• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Stronger Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first American Idol winner returns with her fifth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 83
    Clarkson's older-better-tougher-smarter album.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Certainly, part of the variety is down to the multitude of producers and writers on Stronger, but the album's success is entirely due to Kelly Clarkson, whose personality and professionalism turns it into her best album since her Breakaway breakthrough in 2004.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    Essentially everything here involves Ms. Clarkson's clobbering her subject while getting clobbered with guitars.
  4. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    Clarkson remains a slightly wearying one-note artist--she's a wounded lover, bellowing her pain and scorching the earth. But wow--that voice.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    On her fifth album she mercifully avoids the monotonous dance-pop trend in favour of a timeless pop-rock sound that occasionally flirts with the dance floor.
  6. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    As on her past albums, not all the songs on Stronger are worthy of what Clarkson brings to them vocally.
  7. 20
    Despite the references to Nietzsche and Einstein, which suggest a cachet Stronger doesn't deserve, this is simply an overlong string of standard putdown R&B and bogus emotional turmoil, the songs blitzed with generic power-ballad overkill.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    wasn't expecting nothing more than a boring album but when i listened the whole album (including the bonus tracks) i'm really shocked for thewasn't expecting nothing more than a boring album but when i listened the whole album (including the bonus tracks) i'm really shocked for the perfection of the album, one of the best efforts this year...so far...!!! i'm still thinking that Ms. Clarkson deserve more recognition!! this is a perfect pop album, vocally she is in her best moment...seriously a great production and amazing vocally!!! her best album since Breakaway!!! Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Kelly returns with a mature-sounding album whilst still maintaining her fun anthemic element. The album has aspects of "classic pop rockKelly returns with a mature-sounding album whilst still maintaining her fun anthemic element. The album has aspects of "classic pop rock Kelly" such as Let Me Down, mixed with amazing dance-anthems such as Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You). Highlights include the haunting and explosive Dark Side and the sassy Mr Know It All. Fans will not be disappointed! Grammy worthy and one of the best albums released in 2011. A MUST LISTEN for all. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the best she has come out with in awhile, much better then her previous album. Congrats Kelly I hope you can get a good 80Honestly one of the best she has come out with in awhile, much better then her previous album. Congrats Kelly I hope you can get a good 80 score on here. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a perfect work, congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!! Kelly Clarkson is amazing, i love she and i love your work too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! your voice is perfect... Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    What a great album, Kelly delivers vocally when she needs and i see a lot of hits in here but without losing the quality. I can't even giveWhat a great album, Kelly delivers vocally when she needs and i see a lot of hits in here but without losing the quality. I can't even give any highlight because all of album (including the bonus tracks) are great. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Her Smarter Album..
    Still Lacks Any Unique Sound Whatsoever
    The Singles Off The Album Are Great Though
    Her Best Album But Not Great...
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    1
    What a boring collection of bland, generic, and sleepy pop music. There's no diversity whatsoever and the entire album sounds like one long,What a boring collection of bland, generic, and sleepy pop music. There's no diversity whatsoever and the entire album sounds like one long, dragging song. Everything sounds the same. Only song that is probably tolerable is "Mr. Know It All," which also is kind of bland and typical Kelly Clarkson. Overall very disappointed. Seems like she'll never top "Breakaway" Expand

See all 27 User Reviews