Standing at the Sky's Edge

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2012
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Magnet
    Oct 1, 2012
    60
    It's difficult to accept him as an angry rocker. He's so great as a lovelorn crooner - heard here on "Seek It," one of the album's few moments of tenderness - that it's hard not to be nostalgic for the old Hawley. [No.91, p.55]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Hawley wields his guitar with fresh zeal, unfurling long, turbulent solos while his chocolatey baritone is less Roy Orbison, more Mark Lanegan. But the songwriting lags behind the sound. [Jun 2012, p.104]
  3. 60
    Hawley's grasp of psychedelia is probably closer to the (latterday) Verve's than it is to, say, Animal Collective's.
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    51
    Sky's Edge has some of the old Hawley magic in the form of "The Wood Collier's Grave"... But for the most part, it's an unwelcome return to a less distinguished period in Hawley's career, back before he knew how to make more beguiling music than this.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    50
    Standing at the Sky's Edge is Hawley's first major misstep.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 16, 2012
    5
    In short it's Richard goes psychedelic. not a bad listen but i can't help find it a little boring. His poorest effort in a while. I'mIn short it's Richard goes psychedelic. not a bad listen but i can't help find it a little boring. His poorest effort in a while. I'm disappointed. Hopefully he can come good with the next album. Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    It's an album that's generally a little patchy for me. With moments like 'Seek It' and 'Don't Stare at the Sun' feeling a little weaker andIt's an album that's generally a little patchy for me. With moments like 'Seek It' and 'Don't Stare at the Sun' feeling a little weaker and simultaneously destructive of the whole atmosphere of the album. I do like some of the songs conceptually, like for the title track and also Time Will Bring You Winter, the latter being the strongest track on the album for me, with Down in the Woods and concluding track Before. Otherwise however, Standing at the Sky's Edge feels more a stop-gap in Hawley's career of emotional, and admittedly lovely music for which he is known rather than an album that can count as a 'step forward'. Lover's of this album may be disappointed by Hawley's back catalog, while lovers of his back catalog may not be as entirely keen on this new one. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    After a series of truly beautiful albums, RH returns here having taken a sharp turn in direction with probably his most psychedelic record.After a series of truly beautiful albums, RH returns here having taken a sharp turn in direction with probably his most psychedelic record. It's got what sounds like layers of dark, swirling guitars. The music is distorted but the unmistakable voice is still there above it all. For the most part, the songs are quite strong but for me, there are noticably fewer moments of genius that were to be found at his previous efforts. Still pretty good though. Full Review »