Take Care - Drake
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 210

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Rap has never sounded as generic. And trust me, it was pretty bad already. Lyrics on this record are honestly the **** to day, all he does is **** and the few attempts at being sensible fail completely and just sound bland. That people still listen to this crap horrifies me.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    I wanted a rap album and instead got an R&B Album. There are a few tracks I acknowledge as pretty good such as Shot For Me, Over My Dead Body, Lord Knows, The Motto, and Headlines, but most of it is singing, and I wanted a rap album. It shouldn't be classified as rap. Album was average in my opinion.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    Are u Judging this as a Hiphop Album Or A R&B Album?



    Because as a Hiphop Album this is a disgrace to the genre 90 percent of the album is singing last time I checked Hiphop was rapping but even if You look at this as a R&B album its still trash No men should be able to listen to a album talking about saving strippers and hating on another men on top of that the features are horrible
    Nicki minji and the 3 songs with lil wayne are trash Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Artists like this is the reason for a near-dying genre. i can not take listenin to this guy, i gave him a chance w/o bein biased downloaded this album...and every song just made me say wtf is you talking bout...stop crying on every track...some rappers can get away with talking about relationships, pain, struggle, hardships...but this dude crying about girls in every song. smh. this ALBUM FOR THE LADIES! Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this one a lot more than I did. The replay value is slim for me, as I have to be in a certain mood (depressed) to get into the bulk of these songs.

    Drake is starting to feel very one-note to me. He says the same things over and over, just refines the music and words a bit. But the subject matter never changes with this guy. Is it narcissism that causes him to not be able
    to venture onto other topics besides his immediate world? I guess he really meant it when he said "I only care about money & the city that I'm from". That's fine, but why should I care about his money and the city that he's from??? I wouldn't even call this CD a hip-hop CD. It's an R&B CD with hip-hop leanings, really. And it's kinda lifeless. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    I wanted to write a great review about this album. I Purchased "Thank Me Later" and was not impressed. That is because the album contained Drake's version of singing. I'm not going to say that a person that is not really a singer (ie- Lil' Wayne) can't necessarily make a catchy singing track; however, for people to allow Drake to say he is a legitimate singer and to give him high ratings like they don't know what a singer is really concerns me. I believe Drake is very talented as a rapper, but he should leave the singing to someone who can. All that said, even with the "singing" on the album (which even makes Rihanna sound weak), the album has achieved a deep monotone. All of the songs SOUND EXACTLY THE SAME. There is no reason for this with all of the great producers and beat makers out there. I have no problem with music about relationships and heartbreak, but the monotone turns this into mood music. And the 82 positives that he has received on Metacritic so far have to be die hard fans. I think a person who has never heard Drake and listens to this album will surely be disappointed and I sincerely hope that no one paid over $5 for this album. If you did, take it as a life experience and download this kind of crap on a singles basis only. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Pathetic excuse for a record. I gave it multiple chances. The fact that THIS is what's at the apex of popularity tells us that society collectively has a terrible, unrefined taste in music.
  8. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    Quite frankly, I will never understand the hype and praise behind 'Take Care'. It's just another album, plain and simple. Or really, another album with overproduction that is a cross between hip-hop/R&B (woo, how different and original) by an untalented hack who uses autotune to no end that calls himself an artist. Yeah, this is quite an album alright.
  9. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    To be honest the only songs I could really feel myself liking is Headlines and Look What You've Done.

    This album was kind of slow and I didn't like it. I don't like music that bores me and this was pretty damn boring compared to all the great music that I am currently being surrounded with.

    This may have been an okay album if it was 2005, but with all the juicy hip-hop and r & b that
    I am listening to, this seems a bit stale. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    One of the most overrated album of all time, I don't how people can call this "music", a rapper that is more feminine than Nicki Minaj, the best word to describe this "albm" is trash, straight up.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 80
    Considering Take Care is an affecting masterpiece easily on par with his debut, there could be no greater accolade for the genius of this man.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    50
    He's tightened his flow ever so slightly, but the brutal artlessness of his writing and character remains. [Jan 2012, p.69]
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    It's great at times, but far more work than it should be. [Jan 2012, p.127]