• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Somethin' 'Bout Kreay Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Oakland rapper's debut full-length studio release features such guest artists as 2 Chainz, Diplo, and Kid Cudi.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Her delivery--nasal, slightly nagging--inevitably begins to grate long before the album's running time is up. But there are points of interest that take Kreayshawn beyond empty attempts at swag.
  2. Uncut
    Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Thanks to her Valley Girl charisma and omnivorous sexual gaze she mostly succeeds. [Dec 2012, p.73]
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    The Oakland MC's debut explores her skill at giving hormonally bonkers post-Odd Future shock rap a bratty, ashtray-Madonna spin.
  4. 40
    The problem with Somethin' Bout Kreay is that the record is inevitably one of novelty, and it wears thin fast.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    40
    It's not a very good listen, but it's kind of fun to watch someone be so free.
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    30
    These are dance songs so strident that no one could ever hope to move to them, pop songs so thin that no one could choose lines worth singing along to, rap verses so fumbly that practically anyone could rewrite them and make them better.
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    20
    It's a pop album of awful pop music.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I think is a really good album, don't take so seriously her lyrics, she's just having fun and she want you to have it too. The production isI think is a really good album, don't take so seriously her lyrics, she's just having fun and she want you to have it too. The production is amazing and her voice is something new, and her style is unique , you can't deny it. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    A good album overall. Really under-rated. There's 13 songs on the album and when you listen to it, you'll feel like you're listening to 13A good album overall. Really under-rated. There's 13 songs on the album and when you listen to it, you'll feel like you're listening to 13 different albums, all merged into one. Kreayshawn pays tribute to her Gucci Gucci flow on tracks 'Left Ey3' spitting rapid verses over an electronic beat, whereas on tracks like 'BFF' and 'Luv Haus' we see Kreay drift into a more R'n'B/Pop genre, keeping her eye out for a more mature audience. A great album and personally I believe this deserved a lot more than '20K copies' in America. Collapse
  3. Apr 25, 2017
    10
    A good album overall. Really under-rated. There's 13 songs on the album and when you listen to it, you'll feel like you're listening to 13A good album overall. Really under-rated. There's 13 songs on the album and when you listen to it, you'll feel like you're listening to 13 different albums, all merged into one. Kreayshawn pays tribute to her Gucci Gucci flow on tracks 'Left Ey3' spitting rapid verses over an electronic beat, whereas on tracks like 'BFF' and 'Luv Haus' we see Kreay drift into a more R'n'B/Pop genre, keeping her eye out for a more mature audience. A great album and personally I believe this deserved a lot more than '20K copies' in America. Collapse Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    I really love "Gucci Gucci." Even though when Kreayshawn stepped onto radio airplay in 2011, I really love the idea of a silly but pasticheI really love "Gucci Gucci." Even though when Kreayshawn stepped onto radio airplay in 2011, I really love the idea of a silly but pastiche album with a few extra set of hooks, bars and some of those spitfired lyrics. I think this is one of my favorite albums of the year so far. I gotta give credit, I heard that song on the radio a million times and on YouTube. Although some of the tracks looks pretty good, but sorta decent. But whenever the lyric "One big room full of bad bitches" starts to pop out, I couldn't get enough of Kreayshawn. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    Everything about this album makes sense except for her lyrics... She kinda ruined what could've been really great songs. There are definitelyEverything about this album makes sense except for her lyrics... She kinda ruined what could've been really great songs. There are definitely some decent songs on here though. The only song I think that really sucks is "Summertime". Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2014
    5
    If Kreayshawn was out to make an inspirational, meaningful album to cure world hunger and start the ball rolling for her presidency campaign,If Kreayshawn was out to make an inspirational, meaningful album to cure world hunger and start the ball rolling for her presidency campaign, she would have received a 0 for this album. However, if she was out to make an album of fun, twerk music (Which is pretty evident as even one of the tracks is called 'Twerkin!!!') She receives a 5, it's still not amazing dance music compared to Rihanna or Iggy Azalea's efforts, but it's still not dreadful. Positives of the album are that no two tracks sound remotely similar, and 10/13 tracks are twerkable and fun. A big positive is that Kreayshawn has mastered auto-tune. Whereas artists like Lil Kim or T-Pain overdo auto-tune, Kreayshawn has just the right amount to sound good yet not tacky. The singles (Gucci Gucci, Breakfast & Go Hard) are the highlights of the album, an opinion which other critics share, and guest appearances from 2 Chainz & Chippy Nonstop are also appreciated. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This album is just trash. You can only buy this album if u like how sounds music, not looking to lyrics. But still there are no songs withThis album is just trash. You can only buy this album if u like how sounds music, not looking to lyrics. But still there are no songs with meaning, lead single is just crap. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews