• Record Label: Nettwerk
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Rouse sounds perfectly at ease, as if he were just playing for fun with no tapes rolling.
  2. Packing both studio polish and meandering melodies makes for a largely safe yet inconvenient marriage.
  3. Subtítulo... is not without its charms, but it borders on easy listening at times.
  4. [Rouse] adds some new elements to his breezy brand of hipster soft rock. [24 Mar 2006, p.70]
  5. 80
    Josh conjures a light, affectless mood which quietly promises happiness without ever sliding into schmaltz. [May 2006, p.100]
  6. With Subtitulo, Josh Rouse may just prove to be the missing link between Jack Johnson and Conor Oberst.
  7. Subtitulo seems slight at first listen, but the songs eventually marry, suggesting the progression from a dead end to a new start. [Apr/May 2006, p.103]
  8. At only 33 minutes, Subtítulo doesn't leave Rouse, longtime producer Brad Jones, and their small band much time to recover from such miscues.
  9. A move to [Spain] has imbued Rouse's songs with sunshine. [May 2006, p.130]
  10. Subtitulo certainly appears to be an accurate representation of where Josh Rouse is in his life: comfortable, confident, and beneath-the-radar contented. Good for him; bad for fans of Josh Rouse albums brimming over with great hooks.
  11. Some of Subtítulo's 10 tracks float from relaxed to unengaging, and the brief run time makes it feel even more like a transitional album, but the best songs make up for the drift.
  12. 40
    Connoisseurs of 1972 will be forced to conclude the poor boy's got sunstroke. [May 2006, p.119]
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. SarahB
    Jun 20, 2006
    8
    I really enjoy this album. Every year I have a few albums that become my summertime music; smooth, light, well written, sunny music. So I really enjoy this album. Every year I have a few albums that become my summertime music; smooth, light, well written, sunny music. So it's fitting that he includes the song "summertime" on this album! Written in Spain, this album is laced with the laid back feel Spain is all about. Get this album for car rides and beach time. Full Review »
  2. Cables
    Apr 18, 2006
    7
    What's with all the knocks on 1972? That was by far his best work and in my opinion one of the most overlooked albums of the last 10 What's with all the knocks on 1972? That was by far his best work and in my opinion one of the most overlooked albums of the last 10 years. Anywho, this album is better than Nashville, but nowhere near the consistency or brilliance of 1972. Full Review »
  3. BrandonH
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    Maybe it's because I haven't listened to much of Rouse's previous work, but I seem to enjoy Subtítulo more than most Maybe it's because I haven't listened to much of Rouse's previous work, but I seem to enjoy Subtítulo more than most people. It's warm and soft-spoken and an absolute joy to listen to when you're feeling good about things. Full Review »