• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Aug 23, 2005
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Urb
    90
    It all adds up to the effect of watching American Graffiti while plugged into a morphine drip. [Jul/Aug 2005, p.105]
  2. Spin
    83
    Their swirl of guitars and organ is even more densely alluring, but the arrangements let in some welcome light. [Oct 2005, p.137]
  3. Mojo
    80
    Surgery won't catapult the group into the realm of all-time greats, but it's certainly a move in the right direction. [Sep 2005, p.92]
  4. If the fifties rocked this hard, we'd be dead now.
  5. 'Surgery' isn't the unlistenable, depression-fest it's lyrical content threatens it to be. Instead, it's heartfelt message combined with the monstrous sound behind it make it one of the most curiously uplifting records of the year.
  6. A dark carnival for pale shoegazers who burn up when the sun hits their papery skin, Surgery is acid rock cloaked in leather jackets and chains.
  7. Surgery is quite an impressive effort, sporting just the right combination of nods to their influences and carefully balanced instrumental execution.
  8. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    Even when easing off the throttle, The Warlocks find ways to blow your mind. [10 Sep 2005, p.66]
  9. Blender
    70
    Over the top and steadfastly retro, but in a good way. [Dec 2005, p.155]
  10. Somehow, the Warlocks have found the middle ground between the Raveonettes' Wall of Soundesque attack and the Flaming Lips' oddball fixation on love, death and outer space.
  11. Under The Radar
    60
    A thoroughly realized, if singularly fixated, release. [#10, p.107]
  12. No matter how hooky things get, the Warlocks tend to bury each song in the same multi-layered haze of feedback and distortion, as if sheer decibels are the sole element holding everything together.
  13. Many of the tracks are begging to be played live in full force, as most of them, to be sure, sound unfulfilled here on CD.
  14. Occasionally snoozy but always intoxicating.
  15. Seems to be a misguided stab at radio-friendliness.
  16. Q Magazine
    40
    The whole never manages to lift off. [Oct 2005, p.120]
  17. Uncut
    40
    [The Warlocks] have replaced The Velvet Underground and Spacemen 3 with The Jesus And Mary Chain and Spiritualized as the objects of their affections, and Surgery is significantly less interesting as a result. [Oct 2005, p.110]
  18. Magnet
    20
    A dull collection of dreary drone-rock songs. [#69, p.111]
  19. A mopey bunch of trite sap O.D.-type tales almost as unstomachable as the band's former crapothecary hymns.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. brian
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Pitchfork...as relative these days as...the Animal Collective...overeducated white kids and their fear of primal impulses
  2. RadCompanyDotNet
    Oct 27, 2005
    2
    What has seven brains and not one original idea? The Warlocks. I'm calling bullsh!t on these rock and roll posuers. The only people this What has seven brains and not one original idea? The Warlocks. I'm calling bullsh!t on these rock and roll posuers. The only people this might impress is listeners who have yet to discover their influences. Even beyond the mockery, the songwriting and performance is limp. Strip away the haze of the imagery and haze and your left with a bunch of a$$holes. Full Review »
  3. builttokill
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    I'm sorry. Did I miss something? I would just like to know what radio station would play any of these songs besides maybe one or two DJs I'm sorry. Did I miss something? I would just like to know what radio station would play any of these songs besides maybe one or two DJs that happen to come across them. If I could give this album a 9.9 I would. It really makes me laugh when music critics listen to albums once that should be listened to at least 5 times before writing a review as this one should. It doesn't matter if this album is original or not. This is the most dense, artistic album i've heard in maybe a year. Full Review »