• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2011
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 83
    Clarkson's older-better-tougher-smarter album.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Certainly, part of the variety is down to the multitude of producers and writers on Stronger, but the album's success is entirely due to Kelly Clarkson, whose personality and professionalism turns it into her best album since her Breakaway breakthrough in 2004.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    Essentially everything here involves Ms. Clarkson's clobbering her subject while getting clobbered with guitars.
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    With the exception of the obvious electronic manipulation used on "Mr. Know It All," Clarkson's performances on Stronger are more consistently lived-in and evocative than on any of her previous efforts.
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    She's not Katy Perry, not yet Carrie Underwood. But look out.
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    On her fifth album she mercifully avoids the monotonous dance-pop trend in favour of a timeless pop-rock sound that occasionally flirts with the dance floor.
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    As on her past albums, not all the songs on Stronger are worthy of what Clarkson brings to them vocally.
  8. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    Clarkson remains a slightly wearying one-note artist--she's a wounded lover, bellowing her pain and scorching the earth. But wow--that voice.
  9. Nov 1, 2011
    50
    The album suffers from a heavily produced electro-sheen, and ends up feeling more manufactured than magical.
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    40
    So while Stronger has its redeeming moments, they mostly come when Clarkson does what she is renowned for doing and has already done better. It is a little too heavy on the balladry and serious tones, which are the same things that doomed her other two slightly lesser received albums.
  11. 20
    Despite the references to Nietzsche and Einstein, which suggest a cachet Stronger doesn't deserve, this is simply an overlong string of standard putdown R&B and bogus emotional turmoil, the songs blitzed with generic power-ballad overkill.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    wasn't expecting nothing more than a boring album but when i listened the whole album (including the bonus tracks) i'm really shocked for thewasn't expecting nothing more than a boring album but when i listened the whole album (including the bonus tracks) i'm really shocked for the perfection of the album, one of the best efforts this year...so far...!!! i'm still thinking that Ms. Clarkson deserve more recognition!! this is a perfect pop album, vocally she is in her best moment...seriously a great production and amazing vocally!!! her best album since Breakaway!!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    By far my favorite album from Kelly Clarkson. I completely disagree with that tin eared elitist, Pop music hater from The Independent, AndyBy far my favorite album from Kelly Clarkson. I completely disagree with that tin eared elitist, Pop music hater from The Independent, Andy Gill. From his description of the music contained on the album it's quite obvious that he didn't even listen to it. It's full of Pop/rock with a SLIGHT dash of R&B on 2 POP songs, not what he described as " an overlong string of standard putdown R&B and bogus emotional turmoil, the songs blitzed with generic power-ballad overkill."
    It is NOT an R&B album AT ALL and there are no power-ballads on the album. He's an ass that brought this score down and should never be allowed to rate or review any other Pop albums ever again.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Exactly what I expected and more, this is Clarkson's best to date. My personal favorite out of the gate is "Let Me Down," which seemed to flyExactly what I expected and more, this is Clarkson's best to date. My personal favorite out of the gate is "Let Me Down," which seemed to fly under the radar with other fans. Full Review »