Silent Alarm

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 227

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ryan
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album, well written down too the last chord. Some of the songs take a few listens to get there, but Compliments, Pioneers, and Positive Tension take me there.
  2. DevinB
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This album sounds like the beginning of a revolution. Sure, dancepunk has been done before, but Bloc Party bring a sense of focus and tightness to the genre that I've not yet heard. Expect huge things from these guys.
  3. JordanB
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Definitely the best album I've heard so far this year, it satisfies from front to back, and does what has proven so difficult for so many indie bands recently - it sounds fresh. For those of you who wish you could love Franz Ferdinand more than you actually do, and are looking for something deeper in sound and emotion, this is your album.
  4. PhilJ
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    just a great rock album..top 5 of the year!!
  5. GabrielC
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Saw them live in Boston...Amazing Amazing Amazing!!!!!!
  6. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    The most passionate, inventive and intense indie album out there with many different colliding ideas and soaring ambitions, all packed into 13 unforgettable songs. Whenever I listen to this album, I find something new and always realise that its a new discovery. Greatly layered guitar work, passionate vocals, impressive drumming and melodic bass lines and I have to say it is always rareThe most passionate, inventive and intense indie album out there with many different colliding ideas and soaring ambitions, all packed into 13 unforgettable songs. Whenever I listen to this album, I find something new and always realise that its a new discovery. Greatly layered guitar work, passionate vocals, impressive drumming and melodic bass lines and I have to say it is always rare for any artist to have a good chemistry. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The run time of the album or the run time of each of the individual songs are of no concern. Whether or not you'll enjoy it is of real concern to you. Which you will, trust me. Donâ
  8. AdamW
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    Okay album - sounds terrible though - really bad mastering - flat and dull. Just a horrible sound. Passable for the ipod, but think I'm going to take the CD back and get a refund as it just sounds totally sh*t through the stereo.
  9. MarcAndreB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Wow! i know i told you earlier this year that arcade fire was the best cd of the year...but the walls in my living room are no more since i putted this bloc party in my system! So melodic, intense... some kind of pop-rock-psychedelic-dance your ass off!!! I must admit it, this is my new baby!
  10. JTown
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    what is not to love about this album?
  11. BenS
    Sep 24, 2005
    8
    After many slightly half arsed drabby indie bands the blocs are a breath of fresh air. Despite frontman kele's repeated attempts to estrange his fans this album is pure quality. 'helicopter' and 'banquet' come off catchy, raw rocky riffs into pop perfection while 'so here we are' and 'blue light' are compelling and beautiful. @paoitive After many slightly half arsed drabby indie bands the blocs are a breath of fresh air. Despite frontman kele's repeated attempts to estrange his fans this album is pure quality. 'helicopter' and 'banquet' come off catchy, raw rocky riffs into pop perfection while 'so here we are' and 'blue light' are compelling and beautiful. @paoitive tension' the only let down Collapse
  12. gareths
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    if you buy silent alarm the be prepared to throw all your other CDs away. because nothing comes close to this.
  13. TravisS
    May 17, 2005
    10
    This album is the best I've heard of 2005 thus far. I'd like to know the music the people like that gave this album lower than a 7. I can understand people hating all the pop indie-rock british albums coming into the U.S., but this band can't be put aside. Their lyrics, melodies and beats are all really good. Anybody who likes a good upbeat indie-rock album should pick this up.
  14. matthews
    May 3, 2005
    9
    eric m... this cd is good, and just because they are "popular" (where I'm from, Regina, it's not exactly mainstream) does not mean they are not talented. This album shows promise and I hope to see a follow up album by Bloc Part.
  15. Sandy
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    A wonderful debut album of considerable power. It remains interesting throughout and even the lesser tracks are better than most of their contemporaries best efforts. Not only does this album sound fresh and exciting, it contains intricate and generally superb drumming throughout. Bloc Party are a wonderful breath of fresh air. Others have listed most of the stand-out tracks but I think A wonderful debut album of considerable power. It remains interesting throughout and even the lesser tracks are better than most of their contemporaries best efforts. Not only does this album sound fresh and exciting, it contains intricate and generally superb drumming throughout. Bloc Party are a wonderful breath of fresh air. Others have listed most of the stand-out tracks but I think She's Hearing Voices deserves a special mention. Silent Alarm is an incredible debut. Expand
  16. RasmusL
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    There's absolutely no doubt about it. The songs are so poignant and intelligent. Believe me, a few tears have ran down my cheeks at some point when I have listened to songs like Blue Light, Plans and This Modern Love. And then there is Banquet
  17. TM
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Can be summed up in the all holy phrase, "no filler".
  18. JeffM
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party is by far one of the best new and upcoming bands, and this album alone is one of the best albums in the past 20 years. Truly amazing.
  19. MarkusR
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    An excellent introduction to a band with new ideas, a new sound, and nothing to prove to anyone, but themselves with their music. An auditory adventure with insightful lyrics, backed by one of the best drummers in the independent genre. Check out some of the more overlooked tracks like "Plans" and "Luno," and get moved by "Pioneers" and "Helicopter."
  20. MusicMaven
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    I like the Killers and Franz Ferdinand. They've got miles of style, and some solid songs to boot. Bloc Party doesn't have the style, but man have they got the substance - in spades. They've blended a lot of edgy post-punk influences (Gang of Four, Wire, Sonic Youth) into a diverse set of songs while adding enough melody to compete on the pop playing field. Track-for-track, I like the Killers and Franz Ferdinand. They've got miles of style, and some solid songs to boot. Bloc Party doesn't have the style, but man have they got the substance - in spades. They've blended a lot of edgy post-punk influences (Gang of Four, Wire, Sonic Youth) into a diverse set of songs while adding enough melody to compete on the pop playing field. Track-for-track, Silent Alarm is better than both Hot Fuss and Franz Ferdinand. Best album of 2005, so far. Expand
  21. jao
    Apr 10, 2005
    9
    wow, they really are that good.
  22. Fuji
    May 18, 2005
    9
    I live in Australia and had not heard of Bloc Party until a friend called me up and told me it was "doing his head in" how good this album was. I then saw it in a sydney cd store and did something ive never done before and thats buy an album based on a friend having never heard any of it. I put it in the car and by the time i got 500 meters down the street i was a fan. By the time id I live in Australia and had not heard of Bloc Party until a friend called me up and told me it was "doing his head in" how good this album was. I then saw it in a sydney cd store and did something ive never done before and thats buy an album based on a friend having never heard any of it. I put it in the car and by the time i got 500 meters down the street i was a fan. By the time id driven the 4 hour drive home i was a total addict. This is by far the best CD of 2005. Nothing will beat it either.Amazing stuff. Cant wait to see em live in Sydney. God Bless Bloc Party Expand
  23. Andrew
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Stunning album...........songs that take over your mind and body....
  24. BrandonB
    May 23, 2005
    10
    They take their winning sound and formula and mold it into 14 songs each with their own unique and interesting personalities. The strongest set yet by a new wave dance rock outfit.
  25. ericar
    May 7, 2005
    8
    This album is not your regular indie album. You hear everythign from reggae to punk undertones. Its a great album to get you in the mood to go out and party.
  26. Stephen
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    Stellar album, among the best I've heard in the past 2 or 3 years. It isn't bogged down by the numbing simplicity of some of the bands they are for some strange reason clumped with; the songs are varied, and the arrangements can be very intricate. The rhythm section is incredibly tight, and Kele's vocals aren't the most tuneful, but have a subtly fierce, soulful Stellar album, among the best I've heard in the past 2 or 3 years. It isn't bogged down by the numbing simplicity of some of the bands they are for some strange reason clumped with; the songs are varied, and the arrangements can be very intricate. The rhythm section is incredibly tight, and Kele's vocals aren't the most tuneful, but have a subtly fierce, soulful quality that fits in very nicely. And the songs? Awesome. I dare you to listen to 'Banquet' and 'Price Of Gas' sitting still. Other highlights include 'Like Eating Glass', 'Helicopter' and 'So Here We Are', although most of the remaining tracks are strong as well. I don't see much appeal in 'Plans' though... not especially exciting and not especially melodic, definitely a weak spot. For the first 12 tracks though, it's among the most thrilling albums out there. Expand
  27. CraigB
    Jun 25, 2005
    9
    What a debut. Incredible, fast-paced drumming slightly Taylor Hawkins-esque (Foo Fighters). Very talented drumming solos at stages inncluding those on the opening track, "Like eating glass". The 2 guitars used by lead singer Kele Okereke and Russell Lissack go together perfectly, creating a perfect blend of laid back guitar rock and fast paced punk rock. The vocals from Kele stream with a What a debut. Incredible, fast-paced drumming slightly Taylor Hawkins-esque (Foo Fighters). Very talented drumming solos at stages inncluding those on the opening track, "Like eating glass". The 2 guitars used by lead singer Kele Okereke and Russell Lissack go together perfectly, creating a perfect blend of laid back guitar rock and fast paced punk rock. The vocals from Kele stream with a Cockney accent. Lyrics are strange at some points, but fit in well with fast paced, feel good songs such as 'Helicopter'. The drums come out again in 'positive tension', and the opening 3 songs of the album give us the impression that the band can only have a fast an active side. Untrue as 'So here we are' shows us. An opening drum roll kind of beat builds up to Kele's stunning voice which is not evident in other parts of the album. Songs like 'So here we are' and 'This modern love' give us impressions of heart break and another side to Bloc Party. All in all, an incredibly impressive debut, and a jam packed 2005 tour will surely propel them to new heights come the end of 2005. And im going to see them twice this year! Cant wait, BP all the way. Expand
  28. JeremyJ
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    It's feel good music. There isn't a serious and political overtone like much of rock music today. Just feel good music when we all desperately need to.
  29. tome
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    A band who achieve vertical liftoff and maintain horizontal balance beam rhythm at the same time. Impish implosions offset by chordal harmonic explorations allows for multiple live interpretations. It boxes and unravels like string theory itself. Great musical physics and enlightening metaphysics make the beat danceable and reverential in alternating patterns. A booster shot for the whole body.
  30. AidanD
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    First time of listening,after the most draining day, sent the most invigorating naturally high fused pulse trough my body,just couldnt help but get up and dance!
  31. MattW
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    If this album is' re-inventing the wheel' as they say in one of their songs, it is a much better wheel than the old one, sporting 22" chrome alloys, spinners and some fat formula 1 tyres. Bloc Party have produced a bouncy, uplifting, powerful album with killer riffs and some surprising kasabian-esque melancholy moments. Cool as hell.
  32. hhovesharted
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    bloc party the best band in britain
  33. Duncan
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    This is a brilliant album with songs for all moods. It's a shame people feel then need to compare Bloc Party to Franz Ferdinand just because they're the current popular band.
  34. diegoP.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    impossible to be still while listening to it!
  35. jordanP
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Personally I love Bloc Party and there songs are awesome. But I wouldn't recommend Bloc Party to everyone but I would recommend the song Like Eating Glass. My personal fav is Pioneers for its climatic ending.
  36. AndreI.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite albums.
  37. SteveL
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    The best CD I've picked up in a long, long time.
  38. EmiliyaP
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Definitely the best moment of 2005
  39. David
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Album of the year.
  40. toby
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    just a really good album. Its so raw and desperate you can just leave it on repeat for hours on end
  41. JeromeH
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    This is the best album I've listened to all year (of already 120 2005 releases). I can admit I'm a music elitist, and if I hadn't heard this album before all the hoopla surrounding Bloc Party had occurred, I wouldn't have gone in listening to them with an open mind. That said, I'm not a fan of Franz Ferdinand and see narry a similarity beyond geography (and This is the best album I've listened to all year (of already 120 2005 releases). I can admit I'm a music elitist, and if I hadn't heard this album before all the hoopla surrounding Bloc Party had occurred, I wouldn't have gone in listening to them with an open mind. That said, I'm not a fan of Franz Ferdinand and see narry a similarity beyond geography (and that's only if you're so myopic to view the UK as one entity). The reviewers aren't giving this band enough credit in terms of songwriting ability. It's deeper than simply "hook and catchy". Anyway, I like 9 of the 13 songs, which is a ratio only comparable to Modest Mouse, Les Savy Fav, and Arcade Fire in terms of releases from last year. This album is watin high and pretty until something can knock it off the 2005 perch I've made for it. Expand
  42. MarkyP
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    This album is just great. Energy, feeling and challenge all in one CD. Get it !
  43. Nickl
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    I've been listening to this album for about two months now in the frigid cold of minnesota and very seldom does it leave my cd player. It's a great album, worth your time and money, and it will be on a lot of year end top ten lists.
  44. giulia
    Mar 22, 2005
    7
    i m not such a fan of their music, but they seem to be very nice. and the music isnt that bad. i will give it an other try i guess.
  45. romanevil
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    ...Pure emotions...intelligence...variety of sounds...sometimes the hype is not fake !!!
  46. LawrenceP
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Simple and deep music at the same time. One of the best debuts in recent times.
  47. ErikZ
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Within an hour of first "evaluating" Silent Alarm I had bought two tickets to see them this April and placed an order with Amazon UK. No, they're not "sexy." But what
  48. MikeW
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Franz Ferdinand they are not. No, they're much better than that. This is an outstanding debut from a band that is sure to be around for a long time. If you haven't got this album yet, get out of that cave and buy it now.
  49. AnthonyP
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    Great album - best ive heard in years. this is my kind of rock music. can't wait to see them at reading!
  50. simonl
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    i cant fault this album at all. it has everything a indie listener is looking for. great fast tracks like 'helicopter' and 'banquet', and then the more melodic songs like 'so here we are' and 'this modern love'. to top it off there are the other songs in the middle like 'pioneers' and 'like eating grass'. it is fair to say that i cant fault this album at all. it has everything a indie listener is looking for. great fast tracks like 'helicopter' and 'banquet', and then the more melodic songs like 'so here we are' and 'this modern love'. to top it off there are the other songs in the middle like 'pioneers' and 'like eating grass'. it is fair to say that 'silent alarm' is a genuine masterpiece by pure indie/punk lovers and anyone who buys this album and faults it is as kele would say "a newboy". i went to see them live at the london astoria and it was the best gig i have ever been to, i might go as for to say as they are better live. i wouldnt be wrong in saying that they are the best band in the world right now. GREAT LYRICS, GREAT MUSIC, GREAT BAND. live long and prosper bloc party!!! Expand
  51. JonN
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    I'm sorry. Someone said that Bloc Party are this year's Franz Ferdinand. WHAT???? Strange comparison! This is easily the best debut album I've heard in about 5 years, so brilliant that it hasn't been out of my CD player for 3 weeks.
  52. markw
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    Silent Alarm is a diverse and extremely competent album. Many of the tracks shine individually and with an impressive consistenty of quality - there's barely a bad track on it. Bands that offer this consistency are a rare thing. I'm sick of seeing them compared to Franz Ferdinand. Bloc Party are way better and have none of the pretentiousness of FF. Bloc Party's lead singer Silent Alarm is a diverse and extremely competent album. Many of the tracks shine individually and with an impressive consistenty of quality - there's barely a bad track on it. Bands that offer this consistency are a rare thing. I'm sick of seeing them compared to Franz Ferdinand. Bloc Party are way better and have none of the pretentiousness of FF. Bloc Party's lead singer has a way better voice too! Expand
  53. MikeS
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    It make take a solid listen or two, but if you give it a chance this album will grow on you. In my opinion Best first offering since Arcade Fire and for me it's the easiest to listen all the way through since Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots.
  54. gusmac
    May 18, 2005
    7
    ok album nothing spectacular
  55. MikeG
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This is the best record of the year so far. One of the best live acts as well, which took place at the stick. Long live the Magic Stick in Detroit!!!
  56. tim
    May 25, 2005
    7
    pretty f-ing good, but some of the tracks are too emo-y for my exquisite pallete. listen to modest mouse. if you do not like them, you do not deserve to have ears.
  57. benb
    May 26, 2005
    10
    quality album, realy mellow and chilled out!! dont leave home without this in your car!!
  58. Ben
    May 29, 2005
    9
    First Nine songs all amazing. Then a little lull, hence the 9, but amazing last three songs. Best rock CD since OK Computer.
  59. LupoLupo
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    A very great album!!
  60. JeffS
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    A very good, solid, and most importantly complete rock album. Every track is enjoyable if not memorable.
  61. mikes
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Has the same elements that Gang of Four did on Entertainment! , it sounds fantastic. My favorite so far this year.
  62. BennyB
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    A brilliant debut. What a drummer!
  63. BlakeT
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Incredible. Just when you think it's getting a little repetitive, it shoots off into another amazing direction. One of the best efforts of the last 5 years
  64. Jerome
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Before 2005 i was obsessed with old school hip hop but have made a complete turn in taste due to this album. Bloc Party are just perfect with every track they make. Each song is so incredible that its hard to pick a favourite, but This Modern Love would have to stand out against the others because of its raw emotion. 10/10
  65. GlennM
    Aug 26, 2005
    7
    better than most of the crap bands that this one is related with (killers, futureheads, kaiserchiefs, franz ferdinand) but still is not special at all
  66. AlexeyA
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    No question - it's an album of the year! Truly an insperational work. A pleasure to listen.
  67. Roly
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Class
  68. Jim
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    this albulm is a bloody masterpiece.One the first play it sounds rather bland but man it just keeps getting better along with franz, razorlight and the streets this is one of the best albums to come out of britian in 05, Kele is the man.
  69. MichaelM
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Innovative, magical, inspiring, pleasure to listen to...
  70. BobJ
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome album
  71. NathnL
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  72. SeanD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    album of the year.
  73. hollyg
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    awesome. dont you just love the drumming in like eating glass?
  74. stevenh
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    this is the best album i have ever heard! bloc party is a really good band. even if you dont like this genre of music you might like it!
  75. DanielH
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    After this album I'd have to say Bloc party is my favorite band. I love every song on this album excpet Plans and Compliments, which seem slower and less dynamic.
  76. c
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums ive heard in the past few years. They have a mix of emotion and great songs. Personally one of my favourite bands...
  77. SeyiO
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome band.
  78. JackM
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Unreal Been Listening to is since it came out
  79. CassieD.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This is my favourite album ever. Although there are no songs that stand out particularly the album as a whole brims with so much energy. Those who rated it a zero probably look for cheap thrills in their music. This is an album for life.
  80. avid
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    it's actually a 9.5 for me. it could get better. but it's definitely the best record i bought this year. banquet just really pulls every string. you can't not love bloc party.
  81. bretc
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    ignore the list of influences and hype...just listen a couple times
  82. NiallB
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Just buy it
  83. JoeC
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Awesome!!! Can't stop listening to it!!
  84. ZapB
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    This CD is really good.. I don't think they compare too closely with Franz Ferdinand, they are more straight ahead rock, where this is more like punk. The songs on this CD seem deeper and more varied than FF too. I like this CD a lot after hearing it just a few times.
  85. GaryM.
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    This is the band I've been waiting for. This is an amazing album full of great, great songs which include "This Modern Love" and "Banquet". Too cool.
  86. MarkK
    Apr 24, 2005
    7
    The first 4 tracks are really really good. However, the rest is, it seems, mediocre at times. Its a good album. However, after the first good week of listening I've moved to just listening to songs 1, 2, 3, 4 and 8.
  87. CeilingTiles
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    People with bad taste be warned -- This is not for you.
  88. carlos
    May 16, 2005
    8
    like....good skills and songs.
  89. arnaud
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    sheer brilliance: magnificent lyrics, more than accurate drums, fascinating voice, thrilling guitar riffs and so on. This will be one of the life defining albums that i'll allways remember
  90. AliC
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    Yep, it's great. And my girlfriend thinks so too. So there.
  91. MatthewL
    Jul 15, 2005
    7
    Consistently good, occasionally very good, but never great.
  92. laurah
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    i love this album..its the best...but i dont like the last song complaments its rubbish..i love banquet,this modren love,like eatin glass and all of them reali
  93. Poldo
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    the best punkish album i've ever listened to! nothing more to add. this album is wicked awesome
  94. AbidshanJ
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    Bloc Party makes The Killers, The Bravery, Kaiser Cheifs, and Franz Ferdinand sound like a complete joke.
  95. lucab
    Sep 19, 2005
    8
    i find the first part of the album a breathtaking 1-2-3-4! this album is catchy, but better than the others of the same "cathegory"; they're good performers too.
  96. MattA
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I knew that this album was very, very good when I heard it back in march, but it really has held up well over the course of the year and is still, along with Wolf Parade, Okkervil RIver, Sufjan Stevens, and The National, one of 2005's absolute best albums.
  97. OscarP
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Every song is "THE SONG". It's absolutley amazing. And you can listen to this for ages without getting realy bored of it.
  98. DaveK
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Bravo! Best band of 2005 indeed!
  99. NicoleN
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    intelligent, original, accessible. great. my favorite album of 2005.
  100. BlakeM
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Fantastic easily the best album of 2005, So here We Are may be the best song of all time its nearly perfect. great music form song 1 to 13 even the last song is a ripper, listen to this album
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Silent Alarm is dance rock, but highly caffeinated.
  2. 60
    Occasional flashes of brilliance transcend the deja-vu pastiche. [Apr 2005, p.113]
  3. Removing the formulae and sensual stimuli from the Party leaves little that’s substantive or innovative. Even the most cursory of examinations would show the group to be an “it” band and not much else. However, Bloc Party’s absurdly good at being an “it” on Silent Alarm.