Sound Of Silver

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 245

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This album is extraordinary. The man is a genius Funk Soul Brother? Nigel, get a clue.
  2. GillyD
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    God yes! What a cd. Can't stop playing it. All great tracks but especially All My Friends, Someone Great, Sound of Silver and Us V Them. The best dance cd so far & probably all year
  3. DylanS
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Another amazing album from LCD, "North American Scum" and "All My Friends" are stand outs, "Sound of Silver", not so much. Thankfully it's only one track that's less focused than the rest, and even said track has more to it than most. Buy Sound of Silve.
  4. RickW
    Mar 19, 2007
    8
    A fantastic album. Grows with every listen. Definite Joy Division/New Order influences in some of the songs. Even better than his brilliant first album. Good live too!
  5. andresL
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    This one is as good as the debut which means its ace. Also 'All my friends' is the song of the year.
  6. mikef
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    point being? you shake your money maker, therefore you are. point taken.
  7. DecepticonPom
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    Immediately accessible and, with the clumsy title track the only exception, unskippable from start to finish.
  8. ScottW.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    If you are looking for something different in the electronic sound, LCD Soundsystem are one of the best things going in that type of music. This is one of the best albumes in 2007. Sound of Silver is not a pop song albume though. Its one these albumes thats a little bite on the arty side but, this secound albume shows that they nkow what they are doing.
  9. AchimS
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This album is awesome as his debut -- James Murphy kicks ass. Very mature sound, buy it, love it!
  10. PaulC
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, so far, by a long way! Stunning and just gets better each listen. Recommended tracks - All My Friends, New York I Love You, North American Scum
  11. DavidM
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Rediculously good. I think it has taken my album of the year already. Murphy comes back even stronger than before and brings emotion to the table with some killer dance tracks.
  12. AndrewW
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Ditto on the best album of the year so far, this is the first album in quite a while that has literally (to use a completely overused phrase) blown me away. Stand out track: all my friend, played it at least a dozen times in a row. Haven't done that since I was a teenager (many moons ago)
  13. DamianM
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    This is one of the few albums I have ever felt guilty about downloading illegally. But to be honest, I can't imagine what the three months of my life would have been like without it. With this album, Murphy has surpassed many of his peers musically and lyrically. A masterpiece.
  14. DecklinW
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Seriously, this is a peach of an album, in all respects. Buy it NOW.
  15. SeanP.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    I totally loved his debut. This is all I could have hoped for from a follow-up, and then some. Now, i can't say, with a clear conscience, that this is the best of the year, because i'm a huge fan of Arcade Fire's latest. At worst, then, this is merely tied with Neon Bible as my favorite record of 2007. It will be extremely hard for anyone to rival these two albums for the I totally loved his debut. This is all I could have hoped for from a follow-up, and then some. Now, i can't say, with a clear conscience, that this is the best of the year, because i'm a huge fan of Arcade Fire's latest. At worst, then, this is merely tied with Neon Bible as my favorite record of 2007. It will be extremely hard for anyone to rival these two albums for the rest of the year. I'll be more than happy to listen to the attempts. This will potentially be a great year of music then. Expand
  16. sanjeeva
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    The best CD (dance or whatever) in a long LONG time! Was great the first time I heard it, but now, it pure magic! All my friends sounds like a mix of U2's Streets have no name and a Stroke's track. But the resulting track is a masterpiece. Sheer genius.
  17. kat
    Mar 20, 2007
    7
    commercial, likeable, danceable. "all my firends" sounds like a new order cover i'm afraid. all in all, not too impressive, in my view.
  18. Graeme
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    It will be tough to top this for album of the year, and we're only 3 months into 2007. So many cool elements on Sound of Silver. 'Someone Great' is such an emotive song. Sound of Silver is much tighter than the self-titled disc.
  19. natana
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    perfect. just i t.
  20. mikeyf
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    wow! wow! wow! wow! wow! wow! "a 'failed hipster from suburban nj' dj saved my life last night". to paraquat, ehh, paraphrase B. Franklin: "...proof God exists and wants us to be happy". cowbells and spinal pulse. 9:30 club, get ready for a party.
  21. maryf
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    what i imagine heyday studio 54 was - to be coked out of your mind spinning in glittering infinity. however this is drug-less buzz stuff that will infect your reality in a really harmless way. spear point hypnotics.
  22. CurtisO
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Exceptional Album to say the least, definitely captures the sub-c via the elaborate series of layers and rock fusion
  23. dominiqueab
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Amazing. I thought nothing would beat Neon Bible for album of the year -- I was easily proven wrong with this album.
  24. TM
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    Way better than the Panda Bear album.
  25. ZachM
    May 2, 2007
    10
    you know, it really gets tiring hearing about how people just can't get past the album's supposed "lack of melody". if all you want out of a record is catchy melodies, go listen to a fall out boy album or something. this record easily surpasses every record released so far this year (yes, even your dearly beloved Neon Bible). it's remarkable how james murphy can take such you know, it really gets tiring hearing about how people just can't get past the album's supposed "lack of melody". if all you want out of a record is catchy melodies, go listen to a fall out boy album or something. this record easily surpasses every record released so far this year (yes, even your dearly beloved Neon Bible). it's remarkable how james murphy can take such an eclectic set of songs and manage to make it all cohere to create a mature and all-around excellent record. if you like to listen to any sort of dance music at all, buy this album immediately and let it grow on you. you won't regret it. Expand
  26. romanmc
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Outstanding. More rewarding the more you listen to it.
  27. ToddW
    May 3, 2007
    9
    I haven't heard an album which deserves a 10 yet this year, but this one comes pretty damn close. James Murphy's brainchild is getting better with each new attempt. In this offering we have an opponent for Andrew Bird's Armchair Apocrypha for Album of the Quarter. The song All My Friends is easily the best song to be put out so far this year; it sounds like Supertramp on I haven't heard an album which deserves a 10 yet this year, but this one comes pretty damn close. James Murphy's brainchild is getting better with each new attempt. In this offering we have an opponent for Andrew Bird's Armchair Apocrypha for Album of the Quarter. The song All My Friends is easily the best song to be put out so far this year; it sounds like Supertramp on amphetamines. Like all great dance music, this offering will get you off of your apathetic ass, out of your basement, and in to the bright lights. The only glitch is his occasional use of some lines which have already been penned. That wince-inducing writing aside, his beats are novel, crisp, and incredibly infectious. Expand
  28. bobr
    May 5, 2007
    10
    one of the coolest albums i own... we are North American scuuuum~
  29. nick
    May 9, 2007
    10
    This is really, really, really good. Tracks 3-6 is one of the best stretches of music I've heard in a long, long while.
  30. ArthurDogtrash
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    I love this CD even more than their last release. "North American Scum" and "All My Friends" are two of the best songs of the year so far. A great release by a great band.
  31. Luke
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Best album of the year thus far. It would have been a brilliant album if it wasn't for "All my friends." I don't get why people like that song. It's nowhere close to being as good as the rest of the album. Very Dancey, very stimulating album. Thumbs up!
  32. JohnB.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    It took a long time for this album to grow on me. At first it sounded like the last album, only minus much of the wit that made the last one so enjoyable. But over the last year I have continued to listen to it over and over and I have realized what a great achievement it is. It is a truly adult album in a genre focused primarily on youth. As a 30 something year old, who spent a lot of It took a long time for this album to grow on me. At first it sounded like the last album, only minus much of the wit that made the last one so enjoyable. But over the last year I have continued to listen to it over and over and I have realized what a great achievement it is. It is a truly adult album in a genre focused primarily on youth. As a 30 something year old, who spent a lot of time partying in my 20s, "All My Friends" is a poignant reconciliation and in a time when Americans are despised around the world "North American Scum" is an uplifting anthem. I love it. Expand
  33. zachs
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    LCD's frontman James Murphy once gain proves himslef an excpeional talent with another eclectic and completely absorbing album.The song "All My Friends" is easily the best thing he has created yet, and he has done alot of amazing things.
  34. MikeC
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is 2x better than their first CD and I mean IT IS 2X BETTER! This could be one of best albums i have ever heard!
  35. smithsgirl
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Outstanding album, no less. James Murphy makes music which is impossible to categorise; pigeonhole into the usual 'is it dance? is it punk? is it indie?' deadly dull discussions. I assumed his debut album was a one off, never to be equalled, and certainly not bettered. And how wrong I was! All of the tracks are brilliant, apart from New York I Love You, which is just good. Best Outstanding album, no less. James Murphy makes music which is impossible to categorise; pigeonhole into the usual 'is it dance? is it punk? is it indie?' deadly dull discussions. I assumed his debut album was a one off, never to be equalled, and certainly not bettered. And how wrong I was! All of the tracks are brilliant, apart from New York I Love You, which is just good. Best album of 2007 so far! Buy it or steal it now! Expand
  36. mattl
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    truly a great album. hands down the best album i've heard this years. solid dance music top to bottom, tracks 1-9. i don't really know how that alternative press critic can call it souless. i would argue the contrary.
  37. FábioJ
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    Another great album from a great band. Looking forward to seeing him live. Visit Os Novos Pornógrafos http://osnovospornografos.blogs.sapo.pt
  38. RobJ
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    A total audio experience. The more you play it the better it gets. With the exception of the title track every tune deserves top marks. Transfers to the 'live' experience brilliantly. Mr Murphy keeps the connection between indie/rock and electo going
  39. NathanW
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Lord have mercy. Best album of the year by far (so far). Amazing on every level, you must hear this and play it for all whom you love. Repeatedly.
  40. JamesS
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    It's being said to death, but this is the first album to really catch my attention this year. I'm glad that James Murphy is singing more and I'm surprised that more people aren't citing the obvious Eno influence because of it (tell me that the debut's "Great Release" doesn't remind you of "Here Come the Warm Jets"). I've really enjoyed releases by It's being said to death, but this is the first album to really catch my attention this year. I'm glad that James Murphy is singing more and I'm surprised that more people aren't citing the obvious Eno influence because of it (tell me that the debut's "Great Release" doesn't remind you of "Here Come the Warm Jets"). I've really enjoyed releases by Deerhoof, Of Montreal, Menomena, and Peter Bjorn & John this year, but this is the first album that I think deserves to be called great, and yes, I've heard Neon Bible. Expand
  41. TobyH
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this album, the beautiful New York... slowing things down to a superb ending. Standout tracks are Us V Them and Someone Great, with North American Scum offering short sharp punk-dance. Time To Get Away is nearly as good as Daft Punk Is Playing At My A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this album, the beautiful New York... slowing things down to a superb ending. Standout tracks are Us V Them and Someone Great, with North American Scum offering short sharp punk-dance. Time To Get Away is nearly as good as Daft Punk Is Playing At My House, some mean achievement! Murphy's hugely entertaining yelps carry hints of Prince, as he shows magnificent lyrical ability over quality backdrop. Take my word for it- buy this album!!! Collapse
  42. AlexP
    Mar 26, 2007
    7
    This guy obviously has talent. It's just a shame the stuff he writes is so repetitive. It would be a lot better if he mixed it up a little more. Usually by about 2 minutes into the song I'm going crazy from hearing the same note 10000 times.
  43. SamH
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    Again Murphy has created an amalgam of sound invoking every one from Brian Eno ( I agree with the previous nod to "Here come the warm Jets"), Talking Heads ( under the influence of Eno ca "Remain in Light") to Gang of Four (I'm serious!). this outing is not as immediatley likeable as the debut, but is definitely worth the effort. Certainly a very strong candidate for album of the Again Murphy has created an amalgam of sound invoking every one from Brian Eno ( I agree with the previous nod to "Here come the warm Jets"), Talking Heads ( under the influence of Eno ca "Remain in Light") to Gang of Four (I'm serious!). this outing is not as immediatley likeable as the debut, but is definitely worth the effort. Certainly a very strong candidate for album of the year (although the aforementioned Eno album as well as "Another Greeen World" and "Before and After Science" trod the same ground at least 30 years ago). Expand
  44. samh
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    fuck. yes. favorite release of the year thus far.
  45. EduardoO
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    Is Murphy at his peek? I hope not... I want something even better. I'm not complaining... this album is already perfect, I just want him to create his masterpiece. James will be remembered for his take on Dance/Rock as anybody else has done it. Get it, listen and be part of history.
  46. Dan(nirv)
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    I liked his first album and LOVE this one. My Friends, North American Scum, Someone Great, Get Innocuous... all A+ songs. A guy at work heard me listening to it and demanded the disc and so I gave it to him.
  47. LiamC
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Superb diverse album... hard to find a favourite.. North American Scum and Someone great are .. well.. Great! But so too is New York, I Love You.. something totally different. Stop reading this basically and just listen and enjoy. James Murphy rocks..!
  48. DanielA
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    Not better than his debut but it's an awesome record.
  49. Mike!M
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Best Album of the Year....Justin you're an idiot. This sounds NOTHINg like Pieces...
  50. DeboA
    May 15, 2007
    10
    I just can't help but love the musick that LCD Soundsystem puts out, even if it's not my favourite type of musick. Basic instincts tell me I cannot ignore it! This is the best overall album I've heard all year! Luv "New York I Love You..." and about 6 others. While some songs are immediate, the album is mostly a grower.
  51. kde
    May 16, 2007
    7
    I've enjoyed listening to the sound of silver. I think what's missing for me is much of the background noise that accompanied so much of their prior release (think Tribulations) or outright hooks (think Disco Infiltrator). Murphy polished off his singing a bit and took a newer direction - but sometimes that doesn't always spell complete success.
  52. KeithE
    May 24, 2007
    7
    There are some great tunes on here, it is beginning to wear a little thin now though on repeated listening.
  53. JaredW
    May 31, 2007
    10
    This is by far one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. At first I hated the genre due to its repeatedness but then my brother played one of their songs and I wanted their album ever since and so I did buy and it was the best album I bought. Its chorus in every song is very catchy in someway somehow wherever you are it will suddenly get stuck in your head and frankly its a This is by far one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. At first I hated the genre due to its repeatedness but then my brother played one of their songs and I wanted their album ever since and so I did buy and it was the best album I bought. Its chorus in every song is very catchy in someway somehow wherever you are it will suddenly get stuck in your head and frankly its a very good thing. The tracks Get Innocuous! and Time to Get Away are created by such genious its amazing. Its strange that a 16 year old kid would be into this stuff but I'm proof here. Definately one of the most catchiest album this year! Expand
  54. Mikec.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Daft PUnk is playing at my house.
  55. Oligami
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    This refuses to be just dance music. The last track is amazing. Definitely one of the best in 2007.
  56. JamesM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    A great album. Not a weak track. Cool stuff.
  57. JZ.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    The first half of the album is superb but I think it drops off a bit toward the end. Agreeing with everyone about someone great and all my friends, great stuff. I also thought all my friends sounded like a U2 track, cheers sanjeev it does sound a lot like streets have no name.
  58. DavN.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    "Sound of Silver", in it's use of absolutely stunning beats, rhythms, fusion of music, and values, immediately reminded me of one of the best album's of the 80's, Talking Head's "Remain In Light". It's pure originality and effectiveness in sound makes it the most accessible best album of 2007 so far. If you are even slightly attracted to beat and rhythm, you will "Sound of Silver", in it's use of absolutely stunning beats, rhythms, fusion of music, and values, immediately reminded me of one of the best album's of the 80's, Talking Head's "Remain In Light". It's pure originality and effectiveness in sound makes it the most accessible best album of 2007 so far. If you are even slightly attracted to beat and rhythm, you will be pleased by "Sound of Silver". Expand
  59. EK
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    I hated it when I first heard it, it keeps growing on me though. One thing thats tough to argue is how good he is at writing words, the lyrics in someone great are superb.
  60. TONYB.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    HEAT
  61. MycroftW
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Too bad for !!! but the prize for the best dance album of the year is already taken
  62. JerrodL.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Takes the best aspects of his debut and betters them, James Murphy has created a true masterpiece. 'Someone Great' is the highlight. Poignant and danceable.
  63. DanS
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    "Someone Great" and "All My Friends" take LCD's sound to new heights. Every track met or exceeded my lofty expectations for it (handily besting its s/t predecessor when taken as whole albums). A lot of fun, and at times, deeply affecting.
  64. LuigiW
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    James Murphy stepped up his songwriting, album of the year by far.
  65. brennen
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Probably the best dance-rock album since New Order's "Technique". arguably better
  66. jazzym
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    this album is even better than smoking drugs
  67. TristramC
    Apr 12, 2007
    7
    LCD Soundsystem is a lot of fun and maybe I'm splitting hairs here but there is something about James Murphy that really annoys me. I think its his arrogance attempted to be masked as feigned, tongue-in-cheek arrogance for the benefit of those who tend to believe things like The Fall's Brix Smith wasn't a genuine person. Huh? (yeah, i know) Plus, unlike the last record LCD Soundsystem is a lot of fun and maybe I'm splitting hairs here but there is something about James Murphy that really annoys me. I think its his arrogance attempted to be masked as feigned, tongue-in-cheek arrogance for the benefit of those who tend to believe things like The Fall's Brix Smith wasn't a genuine person. Huh? (yeah, i know) Plus, unlike the last record there isn't a 'Disco Infiltrator' or another run of the 'Losing My Edge' single brilliant enough to make you overlook Murphy's ticks. He's annoying. In quest for irony for me Murphy ends up just weighing the whole project down, despite the album's occasional & small victories. Expand
  68. JoelC
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This album is truely amazing. Its one of those great albums far and few in between that once you hear it, the rest of your collection just seems to suck for awhile. I can't stop listening to this, its really infectious. I'm amazed at how much theyve matured their sound from their previous album. Just give this a straight listen when you buy it, and youll see what the fuss is This album is truely amazing. Its one of those great albums far and few in between that once you hear it, the rest of your collection just seems to suck for awhile. I can't stop listening to this, its really infectious. I'm amazed at how much theyve matured their sound from their previous album. Just give this a straight listen when you buy it, and youll see what the fuss is about. Everything flows beautifully. My favorite track on here is deffinately the title track, "Sound of Silver". Just an amazing, deep funk bassline, wierd but dreamy bell sounds or something, catchy as hell vocal loop, dark mysterious, original. Just check it out. Its amazing. Expand
  69. katyf
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    listen, bunghole haters, i've seen / done it all. up to & inc. se asia where the price of life itself is cheaper than you can imagine unless you've been there or to baghdad iraq, this is the shit. miss out & you've missed the landmark. green tracers got nutin' on this shit.
  70. abbotm
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    i'm bored by people who hate on this. it's actuall incredibly good, and refreshing.
  71. pablog
    May 24, 2007
    9
    good stuff in here, songs like new york i love you...makes me feel as sad as lou reeds, perfect day
  72. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    LCD Soundsystem mixed the dance genre with indie amazingly.
  73. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    The perfect walking music. All songs are unforgettable and catchy, showing no signs of slowdowns or weakness and I don't know if anyone appreciates this part but James Murphy's vocals are one of the most versatile ever and one of the most creative musicians in the business, addition to his admirable scope and ambition with the LCD Soundsystem project.
  74. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Sound Of Silver is an extraordinary album. Each song sounds like a single. It never gets boring and it's like nothing you'll ever hear. James Murphy's vocals and all the Synth electro funk beats go perfectly well together. "North American Scum" and All My Friends" are standout tracks on the album. All In All, Sound Of Silver is an incredible record that needs to be listened too. A
  75. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    You may be surprised how simple and amazing this album by LCD Soundsystem is. "North American Scum" shows off the rebellious side while "All My Friends" shows the soulful side. You have admit "All My Friends" is a masterpiece of the 2000's.
  76. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another amazing album from LCD, "North American Scum" and "All My Friends" are stand outs, "Sound of Silver", not so much. Thankfully it's only one track that's less focused than the rest, and even said track has more to it than most. Buy Sound of Silve. Expand
  77. May 12, 2011
    9
    i loved it. 2 great songs wer on this album. someone great and get innocuous those are the highlights of the album to me. i love how they incorporated funk with electronica and dance music.
  78. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    9
    LCD Soundsystem's Sound of Silver grows on you whether you want it to or not. The first time I listened to it I was confused and wondered if had any place in modern music, with all the musical concepts seeming a bit dated. I was wrong. "Someone Great," "All My Friends," and "New York, I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down" have staying power. The record is so irresistibly strange that youLCD Soundsystem's Sound of Silver grows on you whether you want it to or not. The first time I listened to it I was confused and wondered if had any place in modern music, with all the musical concepts seeming a bit dated. I was wrong. "Someone Great," "All My Friends," and "New York, I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down" have staying power. The record is so irresistibly strange that you don't really know what hits you. Expand
  79. Dec 13, 2015
    8
    LCD Soundsystem, the ultimate hipster band, are a great crossover act. With a fusion of rock and EDM, they have a sound that is irresistible. "Sound of Silver" continues where there eponymous debut leaves off. Starting with the rhythmic "Get Innocuous", it's almost 2 minutes before we hear something other than a percussion instrument in the mix. The track works itself into a hypnoticLCD Soundsystem, the ultimate hipster band, are a great crossover act. With a fusion of rock and EDM, they have a sound that is irresistible. "Sound of Silver" continues where there eponymous debut leaves off. Starting with the rhythmic "Get Innocuous", it's almost 2 minutes before we hear something other than a percussion instrument in the mix. The track works itself into a hypnotic groove and for a while you wonder if this record is going to be an exclusively dance music affair. "Time to Get Away" is more understated and moves away from EDM maelstrom of the opening track. It's reminiscent of Talking Heads at times and this is always a good thing. Next we have one of the bands biggest hits, "North American Scum", a track which is an ideal microcosm of the bands sound - pop, rock and the coolest elements of dance music. "Someone Great" is deservedly put at the centre of the album - a real centrepiece track that builds gradually towards a feeling of elation before winding itself down again. One of the bands best tracks and worth the entry fee alone to hear. "All My Friends" is a similar builder, over 7 minutes long, we start with a pounding piano with distorted guitars gradually making their way into the mix. "Us Vs Them" is one of the few disappointing moments on the record. Clocking in at over 8 minutes, this is the only time I can accuse James Murphy of self indulgence. "Watch the Tapes" gets things back on track with it's urgency and immediacy before the album's title track, an ode to 80's dance. The likes of Depeche Mode and New Order are written all over this one. "New York I Love You But You'r Bringing Me Down" closes proceedings and is one of the finest endings to an album your likely to hear. Lou Reed would have been proud of this one, with Murphy at his lyrical finest. As soon as it finishes you just want to hit play again. A pleasure of an album. Expand
  80. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I f@#$ing love this album!!! This is my best album of all time. Awesome dance tunes, intelligent lyrics, incredible ending. James Murphy is my idol and inspiration, as well as Pat Mahoney, and his incredible technique and endurance in his drums. That's why I am Silver Man here!!!
  81. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Dance-Punk at it's finest. That is what James Murphy and DFA Records have been doing for 10 years now. Taking all the best from Human League (Someone Great), Talking Heads (Watch the Tapes) and Elton John (New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down) LCD Soundystem gives it a modern lick with dry drums, Electro house synths and a metric of cowbell. Other influences from more modernDance-Punk at it's finest. That is what James Murphy and DFA Records have been doing for 10 years now. Taking all the best from Human League (Someone Great), Talking Heads (Watch the Tapes) and Elton John (New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down) LCD Soundystem gives it a modern lick with dry drums, Electro house synths and a metric of cowbell. Other influences from more modern bands like the Strokes and the Killers are present. (All My Friends is pretty much a danceable Mr.Brightside) Not only is Murphy's sense of rhythm spectacular, his lyrics are intelligent, clever and funny. If you love Indie Rock, punk, or house music, this album will take all of the best things of it into one perfect package. Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  2. Under The Radar
    90
    A big, fun, and passionate record that sounds enormous. [#16, p.92]
  3. Urb
    100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]