM
    Nov 10, 2005
    9
    I. Love. This. CD. Admit it, Seal in love sounds great. "Loneliest Star" is probably one of the best love letters ever written. If you are in love, miss being in love, want to be in love, then this CD wraps up all those feelings.
  10. AngieJ
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    This is one of the most inspired albums I have heard in a long time. Seal's beautiful voice and positive and poetic lyrics, combined with Trevor Horn's production, make for yet another masterpiece. I honestly purchased this cd not expecting it to come to par with his previous album (Seal), but I was pleasantly surprised. I haven't been able to stop listening to it in the This is one of the most inspired albums I have heard in a long time. Seal's beautiful voice and positive and poetic lyrics, combined with Trevor Horn's production, make for yet another masterpiece. I honestly purchased this cd not expecting it to come to par with his previous album (Seal), but I was pleasantly surprised. I haven't been able to stop listening to it in the car since I bought it last Friday. Seal is pure genious, and has truly set a bar which many artists (especially contemporary adult and R&B) will have to work awfully hard to top. Expand
  11. TosinA
    Sep 26, 2003
    7
    Though analogous to prior albums, it draws attention to new light and scope of ideologies. Excellent in its overall production
  12. Sroop
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    He is beyond music of this age.
  13. FSharpe
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Greatest CD from Seal i've heard
  14. EricB
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    As any true fan of Seal's music knows, the man does not make a bad or even mediocre album, and Seal IV is living proof of that. In the end, it boils down to what messages conveyed in music affect you personally, because instrumentally and vocally every track here is enjoyable and inspiring. Unfortunately, the world has been growing a general fear and loathing of expression of As any true fan of Seal's music knows, the man does not make a bad or even mediocre album, and Seal IV is living proof of that. In the end, it boils down to what messages conveyed in music affect you personally, because instrumentally and vocally every track here is enjoyable and inspiring. Unfortunately, the world has been growing a general fear and loathing of expression of sentiment over the past decade or so, so the love and healing themes of most of the lyrics throughout IV probably won't appeal to a large number of people out there which is tragic. However, if you're unafraid and not put off by a positive emotional flow, chances are you'll find most of the tracks rather inspiring, especially "Don't Make Me Wait", which is a personal favorite simply because of it's classic R&B feel, which is missing in today's R&B and pop music. Overall, while not his best album of the quad, it's definitely an extremely good listen and a welcome addition to my CD collection. By the way, if you are looking for his best album, I'd suggest picking up the underrated commercial flop, Human Beings. It was very sad that such an extraordinary album failed to gain public attention. Expand
  15. LindaW
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    Ya can't beat this man and his sound!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Seal IV... finds him retreading old ground and misguidedly attempting to claim new territory.
  2. Despite being heavy with unexceptional tunes, Seal IV has enough going for it to warrant the next four years of anticipation.
  3. Horn's work is so effective that it takes several listens before you notice how often Seal's songwriting depends on it.