See My Friends

  • Record Label: Decca
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2011
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    A tribute album starring the man of honor himself, who also curated the whole affair, See My Friends is a bit of a curious creature.
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    See My Friends sees him plunder his back catalogue, with generally pleasurable results.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    These all-star gatherings are more fun for the artists than the listener.
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    It feels like a personal journey through the past on his part, and a genuine tribute from those who've contributed.
  5. 50
    See My Friends proves, if nothing else, that there's simply no force on Earth malevolent enough to destroy a good Ray Davies ditty.
  6. Q Magazine
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    Davies' voice, weathered but still fine as a Waterloo sunset, is complemented by few here. [Dec 2010, p.113]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 6, 2011
    7
    Ok this CD isn't great. Other than the guest appreance by Mumsford and Son which is awesome. However this album did cause me to relook at someOk this CD isn't great. Other than the guest appreance by Mumsford and Son which is awesome. However this album did cause me to relook at some of the older Kink's songs and realize just how great a song like "Dead End Street" is. Like most of the artist w/guests albums these days some tracks are pretty good, some are awful. All in all, the best use for this album is to show you that there are some early Kink's songs to look up and give a second chance to. I was hoping that this was going to be a third solo album from Ray. His first two "Other Peoples Lives" and "Working mans cafe" are very good works! Keep the new music coming Ray, the Kink's stuff will hold itself up. Full Review »