Stripped - Christina Aguilera
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 298

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Christina's best album. Dirrty was ot, Beautiful made me cry, and Fighter made me stronger. There's one album that comes albong that you can really relate with and "Stripped" is the one I relate to.....Such a good album
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums of the decade. Every single song is strictly personal and this album saved her from doing drugs or ending up like Lindsay Lohan. I bet this is Christina's favourite album, aswell!
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This is definitely Christina's best album. I don't get why give a 55 out of 100 to it. This album is very personal and shows every side of a person. Dirrty is a very modern pop track that makes you wanna dance in a hot way. Beautiful is one of the best ballads ever written. In a few words: the "5-octaves fighter" did her best in this album.
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Simply one of the best albums you can mix Pop, Soul, R & B, Rock and Gospel in its content. Christina Aguilera in it tries to convey their emotions, feelings and emotions passed through the letters, and close by the way. Finally, the second biggest album of Christina Aguilera - The Voice aka.
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This album was so underrated by the critics. It's honestly one of the greatest pop records of the past decade. I love every single song on it and the interludes are amazing as well! Congratulations on such a stunning album, Christina!
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums. I love her. She is amazing. I never heard something that compares. this is not an album more. You need to heard it. You must have it
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!!Nice!!! Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    While "B2B" is Christina's best album, it is "Stripped" that made her a real artist. It's main plan was to destroy the girl-next-door image that was created while promoting her debute LP. It has definitely worked. It is also more diversified than her all-pop previous albums. There's rock ("Fighter", "Soar"), R&B ("Cruz", "Loving Me 4 Me"), latin ("Infatuation"), soul ("Walk Away",While "B2B" is Christina's best album, it is "Stripped" that made her a real artist. It's main plan was to destroy the girl-next-door image that was created while promoting her debute LP. It has definitely worked. It is also more diversified than her all-pop previous albums. There's rock ("Fighter", "Soar"), R&B ("Cruz", "Loving Me 4 Me"), latin ("Infatuation"), soul ("Walk Away", "Impossible"), amazing torch ballads ("Beautiful", "The Voice Within"), country ("Keep On Singin' My Song") and even some hip hop ("Can't Hold Us Down" and "Dirrty"). But the best point on the album is a breathtaking acoustic ballad "I'm OK" speaking of her childhood, which definitely wasn't the best time in her life. The best time in her life has started when she released "Stripped" and became one of the biggest R&B stars nowadays.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  9. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    My favorite album ever!!! Xtina made such an emotional record and her voice is very strong and powerfull!! 'beautiful' is the ballad of the decade!!! The lyrics are very personal. my favorite song from it is 'the voice within' it's sooo beautiful, xtina is amazing!!!
  10. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    The best album that i've ever heard. Christina have such an amazing voice and those lyrics are fantastic! A true artist. The Voice Within, Fighter and Soar are the best songs in this. It also have "Beautiful", one of the most popular songs of the decade. Christina won a Grammy with this album.
  11. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Esse é o tipo de álbum em que cada faixa tem uma personalidade e função, as escolhas de singles foram fantásticas, ao mesmo tempo que alguém está escutando músicas como Beautiful e se aceitando depois ela escuta Dirrty e toma coragem, Christina tem que voltar logo com músicas como essas
  12. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stripped was amazing, it has a perfect length whit 20 tracks. Stripped gives variety, from rock to hip hop, pop and a little soul. Songs that stands out, Beautiful, Fighter, Impossible, Walk Away, Dirty, i can say almost every track is amazing. Expand
  13. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    One of the best albums of all time, in my opinion. Beautiful transition from the Britney-wannabe to the vocal powerhouse, ready to bust your head open with vocals. I actually have a 10 (a mark I rarely give) to 7 out of the 16 songs, and 9,5 to additional 3. The only songs that bring down the total mark to 8,78 are the lead single "Dirrty", which is messy and all over the place and lacksOne of the best albums of all time, in my opinion. Beautiful transition from the Britney-wannabe to the vocal powerhouse, ready to bust your head open with vocals. I actually have a 10 (a mark I rarely give) to 7 out of the 16 songs, and 9,5 to additional 3. The only songs that bring down the total mark to 8,78 are the lead single "Dirrty", which is messy and all over the place and lacks any power whatsoever, as well as "Loving Me 4 Me", which is an unsuccessful try to channel Mariah's sensual R'nB ballads. However, empowering songs like "Fighter", "Can't Hold Us Down", "Cruz", as well as the all-time-best equality anthem "Beautiful", amazingly touching and moving songs like "Walk Away", "Underappreciated", "Make Over", and "I'm OK" make up for them and turn this album in a real pop masterpiece! Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    When a singer changes completely visual, media will always criticize him, will always put their lack of clothing and its sexual content ahead of his musical work, Stripped shows progress Aguilera, leaving music teen pop for Pop and R&B mature, through gospel, soul, hip hop and rock, the album has sensitive, dirty and heartfelt lyrics, the vocal is another strong point, this album can beWhen a singer changes completely visual, media will always criticize him, will always put their lack of clothing and its sexual content ahead of his musical work, Stripped shows progress Aguilera, leaving music teen pop for Pop and R&B mature, through gospel, soul, hip hop and rock, the album has sensitive, dirty and heartfelt lyrics, the vocal is another strong point, this album can be easily compared to Dangerous by Michael Jackson by its fusion of musical genre (Pop/R&B/soul/rock/hip-hop), Aguilera may be a crazy b*tch, but it will not be that will outshine amazing songs like ''Walk Away'', ''Soar'' and ''Beautiful''. Expand
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    i love this album, although i'm not a huge fan of modern pop, this album was great. it's a mature record and a complete turn over from her past efforts. she did a great job with it. someone might say that it's all over the place, but if you watch carefully you'll see that every song is connected with each other and they sure tell an amazing story. she was really stripped down to her core,i love this album, although i'm not a huge fan of modern pop, this album was great. it's a mature record and a complete turn over from her past efforts. she did a great job with it. someone might say that it's all over the place, but if you watch carefully you'll see that every song is connected with each other and they sure tell an amazing story. she was really stripped down to her core, and that deserves respect. "beautiful" is the best song on the album. it's an evergreen, a classic hit, and has a universal message. such a great accomplishment. it's beautifully written, and has a beautiful melody. the name says everything. "beautiful" is beautiful! this is christina's best work. it's my only favorite pop album. Expand
  16. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    In my opinion, an excellent album, diverse, ranging from R & B "Dirrty" the Rock "Fighter", with great vocals, great ballads, the album never becomes cloying, and she shows emotion like no other performer.
  17. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although Stripped is all over the place, it delivers the raw emotion and soul that Ms. Aguilera's voice is best suited to. Not only does it showcase her powerful and dynamic voice, but also everything that she's experienced so far. Therefore, I believe that this album is one of the best albums in the decade. Expand
  18. May 26, 2011
    7
    A great album from my childhood. Though having grown up its lost some of it sheen.
  19. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    One of her best work. Its my favourite album from her. My favourite tracks are Fighter and Beautiful.
  20. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    Let's face it, this was kind of the making of Christina, she left the Britney genre behind and tried to discover herself as an artist, which, to be fair, considering the album is a mix of all genres she actually almost did. This records stories might not make a whole lot of sense, even through the idea of the album was to tell you all about "Christina" but what does make sense is sheLet's face it, this was kind of the making of Christina, she left the Britney genre behind and tried to discover herself as an artist, which, to be fair, considering the album is a mix of all genres she actually almost did. This records stories might not make a whole lot of sense, even through the idea of the album was to tell you all about "Christina" but what does make sense is she really let her talent ooze throughout each and every track. Her voice is simply unstoppable and prooved to fans and critics alike why she became famous in the first place, even if her fame is sometimes an imitation. Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    It is true she has probably the sexiest videos out there but when I listen to a record I/'m not looking at a video of the songs....She has a good to very good voice but as someone who is a fan of synthesizers I am surprised at the general absence of them on her records-you maybe hear a synth bass here and there and a bit of chording coloration here and there also-but even though she isIt is true she has probably the sexiest videos out there but when I listen to a record I/'m not looking at a video of the songs....She has a good to very good voice but as someone who is a fan of synthesizers I am surprised at the general absence of them on her records-you maybe hear a synth bass here and there and a bit of chording coloration here and there also-but even though she is making music in the dance vein more or less she has always veered away from including the spacey Ibiza synth sound in her music-She will always be liked probably no matter what she does-but I think her music cold be more trance and more textured-basic music doesn't have a long shelf life-it just gets listened to them put away probably for months at a time. Could be better. The song Beautiful was a seven to an eight- but basically it is a six album wise. Expand
  22. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    "Make Over" and the song with Lil' Kim stand out to me."Make Over" remains one of my favorite Christina songs, and the collab with Lil Kim is up there too. But other than those two songs, the album is pretty bad.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. In attempting to show all of the things she has been doing since we heard her last, Aguilera lessens the impact of the better songs on the record. Instead, in between ten to twelve mediocre/good songs, we have eight to ten songs that would be better served as B-sides.
  2. Forget all you know about Christina Aguilera. She's discovered sex, rebellion, rock'n'roll and, at one amazing instant, drum'n'bass.
  3. With its lack of gimmickry and a surplus of sweet Seventies soul, Stripped is almost an album for grown-ups.