Sempiternal - Bring Me the Horizon
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  2. May 13, 2013
    60
    They've long threatened to make an album that would propel them to metal's major league. This might be it. [Jun 2013, p.95]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]
  4. Ready to break noisily out of the underground, the quintet have made one of the year’s most accomplished metal albums.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    With all the ingredients for success laid bare, Sempiternal comes as the lightbulb moment--the clicking into place of every cog and spring, Bring Me The Horizon more than ready to accept the gauntlet thrown to them.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Bring Me the Horizon have been working slowly but surely to refine their sound for years now, and with Sempiternal, it feels like their patience and hard work are finally beginning to pay dividends.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    For all its aggression and pop-culture pilfering, Sempiternal frequently feels like the work of a band satisfied to slide down the surface of heavy music rather than engage with its true heart.
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    While Sempiternal isn’t the equal of another genre-bending record Date has worked on, Deftones’ White Pony, it represents significant and successful progression for its makers.
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Sempiternal contains the best music this young group of musicians have ever created, and Bring Me the Horizon are now relevant in the grand scheme of things, whether you choose to admit it or not.
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Bring Me The Horizon have crafted an album that, while not as post-rock-influenced as hinted at, is definitely post-Bring Me The Horizon, at least as we once knew them.
  11. Sempiternal is one of the most breathtaking and engaging albums of the year.
  12. 90
    Sykes’ increased vocal range also proves a formidable addition to their arsenal, coalescing with the expanded sonic palette for a more intimate, cohesive and engaging collection.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This album is perhaps the best album of the year. No faults included.. just pure perfection. I think the lyrics are written purely from the heart with so much emotion! The guitars sound amazing with mesmerizing riffs. Then there is the electronics added by new member Jordan Fish, well i thought the album couldn't be better but with the fantastic sounds from Jordan Fish the album gets a perfect 10 from me. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    The "sacrilegious" lyricism and often tongue-in-cheek Atheistic tone of the album may further turn off a certain demographic of listeners—however, deciding by their previous albums that carried the same alleged messages, I'm guessing that wasn't much of a threatening loss. Oliver Syke's clean vocals are scratchy on the surface, but authentic and vocally vulnerable nonetheless. Bring Me the Horizon continue unraveling their path of becoming something more than a Warped Tour staple. But Sempiternal's largest faults is how it feels more like an anticipated unveiling—or rather, a striptease of something much, much greater in quality—rather than a finished product. Or in their case, a work of modern post-hardcore art. Full Review »