Shadows Collide With People Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist returns with a follow-up to his 2001 solo release, 'To Record Only Water For Ten Days.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. I feel patronising calling it a rebirth, return to form or a self-rehabilitation from the brink. Let’s just call it evolution.
  2. Eighteen songs, is perhaps two too many, but a hint of over enthusiasm cannot mar what feels like a tour de force.
  3. Intermittently engaging if ultimately slight. [27 Feb 2004, p.96]
  4. Full of a lush, bubbling beauty that proves Frusciante's personal rehabilitation has taken his music further than ever.
  5. Frusciante has finally harnessed the energy and unqualified honesty that pulsed underneath the wandering Syd Barrett-ness of his weird work, and applied them to a reedy, vaguely psychedelic, and consistently melodic collection of songs.
  6. Mainstream, bleeding-heart balladry, tempered by slightly outre arrangements.
  7. His rudimentary songwriting skills and questionable quality control render this an exasperating experience. [Apr 2004, p.110]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. patrick
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    is the best cd of frusciante
  2. neilm
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    fukin great
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic for those really bad days. Keeps rising endorphin levels every single time I feel really down. It's the kind of album IAbsolutely fantastic for those really bad days. Keeps rising endorphin levels every single time I feel really down. It's the kind of album I can listen to again and again without getting nervous. Expand
  4. StaceyH
    May 8, 2004
    10
    Listen to this CD and let it carry you away on a brutally honest, emotional, fascinating ride. Frusciante is a genius.
  5. LyndseyS
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Shadows is an absolutely incredible album, full of beauty, intelligence and soul. Reading what 'Q Magazine' had to say about it is Shadows is an absolutely incredible album, full of beauty, intelligence and soul. Reading what 'Q Magazine' had to say about it is laughable -"rudimentary songwriting skills"- considering the abysmal quality that Q manages to retain nowadays... My personal favourite on 'Shadows' is Regret, as it perfectly sums up John's past experiences. His voice is hauntingly and terrifyingly beautiful. If you're looking for something more upbeat on the album however, look no further than Wednesday's Song. One of my favourite albums, without a doubt! Expand
  6. ChrisG
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    the best album i've ever heard.
  7. estere
    Feb 24, 2004
    9
    superb. frusciante should be the lead songwriter of the peppers, although there is a chance that anthony's singing will just ruin these superb. frusciante should be the lead songwriter of the peppers, although there is a chance that anthony's singing will just ruin these lovely tunes. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews