Smother

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Smother Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British quartet releases its follow-up to its 2010 Mercury Prize-nominated album Two Dancers, produced by Richard Formby.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Domino
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Post-Punk
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Bed of Nails
I would lie anywhere with you Any old bed of nails would do Ink up the wound for a cruel tattoo A big old red heart with an anchor stuck... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 9, 2011
    100
    They are, right now, the most inspirational, intriguing, effortlessly enrapturing band at work on these shores. And Smother might well prove to be the album of 2011.
  2. May 9, 2011
    90
    Wild Beasts continue to find finer ways of expressing themselves while still holding onto the primal passion they've always had, and Smother is some of their most accessible yet creative work.
  3. The Cumbrian quartet haven't fumbled the ball with the follow-up. Smother, recorded in the shadow of Snowdonia, tinkles and twinkles like the classiest adult-alternative pop of the 1980s.
  4. May 9, 2011
    80
    Smother isn't conventional chart material, but will make their burgeoning cult impossible to ignore.
  5. 80
    The ultimate beauty of Smother, though, comes from its subtlety as Wild Beasts continue to transcend conventional pop music with yet another great addition to their catalog.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    78
    Smother, roiling in passion often disorienting in its envelopment, is difficult to penetrate, but there is ecstasy in the succumbing.
  7. May 16, 2011
    50
    Overall, Smother seems to be missing purpose. I hear those careful ruminations on relationships, and I hear the pain that evidently went into this, but it leaves me cold.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    After the bombastic flair of its predecessor, TWO DANCERS, Wild Beasts have shifted in a new direction. The intrinsic humor and pace of TWOAfter the bombastic flair of its predecessor, TWO DANCERS, Wild Beasts have shifted in a new direction. The intrinsic humor and pace of TWO DANCERS has been replaced with a more nuanced, melodic tone on SMOTHER. The songs are predominately slower, more intimate and ultimately show signs of a maturing band. I was a huge fan of TWO DANCERS, but was wary when it came to taking the band seriously as far as their longevity was concerned. I shouldn't have been worried. Wild Beasts have grown into their next album, and it is certainly going to be seen as one of the best albums of 2011. Standouts from the album include the sultry "Loop the Loop", the tingling "Reach a Bit Further" and the assuredly climactic "End Come Too Soon", most likely to be a underrated track from this work. In the end, SMOTHER is an album that should be given due consideration. Admittedly, it isn't quite as lively or catchy as TWO DANCERS. But it's a far darker and more personal work this time around. SMOTHER is going to catapult Wild Beasts to a new level of appreciation. They have the talent to back it up. Expand
  2. May 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. It took me a couple of listens to really appreciate it. I love it. This and Destroyers Kaputt are my Top 2 so far this year.Amazing album. It took me a couple of listens to really appreciate it. I love it. This and Destroyers Kaputt are my Top 2 so far this year. It has a new edgy sound couple with great lyrics. Will be recognized as one of the Top 3 albums of 2011. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    A up and coming band makes their first masterpiece.I enjoyed there last cd but as one reviewer wrote,it was a little "bombastic" at times.A up and coming band makes their first masterpiece.I enjoyed there last cd but as one reviewer wrote,it was a little "bombastic" at times.
    Smother has the layered sounds and complexities I expect from bands like Radiohead who arguably
    put out Alternative Rock's finest album in OK computer.
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Wild Beasts have toned down the vocal theatrics in this album, especially in comparison to their two previous albums, however this does notWild Beasts have toned down the vocal theatrics in this album, especially in comparison to their two previous albums, however this does not detract from the album at all. Smother is filled with moments of dazzling beauty and is easily one of the top albums of 2011. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Beautifully textures are just flowing through this album from start to end. Completely mesmerizing and entrancing melodies with lushBeautifully textures are just flowing through this album from start to end. Completely mesmerizing and entrancing melodies with lush instruments and vocals. If you are looking for an album to get you into 2011 mode, stop searching. Just stop. I've listened to a lot this year and this is just on another level. Don't think about it, just buy this. Make sure to listen to this album with a good reliable set of headphones that pick up the subtle background sounds. If you are a fan of artistic subtle well crafted music that comes together in gorgeous well polished melodies, it's hard to find better than this. Collapse
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    If you are in a band and cite Kate Bush as an influence, you could not be more welcomed. Smother, the third album by Wild Beasts, theIf you are in a band and cite Kate Bush as an influence, you could not be more welcomed. Smother, the third album by Wild Beasts, the avant-gardists of British indie rock, is their best and most even release yet. Hayden Thorpe and Tom Fleming share the mike to achieve something spectacular yet introverted. Do not expect a killer like Hooting & Howling from 2009 glorified Two Dancers. Instead, get ready for a puzzling experience that will keep you in high spirits. There is still a lot to say and discover in rock! Very sensual and erotic, Smother is where dream pop and electronica meet to astounding results. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2016
    0
    The innovative writing style and beautiful crushing vocals of their previous albums has all but gone on this record replaced by cliche lyricsThe innovative writing style and beautiful crushing vocals of their previous albums has all but gone on this record replaced by cliche lyrics and a darker sound, the guitar is bland and seeing them live was like going back to see a band from the 90s. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.