• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2011
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    100
    It's a colossus of an album, the product of a band that was thinking huge, pushing itself to its limits, and devoted to breaking open its own understanding of what rock music could be.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    100
    Invoking and evoking just about all the spontaneity and scariness that you'd want from rock'n'roll, Tago Mago can offer experiences as spellbinding as the sequence that originally comprised side one ("Paperhouse", "Mushroom", "Oh Yeah"), or can be so extreme that you feel yourself under attack by maniacs.
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    100
    Arguably the most influential rock album ever recorded... everyone that matters – and many who don't – between Bowie and Radiohead cites it as an influence.
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    100
    Collective, improvisational, Krautrock gigantism for inner space odysseys.
  5. Nov 30, 2011
    100
    Can released not merely one of the best Krautrock albums of all time, but one of the best albums ever, period.
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    95
    Four decades on, and there has yet to be anything that hits on this kind of organic, brain-melting, structured psychosis.
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    90
    After four decades, the album's concentrated blend of brutalism and intricacy, fluidity and fracture, sound as uncompromising as ever. [Nov 2011, p.69]
  8. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    To listen to the pioneering Tago Mago in 2011 is to hear the blueprint for much of the leftfield music of the past 40 years, and this reissue will hopefully inspire further invention for decades to come.
  9. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Can was light years ahead of their time, and the ideas they present in Tago Mago and sequential albums are still incomprehensible even in today's eclectic and varied music scene.
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    90
    When it comes to Kosmische classics, this is an essential. If you don't have this in your record collection, you're doing yourself a massive disservice.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Definitely one of my favorite albums of all time. Probably in my top 10, actually. Can has several incredibleAn absolute masterpiece. Definitely one of my favorite albums of all time. Probably in my top 10, actually. Can has several incredible albums, but this one combines everything I love about them into one wonderful collection. Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This is a landmark album that has influenced whole generations of musicians. I discovered this band five years ago and they became one of myThis is a landmark album that has influenced whole generations of musicians. I discovered this band five years ago and they became one of my all time favourites. Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.

    Heathrow Minicab