Super Collider - Megadeth
Super Collider Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 80
    It's the culmination of four years during which Megadeth have continuously raised their game. [Jul 2013, p.92]
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    50
    Super Collider is so mired in midtempo drudgery and familiar hard rock (not thrash) tropes that it never really connects.
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    50
    One possible surprise is how little of Super Collider actually thrashes.
  4. Jun 13, 2013
    40
    While there's nothing abhorrent about this album, it's so unobtrusive that it's practically not there, just one more forgettable release from a guy we're all secretly rooting for.
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    40
    It ditches classic thrash for bland classic rock. [Aug 2013, p.96]
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    40
    Most of Super Collider feels half-hearted and rushed. [1 Jun 2013, p53]
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    20
    It is Countdown to Extinction taken to its most nightmarish conclusions.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I had the pleasure twice. The album is a joy long forgotten.
    The lyrics are quite personal and sad, pessimistic,I'd say.
    Some lines are
    pretty stupid for the sake of "anthemness".I can live with that.
    Smart arrangements,but... no,musically this ain't Megadeth anymore,
    even with all those hook choruses in place.
    There are no syncopated rythms,minimum of killing soloing, pretty mid-tempo, riffing is rare, and actually it appears as if the once cohesive signature sound has split into all the cool bands that ever influenced the guys-Pantera,for instance,or Led Zeppelin, courtesy of whose "In the light" now we have the title track of Super Collider.Vocally Dave often resembles Alice Cooper here.Modern Alice-even musically.
    So it is only natural that the album is closed by a Thin Lizzy cover. Thanks guys!!!
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    Super Collider is a very mature work from Mustaine & Co. Of course this is not a record for headbanging but it has very powerful songs. In my opinion the best work of Megadeth in years. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Supercollider is a strong album with obvious signs of classic influences, especially Led Zeppelin. It is not a particularly fast album when compared to some in the Megadeth catalog, but is filled with good hooks, many great riffs, and versatile musicianship which transcends genres at times. It is Megadeth and it is Metal Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    5
    One thing I try hard not to do when I'm reviewing an album is let the general consensus affect my own. And between the dismal critic average & the fact that it's basically this year's butt of the joke in the metal community, that was kinda hard to do for this. Of course this reception all started when the title track from this album dropped. Between the slick production, simplistic chord structure & overall poppiness, it was pretty easy to tell why people expecting another Rust in Peace wouldn't be a fan of this track. Personally, while the lyrics are kinda stupid & the vocal effects in the verses aren't exactly necessary, I found it hard to not enjoy this song mostly because of how insanely catchy it is. Call it a guilty pleasure I guess. As for the album, I don't think it's the worst thing since AIDS like seemingly everyone else does, but there are definitely some major problems. Sure there are some undeniable glaring flaws, but there's at least enough redeemable elements here & there to make it not a total waste of time.

    Right off the bat my expectations shot to the ceiling with “Kingmaker”. Between the pummeling thrash metal riffs & poignant social commentary-based lyrics about hedonism & society's glorification of & dependence on drugs, all while staying melodically memorable, it's everything that you could wish for in a 2013 Megadeth song. In fact the song was so good that throughout the rest of the first listen I thought it was a decent enough album. Then I began to listen closely to the lyrics & my opinion started plummeting... FAST. This has to be lyrically one of the worst metal albums I've ever heard. The various lyrical approaches taken on this album are met with mixed results at say the least. It's known that Dave Mustaine has a talent for sociopolitical lyrical messages. But for every hit like “Kingmaker” or “Beginning of Sorrow”, which potently details the endless cycle of teenage pregnancy to ill-raised delinquent children (rinse & repeat), there's a big miss like “Off the Edge”, “Dance in the Rain” or bonus track “A House Divided”. These tracks are built around nothing but the most basic of social commentary cliches like “This world's gone crazy”, “cubicle hell for the middle class”, and don't go into any major point outside of “yup, this issue sure does exist” paired with vague anger. “Dance in the Rain” is the most notable of these 3, both because of the laughably bitter & paranoid spoken-word verses & the bizarrely effective David Draiman feature at the end of the song. While the lyrics are at around the same level as Mustaine's part, it's at least musically a lot more interesting, with the song picking up energy at that point to at least give what Draiman is saying some kind of passion.

    The one other track here I'll commend Mustaine for lyrically is “The Blackest Crow”, which is the story of a man dealing with the inevitable end of an infidelity-laced relationship. It's a little odd to hear coming from Mustaine but for what it's worth I think it works well. Plus the folk instrumentation, which is surprisingly well-incorporated with the heavy guitars, adds some much-needed variety to the album musically & sonically. But of course there are a lot of tracks here where I'm absolutely baffled that the lyrics went past Mustaine's rough-draft notebook. “Burn!” tries way too hard to be some angsty biker anthem & just falls flat on its face. Then there's “Don't Turn Your Back...”, which starts with a cool Latin-flavored intro solo immediately wasted by subsequent lyrics about “betrayal” that sound like they came straight out of a teenage girl's vaguely angry post-breakup Facebook statuses. But the most mind-boggling moment is the bonus track “All I Want”. Here the band devolves into in a way that, combined with Mustaine's voice, becomes unintentionally hilarious & gets into so-bad-it's-good territory. Speaking of his voice, on previous albums, though a bit polarizing, Mustaine's uniquely nasally voice gave the songs a distinct sense of wit & tongue-in-cheek snark that was one of Megadeth's most appealing traits. Whereas now on most tracks on Super Collider he basically sounds like a constipated version of Taz from Looney Tunes. He might do a serviceable job on the tracks I've highly praised, but any attempt he makes to recreate that same neurotic spoken-word edge doesn't have nearly the same impact.

    Both Mustaine & Broderick have always been great guitarists & that hasn't changed one bit, with some tracks including the two performing an epic guitar duet in the solo. And throughout there are exceptional basslines that create a nice groove that makes even the worst tracks here pleasant to hear if you don't pay attention to what's being said. Also the cover of the Thin Lizzy's “Cold Sweat” is pretty well-executed. Overall this isn't my biggest disappointment of the year so far, but it's pretty close.

    Score: 59/100
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    Eh, it's better than I expected. Songs like "Kingmaker" and their cover of Thin Lizzy's "Cold Sweat" are good, even their experiment with Southern style music on "The Blackest Crow" worked to a certain to degree but songs like the title track and "Don't Turn Your Back" are among some of the worst Megadeth have ever recorded. Dave's lyrics aren't just what they used to be. Megadeth have had a series of very good albums up until "Super Collider" and I feel that they will have to do a lot better next time out so as not to further alienate their fans. Not their worst album, but far from their best. Very far. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2014
    5
    Risk was one of the worst Megadeth albums, but at least it had a soul. It was written with something in mind.
    Super Collider sounds like a
    lackluster mess of pop-oriented songs mixed with more heavy oriented stuff. It has few good episodes (Kingmaker, Dance In The Rain), but they are not enough to hold the whole record on their back. Also, the song structure is very repetitive and the lyrics are somewhat preachy.
    After such good works like United Abominations, Endgame and in a lesser way even Thirteen, Super Collider is an utter disappointment. It's not metal, it's not hard rock, it's not pop... it's a mess.
    Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    This record makes Risk look like Rust in Peace. This should be destroyed and forgotten. This is like if Aerosmith was nuked, and they all died, and they tried to make a record after, but they were dead so it was complete The title track convinced me to slice my hand off with a machete, but I don't have a machete. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews