User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    Strong singer-songwriter effort that isn't afraid to rock out (Neil Young-style) every once in a while. Well-written and well-played... Props to these guys.
  2. gelrod
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Oldham's voice is not and never will be the most polished which is the point. It suits the classic rock guitar driven Superwolf nearly as well as his old Palace recordings which really should be played on a scratchy old victrola.
  3. jeffb
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Great song writing. best work sense ease down the road.
  4. R.C.Miller
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    one of the most introspective, honest, and frightening recordings I have ever heard. God, sharks, and donkey dicks; what more could one ask?
  5. michaelh
    Mar 8, 2005
    8
    A beautiful record that grows on you like a vine
  6. MattE
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Will's haunting voice and lyrics are as captivating as ever. This coupled with the rolling, complex and fluid guitar work of Matt Sweeney has created an album that is pure, unadulterated brilliance. I'm naming it album of the year...and it's still only February!
  7. HSilloh
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    Hey Hollis, What is it that you don't like about this? I find it a captivating listen. What captivates you?
  8. petaripsic
    Feb 24, 2005
    8
    C'mon Holllis H! Nothing here? You must be kidding. It is not quite like your favorite Micheal Bolton cd. Will is as captivating as ever and the guitar work is excellent; one of his best works. "My Home is the Sea" and "Blood Embrace" are still classics.
  9. stompied
    Feb 27, 2005
    9
    Some of Will's best singing is on this album. The music is simpler in some respects and there are some awkward lyrical moments (as a seagull should and the whole nonsense about the "creature form of superwolf"). Goat and Ram is also completely ridiculous - it belongs in the rocky horror show. having said that, my home is the sea, i gave you and death in the sea are tremendous songs. Some of Will's best singing is on this album. The music is simpler in some respects and there are some awkward lyrical moments (as a seagull should and the whole nonsense about the "creature form of superwolf"). Goat and Ram is also completely ridiculous - it belongs in the rocky horror show. having said that, my home is the sea, i gave you and death in the sea are tremendous songs. I wouldn't be too upset that Hollis hates the album, people either love Will Oldham's music or hate it - that's because he has a unique and distinctive voice. so, i take the strong negative responses to the album as a compliment to the work. you don't see hillary duff engendering this kind of response! Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Superwolf contains some of [Oldham's] most startling work yet.
  2. Soft and subtle, Superwolf is the kind of record that unwinds slowly, and is best enjoyed over multiple listens and, unsurprisingly, many glasses of wine.
  3. With Sweeney on hand, Oldham has kept some of his less appealing musical eccentricities in check -- this is one of his strongest and best-focused works in years.