Stars Of CCTV

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Stars Of CCTV Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The English indie rockers garnered a lot of attention with this debut album, which combines elements of ska, dance and punk.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. "Stars of CCTV" is that rare British import that lives up to the advance billing.
  2. Archer and friends deserve praise for making an album so rooted in its locale so appealing to a wider audience due to the never-ending amount of catchy hooks and melodies on display on Stars Of CCTV.
  3. It possesses that raw energy that was present in two other exciting debuts, Is This It? by The Strokes and Definitely Maybe by Oasis.
  4. 70
    The likes of "Hard To Beat" and "Cash Machine" jack not just the offbeat skank and dubby bass of The Specials but some of their creeping dread and downbeat humanity as well. [Aug 2005, p.92]
  5. Exciting, catchy and highly promising.
  6. Musically there's nothing on 'Stars of CCTV' that stands out as particularly innovative or imaginative[;] it's above average modern indie fare made with gusto by people who want to make records that sound like the records they like: The Clash, The Specials, The Verve and a bunch of other bygone Britpoppers.
  7. 40
    A steely-eyed desperation to succeed is transparent all through Hard-Fi's debut. [Aug 2005, p.112]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. EdwardM
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Probably the most energetic album I've heard in the last 5 years. It takes a few listens to fully appreciate, but after that you'll Probably the most energetic album I've heard in the last 5 years. It takes a few listens to fully appreciate, but after that you'll be hooked. Expand
  2. ancag
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    best debut album in recent memory, way better than artic monkeys.
  3. TrekD
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Awesome, addictive & catchy. One of the best albums of 06.
  4. Darren
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    Very listenable. Not earth-shattering, but they show great range and fantastic promise for the future.
  5. ElizabethP
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    I am appalled by the low reviews! There are no bad songs although there are a few average ones. I don't see how anyone cannot love this I am appalled by the low reviews! There are no bad songs although there are a few average ones. I don't see how anyone cannot love this album. I haven't heard such stellar hooks in a long time. Hands down "Tied Up Too Tight" is the best song on the album. "Tied Up Too Tight" sounds like something the Arcade Fire would sing, but with more of a darker edge. I HIGHLY recommend this album! Expand
  6. andrewt
    Mar 25, 2006
    8
    A good album,just too much like the Bloc Party, or if you were to buy Hard Fi first, the Bloc Party would be too much like Hard Fi. You A good album,just too much like the Bloc Party, or if you were to buy Hard Fi first, the Bloc Party would be too much like Hard Fi. You should only buy one of the two... "We need the next "big different band"". Expand
  7. Chris
    Mar 18, 2006
    1
    Truly awful. This is rife with cliché, overblown bombast and trite "eclecticism". On top of that, some of the worst lyrics I have Truly awful. This is rife with cliché, overblown bombast and trite "eclecticism". On top of that, some of the worst lyrics I have heard recently - "Can you feel it? Rocking the city, Ah yeah, straight out of nowhere-ness, Like a fist, can't resist you" - I mean come on, nowhereness! Expand

See all 36 User Reviews