Seasons of Your Day

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. 50
    It’s about as confounding as it is disappointing.
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Despite Mazzy Star sounding as good as they always have, Seasons Of Your Day only goes to show that the rest of the world has finally caught up with them.
  3. Mojo
    Sep 19, 2013
    60
    For the most part this pensive, intriguingly restrained album marks a welcome, if overdue, return. [Oct 2013, p.91]
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    60
    As far as comeback albums go, Seasons Of Your Day doesn’t disappoint, but few songs truly stand out.
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The unvarying mood can get a little tiring.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    These may not be new songs, but their glazed melancholy does not disappoint.
  7. Under The Radar
    Sep 18, 2013
    45
    A band reuniting implies unfinished creative business. In the case of Seasons Of The Day, one strains excessively to imagine what that business might be. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.92]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    lush. lovely. sad. contemplative. beautiful. dreamy. country. reminiscent. reflective. another magnum opus by a very talented and interestinglush. lovely. sad. contemplative. beautiful. dreamy. country. reminiscent. reflective. another magnum opus by a very talented and interesting band. welcome back, mazzy star. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Sounds like they picked up right where they left off in the 90's and overall it's a very impressive album from start to finish. "Spoon" andSounds like they picked up right where they left off in the 90's and overall it's a very impressive album from start to finish. "Spoon" and "Flying Low" push their sound out the slightest bit further without changing what they are. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    This album feels like a love letter to the fans who've missed Mazzy Star. Their sound is broader but it's very true to what I found beautifulThis album feels like a love letter to the fans who've missed Mazzy Star. Their sound is broader but it's very true to what I found beautiful about previous albums. The Kingdom is real high point to the album and it drew me back to when I first discovered this band. It's the first song and it sets the tone for a bittersweet album. The artwork too, is great and very true to their image as a band. I'm not poetic like some reviewers and it's difficult to articulate what the image and music evokes but it's some type of a relaxed-almost melancholy-but-somehow-inspirational feeling. I haven't heard much music that can do this and it takes skill and passion to do what they do.

    For people who've never listened to Mazzy Star, I believe this album is definitely something that could speak to people of different ages and backgrounds. It's also consistent with who they are and has a seductive, melodic, ephemeral sound that is reminiscent of their other songs. It's great to hear that they're still making music and it was worth the wait. Check them out.
    Full Review »