Shangri-la

Shangri-la Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Dire Straits leader returns with a disc full of brand-new originals, his first release since recovering from a serious motorcycle accident.

Top Track

Slumville Sunrise
[MusixMatch] The wind is beating on my window. I haven't slept all night. That drum just keeps on banging. They must be buzzing in the mind, bees in... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Q Magazine
    70
    A wry and considered thing. [Oct 2004, p.128]
  2. Knopfler fans and lovers of Chet Atkins, Gordon Lightfoot, and J.J. Cale, as well as late-night poker players and early risers with an acerbic streak, will find much to love here.
  3. Rolling Stone
    70
    Mixes sunniness and darkness in artful ways. [28 Oct 2004, p.102]
  4. Mojo
    60
    There is genius in here... [but] Shangri-La does sometimes drift into lazily delivered Knopfler history lessons. [Nov 2004, p.96]
  5. Blender
    40
    Like [J.J.] Cale, Knopfler prefers murmuring to emoting while threading fancy little guitar figures through songs that can't decide whether to shuffle into the haze or nod off. [Nov 2004, p.136]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. elbertj
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Mark Knopfler once again has come through with another fine works. While I agree the guitar solos we all love so much were minimal compared Mark Knopfler once again has come through with another fine works. While I agree the guitar solos we all love so much were minimal compared to his other projects, it is truly an awesome album. Mark is my favorite musician in the world. Expand
  2. MatthieuR
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    If you like Knopfler, you'll love this album. It is more accessible than the folksy "Ragpicker's Dream", and shows yet again how If you like Knopfler, you'll love this album. It is more accessible than the folksy "Ragpicker's Dream", and shows yet again how Knopfler is one of this generation's best, most original songwriters Expand
  3. gug
    Nov 17, 2015
    10
    Undoubtedly Knopfler's best solo album and easily tops anything recorded with Dire Straits. Almost every single song is of stunning quality.Undoubtedly Knopfler's best solo album and easily tops anything recorded with Dire Straits. Almost every single song is of stunning quality. Why themusic trade rags give this album such poor reviews at times is absurd. Expand
  4. MadhusudanT
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This CD is great.....music is breathtaking......go and get it now
  5. RichardW
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Agree with other comments, I've always found Knopflers stuff takes a few listens before you get into them, then it does just get better Agree with other comments, I've always found Knopflers stuff takes a few listens before you get into them, then it does just get better and better - breathtaking, the guy is a genious, people that disagree are actually tonedeaf. Expand
  6. AvivG
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    the rythem, the voice, the ambience, The trowlerman song - make u want to have a long trip.
  7. MORGANM
    Dec 31, 2004
    4
    Sorry but Mark's phoning it in on this one - a couple of tracks try to raise their heads but basically it's bad Brit C&W and Sorry but Mark's phoning it in on this one - a couple of tracks try to raise their heads but basically it's bad Brit C&W and depressing too, saved only by the predictably high production values. Only buy if you aim to leave your kids the full MK set! Expand

See all 18 User Reviews