Start the Revolution Without Me Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Nick Hodgson, Andrew White, Ricky Wilson
  • Summary: Fans were allowed to customize a 10-track album from a list of 20 songs when it was first released in the UK under the name The Future Is Medieval. The US album's tracklisting has a new name with four different tracks from the band-selected album released in the UK.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    [The album presents a] well-formed, poppy and updated take on their post-punk and new-wave heroes. [No. 85, p. 56]
  2. The version the band have made is still a solid, if not rather good, Kaiser Chiefs album. [Review of UK release The Future Is Medieval]
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    they've upped their creative ante somewhat, a number of these songs (assuming you pick the 'right' ones) coming across as more measured and mature, and a heck of a lot gloomier, than the upbeat bounce-alongs of old. [Review of UK release The Future Is Medieval]
  4. Gimmicks aside, any version of TFIM with a core of "Little Shocks", "Start with Nothing", "When all is Quiet", "Man on Mars" and "Heard it Break" won't go far wrong. [Review of UK release The Future Is Medieval]
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    Alternately suffers and benefits from "too many cooks" syndrome. [March 2012, p.77]
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    Two songs aren't enough to prop up this Revolution.
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    It is, quite frankly, tedious and utterly un-inspiring, lacking any serious ability to convey the emotive forces which I would hope drove the song writing processes. [Review of UK release The Future Is Medieval]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 14, 2012
    Great! Fantastic! it is you may look at me funny but it's solely due to the fact they have recaptured what made Employment great getting the Keyboard right not abandoning it like in Off With There Heads and Yours Truly Angry Mob and not over doing it like The Future is Medieval and all the new tracks are amazing. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    In Start the Revolution Without Me, Kaiser Chiefs have thrown out most of the punk angst (song Problem Solved aside) in favor of a retro sound and direction. It is vintage 80s to be sure with many sounds similar to Depeche Mode (Can't Mind My Own Business is right out of DMs catalogue). Other influences are Duran Duran, Joe Jackson and Thompson Twins. Well done, glad Kaiser Chiefs did not just re-hash their old material. Critics aside, this album is pretty cool. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    Towards "Start the Revolution Without Me" by Kaiser Chiefs man could have high expectations, however album not fully met these. All the songs are decent piece of indie rock as we know from group's past accomplishments - and this is really a major problem because the material does not surprise the listener with something new. Nevertheless, songs like "Kinda Girl You Are" and "Problem Solved" stand out amongst others. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    Meh. Look toward Employment for the Chief's peak. Start the revolution with out me is more of the same sound sans brilliance. While the KCs still have what they always did as far as 80s pop rock, there is nothing shocking here. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    This is a good CD, but I feel something strange when I hear this CD, I know that Kaiser Chiefs is a great band, but this CD is some strange for me. Start the Revolution Without Me is good. Expand