Sound Of Silver

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 253

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VictorE
    May 20, 2007
    5
    The first half of this album is pretty good, esp. North American Scum-All My Friends, the rest is really boring filler. Us V Them could qualify as one of the worst songs of the year: 8.5 minutes, half of which is just the same lyric over and over. Overall, most of the album just sounds like generic background music from a mid-80's dance-show. True, there are some great songs, but The first half of this album is pretty good, esp. North American Scum-All My Friends, the rest is really boring filler. Us V Them could qualify as one of the worst songs of the year: 8.5 minutes, half of which is just the same lyric over and over. Overall, most of the album just sounds like generic background music from a mid-80's dance-show. True, there are some great songs, but there is nothing original or unique about it whatsoever. Expand
  2. Evan
    Jun 3, 2007
    5
    While this is not a bad album, I feel that it is very overrated
  3. JohnS
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    Not really anything special. The critics were looking for the next big thing but I'm afraid this just isn't all that engaging.
  4. JeffL
    Jun 28, 2007
    4
    I liked the first album, like many other bands, nothing new here, same old tired beats. Every Track sounds exacly the same with minor tempo changes.
  5. TedS
    Apr 11, 2007
    5
    I love LCD Soundsystem but this cd is completely overrated. The repitition may be planned but it gets on my nerves. North American Scum = great. A few others = good. Majority = lackluster.
  6. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    5
    I don't get the hype at all.
  7. HexumN
    Apr 15, 2007
    4
    How does this get such a high rating??? Completely boring except for track 4 which I admit is pretty cool. Seems like these boring electronic-type albums always get so much backing automatically from these music snobs. I don't care about the artist's previous albums or how good of a style mixture it is. The music itself is what concerns me, and it's actually pretty crappy.
  8. Cameron
    Mar 27, 2007
    6
    I dont get it! Its the sound of silver all right, but not like the sparkling shiney kind, rather the corrosion-dulled kind. decent songs, yes. anything more than that? no! wheres the variety and the interesting elements that were in the first CD and the 45 min running track? also, how can this CD get such high ratings when 'Someone Great' is nothing but a cut and paste from a I dont get it! Its the sound of silver all right, but not like the sparkling shiney kind, rather the corrosion-dulled kind. decent songs, yes. anything more than that? no! wheres the variety and the interesting elements that were in the first CD and the 45 min running track? also, how can this CD get such high ratings when 'Someone Great' is nothing but a cut and paste from a section of the 45 minute track with vocals added? I already bought that track, and its better than this whole album. anyone disappointed by this album, buy the 45 minute track, its fabulous! ignore the associations with nike, its probably LCD's best recording to date. Expand
  9. JustinS
    Apr 27, 2007
    6
    The album lacks anything resembling hooks or melody. Each song sounds like it was an outake from either "Pieces of the People we Know" by The Raptrue or "The Understanding" by Royksopp.
  10. MarekS
    Apr 3, 2007
    4
    Really nothing special. I don't understand this fuss over this album. It simply doesn't MOVE me
  11. oliverc
    Apr 9, 2007
    5
    Songs are very repetitive, lyrics are just awful. The beats aren't catchy. I am wondering exactly how this is dance music, it's got no pulse!
  12. LeoF
    Mar 19, 2007
    6
    this time i'll have to agree with alternative press: merely ok.
  13. GeeD.
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    Are you all deaf? To compare this with "Neon Bible" is ludicrous. LCD Soundsystem WERE genius. They are now merely adequate.
  14. Gary
    Mar 23, 2007
    5
    I don't know. I'm not sure I get the fuss. I loved the last album (and the singles comp is a classic) but this seems a bit of retread.
  15. Seeds13
    Mar 27, 2007
    4
    I don't get it. What's all the fuss about this album? A couple of good tracks and the rest is experimental noise. I won't mention how the lyrics are lame, and the singing conveys a sense of stale corn flakes. Oh, I just did. I am just dumbfounded by such high marks since I was never blown away or even impressed by one track. I hope the world ends soon, cause I am surrounded I don't get it. What's all the fuss about this album? A couple of good tracks and the rest is experimental noise. I won't mention how the lyrics are lame, and the singing conveys a sense of stale corn flakes. Oh, I just did. I am just dumbfounded by such high marks since I was never blown away or even impressed by one track. I hope the world ends soon, cause I am surrounded by zombies. Expand
  16. danc
    Mar 31, 2007
    5
    this is so the sound of 2/3 years ago man i cant believe it!! feckin cowbells and drawn out intstrumental bits with funky bassline. SNOOZE! love the single, first tracks good and the title track. All My Friends is a downright rip off of Smog/New Order simultaneously but very noticeably, but then James Murphy has always been a bit shameless like that. for certain, the most overrated thing this is so the sound of 2/3 years ago man i cant believe it!! feckin cowbells and drawn out intstrumental bits with funky bassline. SNOOZE! love the single, first tracks good and the title track. All My Friends is a downright rip off of Smog/New Order simultaneously but very noticeably, but then James Murphy has always been a bit shameless like that. for certain, the most overrated thing this year. id have to question how much music people listen to in getting very excited about this.. Expand
  17. jacksong
    Mar 22, 2007
    6
    See: Cokemaching Glow.
  18. H.G.Pennypacker
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    Pretty boring and annoying to listen to.
  19. Ben
    Mar 26, 2007
    6
    Doesn't touch Panda Bear's Person Pitch.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  2. Under The Radar
    90
    A big, fun, and passionate record that sounds enormous. [#16, p.92]
  3. Urb
    100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]