Soul Punk

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Soul Punk Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Fall Out Boy singer also wrote and produced this entire debut solo album.
Buy On

Top Track

This City
Now what if I told you my city was the best And my city was a threat to the rest And my city was a threat to the rest This city is my city And I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Every song on Soul Punk bleeds confidence and assurance--that these songs are what Patrick Stump is happy creating--music that he's proud of.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    It's good--really good--but only if you want it to be.
  3. Alternative Press
    Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Soul Punk is a brave, bold statement on which Stump asserts his individuality. [Aug 2011, p.111]
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    70
    Stump is an excellent, nimble singer, but it's his songwriting that makes this one of the most irrefutably catchy albums of 2011.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    Nov 15, 2011
    67
    He loses himself among all the references here, leaving an emptiness at Soul Punk's otherwise vibrant center. [28 Oct 2011, p.73]
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    50
    Occasionally, it's quite good, as on When I Made You Cry, which conjures early Michael Jackson. Other times, it's dreadful.
  7. 40
    Differentiating yourself isn't the same as creating quality music, and Patrick Stump has only managed to do the first and not the second.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Patrick Stump delivers one of the most original pop albums of the decade. Performing, producing and singing everything on Soul Punk, PatrickPatrick Stump delivers one of the most original pop albums of the decade. Performing, producing and singing everything on Soul Punk, Patrick does an amazing job, especially when it comes to his voice. With an amazing vocal range, Stump hit stunning high notes (Allie, Dance Miserable, The ´´I`` In Lie) and some unexpected low notes (People Never Done a God Thing).
    Even though, with some heavy synths, you can have fun with some awesome guitar solos, arena drums and even saxophones ( Everybody Wants Somebody). The lyrics might sound cheesy and to ´´poppy``, but can also surprise you with political criticism (This City, Dance Miserable, Greed).
    There are also some´´nowhere to find`` songs, like the opening ´´whoa`` Explode and the funk rock The Bad side of 25.
    Many don´t understand the ´´Punk`` on the tittle, as it apears much more on the lyrics and attitude: a pop-punk vocalist making (ALL BY HIMSELF) a funk / R&B record.
    Forget everything that you heard of his band, you will find a completely different cup of tea. And it will only be as good as it sounds if you do that, because Soul Punk is everything that Patrick Stump wanted to put outside his talented mind.
    Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    É impressionante como apenas uma pessoa tocou e cantou tudo sozinha. Não tenho a certeza se ele também produziu tudo sozinho. De qualquerÉ impressionante como apenas uma pessoa tocou e cantou tudo sozinha. Não tenho a certeza se ele também produziu tudo sozinho. De qualquer forma, ele é uma pessoa talentosa, e este album é daqueles que toda a gente tem de ouvir antes de morrer. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    10
     This album is seriously catchy, I don't have a hope of not dancing when I listen to it. The lyrics revolve around both extremely This album is seriously catchy, I don't have a hope of not dancing when I listen to it. The lyrics revolve around both extremely current issues like corporate Greed and economic recession, to age old themes of love and gettin' drunk. It's hard to pick stand-out tracks when I love every last one, but I'd narrow it down to Run Dry, The 'I' in Lie, and Everybody Wants Somebody. The bonus tracks are every bit as worthy as the standard tracks, The Bad Side of 25 being a standout.
    Every single track is a winner for me, and that every tune, lyric, instrument, and production value is the result of one person only serves to make this album infinitely more impressive. All this coupled with Stump's stellar vocal talent produces an outstanding album. Definitely a favorite of 2011.
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Perfection. He wrote everything. He produced everything. This guy should receive more acknowledgement. This guy is the next king of pop. It'sPerfection. He wrote everything. He produced everything. This guy should receive more acknowledgement. This guy is the next king of pop. It's a shame he probably won't reign, because he's not that famous by himself. All the tracks here are worth your time and money. Guaranteed: There will be no regrets. Also, make sure to check out the Deluxe Edition bonus tracks. They're awesome as well.

    The first thing to do before listening to this album is: Forget about Fall Out Boy. This is not Fall Out Boy. That's why it's a parallel project. It's parallel. It's outside Fall Out Boy. It's not supposed to sound like Fall Out Boy. Fall Out Boy is a rock band. If Fall Out Boy is a rock band, this is not supposed to sound like rock. It's not rock. It's R&B Pop. If you like Fall Out Boy's rock 'n' roll but doesn't like R&B nor Pop... This is not for you. Because of that you shouldn't say this is bad work if you don't have experience on this area. On this genre. But if you are open-minded or are trying to open your mind to different types of music... Give it a try! The best thing for somebody who's willing to explore a new world is to start by its best city. Here's what you get:

    There are funky grooves ("Dance Miserable"), electronic/futuristic elements ("Coast"), fast-paced ("Explode") and slow-paced jams ("The 'I' In Lie"). Violins ("Allie"), saxophones and surprising low notes ("Everybody Wants Somebody") also find their place here, among some pop tracks ("This City" and "Spotlight"). R&B perfection for you, ladies and gentlemen!

    So... I could go on and on about how this album is awesome and that you should buy it. But let me give you some enlightenment on "Soul Punk", the precious treasure of 2011: "Explode" proves that he's up to Michael Jackson's level (Yes, I said it!). "This City" proves that he can make radio-friendly pop songs. "Dance Miserable" proves that R&B is still alive. "Spotlight (New Regrets)" proves that he can make fantastic synth-pop songs. "The 'I' In Lie" proves that this man can do ANYTHING. He will BLOW your mind.

    And the album goes on as the magic continues to happen. "Run Dry" is one fun groovy song. "Greed" is lyrically powerful and one strong track. "Everybody Wants Somebody" is a HUGE highlight, such as the beautiful "Allie". And "Coast" is the perfect ending for a perfect album.

    PERFECT.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Similar to Fall Out Boy
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    Excellent album, you just need to give it a chance before it opens up for you. At points it does sound like Stump is doing his best MichaelExcellent album, you just need to give it a chance before it opens up for you. At points it does sound like Stump is doing his best Michael Jackson impression, but his voice becomes his own after a few listens Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2015
    8
    This album is an amazing show of talent by Patrick sump. Having made almost all of it himself, it shows that he has a great ear for greatThis album is an amazing show of talent by Patrick sump. Having made almost all of it himself, it shows that he has a great ear for great music. While the more electronic sound may not be for everyone, it still sounds fantastic and Stump's vocals are undeniably great throughout all tracks. There is a sense of Michael Jackson meets Justin Timberlake with hints of Jameroquai for good measure, all with Stump's unique energy. The songs vary somewhat which is where those extra two points went as not every track here is a hit as such but almost all have an amazing energy and are extremely catchy. A well-made album by an extremely talented artist. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews