Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    The surface mayhem actually masks an admirable craft. [Aug 2004, p.96]
  2. 80
    Retains the tweak and squidge of his experimental, post-techno wanderings, but it's meant for feet rather than head. [Sep 2004, p.98]
  3. 80
    [A] funk dub electro carb-filled gem. [Sep 2004, p.117]
  4. He's successful even when he is indulging in a little silliness.
  5. Sorry I Make You Lush runs on fresh sounds and non-drowsy wit.
  6. Breezy, disorientated, unhurried, its content seeks an instant surface rapport through a bold display of clips and cuts. [#245, p.69]
  7. An extremely listenable, laughable album, a futuristic freakshow of deep, stirring melodies and innovative beat arrangements.
  8. A happy, penguin-chilled sunset beach barbecue of a collection. [3 Jul 2004, p.65]
  9. On the one hand, Sorry I Make You Lush is as accomplished an album as you are likely to hear this year. But it skates a very fine line between irreverence and irrelevance, and emerges only partially successful.
  10. For the most part, he keeps it all on the ingenious side of ridiculous. [Aug 2004, p.121]
  11. Breaking new ground probably isn't the point, but the album still fails to generate any emotion or create a mood other than ennui.
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    10/10 is what this album deserves, it' all about the small stuff and Luke nails it every time. get it on vinyl if you can, makes for a good party starter among other things. Saddic Gladdic & Sci Fi Staircase are my two personal favorites Full Review »
  2. EricS
    Dec 6, 2009
    It takes off and soars w/ "Saddic Gladdic" on track 1 and then spirals back to nothingness quickly.
  3. MattK
    Nov 8, 2004
    The King of electronic innovation strikes again, this man is a musical genius who definitely delivers on this album although I would like to see him go more main stream! Full Review »