So-Called Chaos

  • Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: May 18, 2004
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. izat-
    Jun 3, 2006
    5
    hmmm.... quite dissapointing but that much. i don't sense the anger in here, maybe cuz it's her 'love' album.. my favrites r 8 easy steps, excuses n everything... n ore more thing... she should've chose EXCUSES to be one of her single instead of Out Is Through...It may propel the album to sell at least five million copies... Ultimately, its her least best album...
  2. BrentH.
    May 19, 2004
    6
    Easy to listen to but not always interesting to listen to. The major difference this time out is a kinder, gentler, less self-absorbed Alanis.
  3. jesusjones
    Jul 8, 2004
    5
    this, like most new music, is pretty lame. its just too trendy now to be mediocre, no offense to her of course - but she just doesn't have it anymore. i have a message for Mark F., who wrote a review for this album as well - addicting is not a word!!! please stop using it people!!! addictive is the word - addictive - say it with me now - addictive!!! this is what happens when an this, like most new music, is pretty lame. its just too trendy now to be mediocre, no offense to her of course - but she just doesn't have it anymore. i have a message for Mark F., who wrote a review for this album as well - addicting is not a word!!! please stop using it people!!! addictive is the word - addictive - say it with me now - addictive!!! this is what happens when an illiterate chimp runs the country i guess. Expand
  4. ABeck
    Jan 18, 2005
    5
    Thank you Jesus! Addicting is not a word. To those of you who believe it is, imagine if someone said to you, "You're very funning" or "I have a running nose". Wouldn't you want to smack to cute right out of them? Well, that's what "I have an addicting personality" or "It's very addicting" sounds like. The word is addictive, people. Addicting is a present tense verb, Thank you Jesus! Addicting is not a word. To those of you who believe it is, imagine if someone said to you, "You're very funning" or "I have a running nose". Wouldn't you want to smack to cute right out of them? Well, that's what "I have an addicting personality" or "It's very addicting" sounds like. The word is addictive, people. Addicting is a present tense verb, not an adjective. Expand
  5. ChandaP
    May 22, 2004
    5
    This album has some interesting moments, and Alanis has clearly worked on her voice. It's nice to hear she's happy, but she lacks the interesting instrumental choices that she made on Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie. I'm glad to know that she's still at it, but now that she's happy, I hope she can channel that into trying to be more creative next time around.
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    4
    After its peak in Jagged little pill and Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie and Under Rug Swept, we expected that alanis continue further evolving in their next releases. What definitely did not happen! So-Called Chaos is a tacky disaster. Consists of ten songs Avril Lavigne standard pop / rock extremely boring, Alanis presents no novelty compared to their previous albums .The same themes,After its peak in Jagged little pill and Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie and Under Rug Swept, we expected that alanis continue further evolving in their next releases. What definitely did not happen! So-Called Chaos is a tacky disaster. Consists of ten songs Avril Lavigne standard pop / rock extremely boring, Alanis presents no novelty compared to their previous albums .The same themes, the same melodies pop / rock stressful and manufactured choruses that even worked in Under Rug Swept, but do not work aqui.So-Called Chaos is the worst album of alanis career and unsuccessful on the charts. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Once more, her songs become little more than cloying ruminations or sarcastic harangues aimed at those who want to squash her individuality. [28 May 2004, p.121]
  2. By track three, something awful is apparent.
  3. It's brighter, denser, catchier than either of its immediate predecessors, and boasts her most assured singing yet.