User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 257

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Drake has had his auspicious begins with the omnipresent mixtape, So far Gone. The success that catapulted him into stardom. He was initially known for the popular teen show , Degrassi but it wasn't in till his mixtape success and subsequent signing with Young Money, Cash Money that he found his calling. His greatly anticipated debut album Thank Me later was meet with commercial successDrake has had his auspicious begins with the omnipresent mixtape, So far Gone. The success that catapulted him into stardom. He was initially known for the popular teen show , Degrassi but it wasn't in till his mixtape success and subsequent signing with Young Money, Cash Money that he found his calling. His greatly anticipated debut album Thank Me later was meet with commercial success but some what mixed feelings critically. A little over a year later Drake has released his second full length album, Take Care. He has finally found his niche. It is not as a heavy rapper or a trey songz r&b singer. Its a mix of both, the songs on Take Care are sometimes slow but always crisp, almost palpable. its a mastery of music and has to be one of the best album in awhile, not the best rap album but one of the best musical albums in a long, long time. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard. Drake really shows his skills and potential on Take Care. Haters gonna hate because it doesn't have as much rapping as thank me later, but the r&b adds a soothing feel to the album. Personal favorites are Over My Dead Body, Take Care, Headlines, and Lord Knows.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best rap album of the year. It reminds me of Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Take Care is well produced, great songwriting, and a lengthy album, which I like. Good job Drake.
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Take Care is a great album. Drake is extraordinary. I really admire his uniqueness and the way he stands out from other rappers. It's great to see something different in the hip hop world for a change. I like how he has his own unique style and does his own thing instead of just jumping on the bandwagon of rappers that just brag about their money, cars, clothes, jewelry, and the groupiesTake Care is a great album. Drake is extraordinary. I really admire his uniqueness and the way he stands out from other rappers. It's great to see something different in the hip hop world for a change. I like how he has his own unique style and does his own thing instead of just jumping on the bandwagon of rappers that just brag about their money, cars, clothes, jewelry, and the groupies that grovel before them; or sing about selling drugs or being violent; in all their songs. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Upon my first listening of Drake's album, I honestly did not like it that much. It was a really new sound that I wasn't used to. But after listening to it again, I realized the innovative quality it possessed. All of the beats corresponded perfectly with Drake's half-singing half-rapping style. Although a lot ofs songs on this album are him singing, it is obvious that he made songs whichUpon my first listening of Drake's album, I honestly did not like it that much. It was a really new sound that I wasn't used to. But after listening to it again, I realized the innovative quality it possessed. All of the beats corresponded perfectly with Drake's half-singing half-rapping style. Although a lot ofs songs on this album are him singing, it is obvious that he made songs which he felt were appropriate for his emotions, which is to be commended in today's industry in which artists put out what will make the most money. Overall, this is by far my favorite album! Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This album is great. Better than expected. Drake is so unique and diverse and those are two things we need more of in the music world. Drake has his own distinct sound that no one has ever heard before. I love the fact that you can feel his emotions through his music. People may say that hes too sensitive and hes not real but not everybody wants to hear about money,drugs,clubbing, and sexThis album is great. Better than expected. Drake is so unique and diverse and those are two things we need more of in the music world. Drake has his own distinct sound that no one has ever heard before. I love the fact that you can feel his emotions through his music. People may say that hes too sensitive and hes not real but not everybody wants to hear about money,drugs,clubbing, and sex all the time that's not what life is all about. People want to hear something real something they can relate to and I can surely relate to the songs on this album. Drake has done so well with Take Care. The tracks are melodic,rhythmic,lyrical.. Great 5 stars. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Take Care is clearly a big step up from Thank Me Later. Drake's sophomore album shows a bit more of his versatility seeing that a lot of the tracks are completely unconventional and he makes them his own. (Ex: Crew Love). Minus the fact that Andre clearly stole The Real Her, minus that Lil Wayne had an average at best verse on HYFR, and lastly minus We'll Be Fine was clearly a club anthemTake Care is clearly a big step up from Thank Me Later. Drake's sophomore album shows a bit more of his versatility seeing that a lot of the tracks are completely unconventional and he makes them his own. (Ex: Crew Love). Minus the fact that Andre clearly stole The Real Her, minus that Lil Wayne had an average at best verse on HYFR, and lastly minus We'll Be Fine was clearly a club anthem that in my eyes was filler, this album was solid. Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    Drake is constantly maturing as an musician. He is not necessarily a rapper, but more of an experimental artist. His first album, "Thank Me Later", and extended play, "So Far Gone", focused primarily on rap, hip hop, and main-stream pop. However, in "Take Care", he experiments with many different genres, notably in "Headlines" (electronica/pop) and "The Motto" (progressive rap-core).Drake is constantly maturing as an musician. He is not necessarily a rapper, but more of an experimental artist. His first album, "Thank Me Later", and extended play, "So Far Gone", focused primarily on rap, hip hop, and main-stream pop. However, in "Take Care", he experiments with many different genres, notably in "Headlines" (electronica/pop) and "The Motto" (progressive rap-core). Drake's sophomore project is not perfect, but not too far from it. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Once again Drake shines. This is a unique album and though it's not as good as the first one it stands out by itself.................................
  10. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I'm not the typical Drake or Young Money fan, but Take Care is phenomenal. From start to finish Drake shows his different styles; Slow/Soothing R&B (Doing It Wrong) to Fast Rap (The Motto). This album is very unique. Stop hating on Drake because he is not your regular rapper. Maybe this isn't the greatest Rap, per say, but it is fantastic MUSIC, and that's what matters, not the genre.
  11. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    For "Take Care," subtext means everything. The enduring themes -- that of insecurity and narcissism, of self-indulgence and temperance, and of emotional cascades and sheer detachment -- are highlighted by an atmospheric production which beautifully underscores Drake's pathos; indeed, he is a young man thrust into the spotlight, reaping the fruits of his labour while also being deprived ofFor "Take Care," subtext means everything. The enduring themes -- that of insecurity and narcissism, of self-indulgence and temperance, and of emotional cascades and sheer detachment -- are highlighted by an atmospheric production which beautifully underscores Drake's pathos; indeed, he is a young man thrust into the spotlight, reaping the fruits of his labour while also being deprived of the subtleties that we come to take for granted in our mundane worlds. While he hasn't mastered the lyrical fluidity of a Kanye West, Drake has still asserted himself as a mainstay in the "new school." This era of daring introspection, spearheaded by the aforementioned Mr. West, will continue to catalyze hip-hop's metamorphosis into a pure art-form. Although this album deserves an eight out of ten, I'll give it a perfect ten to improve the aggregate user score (I'm just a fan after all). In essence, this is a great album for those who enjoy a more eclectic sound. However, if you're looking for a "pure" hip-hop record, try something like Kendrick Lamar's "Section 80" or Big K.R.I.T.'s upcoming "Live from the Underground." Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A well-crafted, elegant collection of songs that are meant to be listened to more than once to truly appreciate their textured layers. More than anything - it is a CD to be played while driving through the city alone...almost like a soundtrack to the soul. A classic.
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Has there ever been a rapper as charismatic as Drake? In some sense, the phenomenal success of his platinum debut, Thank Me Later, is just one more testament to how much people like the guy.
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Do you know what's more magical in these record? When you get into it, you REALLY get into it.
    Take Care is an album made to be heard with patience and attention, because once you discover how beautiful he is, you'll be amazed. Favorites: Over My Dead Body, Headlines, Take Care, Make Me Proud, Cameras, The Real Her, The Practice.
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    After a year of growing and development as a artist/singer/rapper Take Care is overall a masterpiece of not only Drake as a Genre but as also a new "Style". Thank Me Later was greatly loved and greatly respected and after a few months people were wondering what Drakes next album was gonna be next and i am pretty sure no one would have thought of Take Care. Take Care blends a mix of LowAfter a year of growing and development as a artist/singer/rapper Take Care is overall a masterpiece of not only Drake as a Genre but as also a new "Style". Thank Me Later was greatly loved and greatly respected and after a few months people were wondering what Drakes next album was gonna be next and i am pretty sure no one would have thought of Take Care. Take Care blends a mix of Low Vibe, Dimmed Light sort of music which also has a big amount of Realism. Realism is something most people don't expect on a Album but Drake takes it and runs with it. Bringing his love life and personal life is daring and some what dangerous but Drake makes it Successful(Yes just like the Song with Trey Songz). Crew Love is a great example of the low vibe and great vocals by (The Weeknd), Underground King and HYFR shows the arrogance but yet shows the true charismatic side of Drake that most of us know and love. Headlines is one of those songs that does not talk about love or sadness and it shows the real Upbeat Drake brings into the album with the High and Lows being the meaning of the entire album. We'll be fine, Dreams money can buy, and Lord Knows is the Brain and body of the Album and shows a real push that the Album needs and proceeds greatly. Over my Dead body and Shot for me are basically right out the bat the love songs that Drake gives and shows to his audience that hes different from other rappers and there way of explaining there love to a Women. The Other songs fall into those categorys but the one song that really overall Shocked me and really had its own lift was "Doing it Wrong", maybe Stevie Wonder's powers gave Drake the inspiration to make such a meaning full deep Song. The reason Doing it Wrong shines from the other songs is because it really really shows Drake as not only a artist but as a Person, this song is (in my opinion) the blood and heart of the entire album it guides, shows, represents the overall meaning of the Album and (again in my opinion) is one of the reasons this album will be a classic and well known albums of the future. Expand
  16. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Album of the year. Drake shows a lot of growth as a rapper on this album. His flow has improved considerably. His songwriting lyrics are great as usual (If you don't think Drake is a good lyricist you're ignorant or oblivious) personal, emotional, witty, his punchlines and braggadocio are better this time around also. There are also quite a few entendres throughout the tracks which, IAlbum of the year. Drake shows a lot of growth as a rapper on this album. His flow has improved considerably. His songwriting lyrics are great as usual (If you don't think Drake is a good lyricist you're ignorant or oblivious) personal, emotional, witty, his punchlines and braggadocio are better this time around also. There are also quite a few entendres throughout the tracks which, I think, Is fantastic. Not too many features and they are mostly appropriate. The Weeknd does a great job on "Crew Love" in a song that fits both artists well and provides some nice background vocals on "Cameras" "Good Ones Go Interlude" and "The Ride". Even though it sounds like The Weeknd is all the album it's not as overpowering as it sounds. Other than "Crew Love" and the chorus of "The Ride" he just does his crooning in the background thing. Rihanna's chorus on the title track "Take Care" is good showing very appropriate for the song. Kendrick Lamar's verse on "Buried Alive Interlude" is very good over a unique, cool sounding instrumental. Nicki Minaj has a disappointing appearance on the single "Make Me Proud" ("I'm a star... Sheriff badge." Really...?) though it is probably the worst song on the album anyway. Birdman doesn't really feature on "We'll Be FIne" just talks a bunch of **** Drakes way but he's at the end so it's very easy to skip over him without missing any of the song. Wayne is on here more than needed and, for me personally, wanted. He probably didn't have to be on "The Real Her" but does a good job on "HYFR" and ends with another dud verse in "The Motto". Rick Ross gives a very typical Rozay verse on Lord Knows so take that how you will. Andre 3000 comes in at the end of The Real Her laying down a quality verse with his unique flow and style He probably should have just taken Wayne's spot in the song though. Also Stevie Wonder does his thing on the harmonica at the end of "Doing It Wrong" though he doesn't do any singing. The album flows well from track to track plays like an actual albums not just a collection of songs. It is a great piece of work from Drake you can feel some Comeback Season and So Far Gone here though Drake has noticeably grown since then also. Drake does quite a bit more bragging on this album and does a good job doing it. However I pray he stays humble off the mic. Not many complaints about the album. I do wish "Dreams Money Can Buy" "Club Paradise" and "Free Spirit" were on the album however i can't think of anything I'd want them to replace. IT IS NOT AN R&B ALBUM! He raps on all but 2 songs out of a 19 track album! He sings and raps on some songs (When you can sing why not sing your own choruses? I don't understand some people's thinking on this but oh well) but it's balanced and there is much more rapping than singing going on throughout the verses (He goes for nearly 3 minutes straight on "Lord Knows" Only thing I hate is getting in the car and realizing I won't be able to listen to the whole thing, but that's a good problem to have. Expand
  17. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I'm probably the biggest Drake fan in the world. But that doesn't mean I overlook things just because I like him. So Far Gone was CLASSIC. Thank Me Later...was forgettable except for "Fireworks", "Karoke" and several other tracks. Take Care was the holy grail album of the year for me, the one I've been waiting on. And it not only met, but EXCEEDED my expectations. "Over my dead Body" isI'm probably the biggest Drake fan in the world. But that doesn't mean I overlook things just because I like him. So Far Gone was CLASSIC. Thank Me Later...was forgettable except for "Fireworks", "Karoke" and several other tracks. Take Care was the holy grail album of the year for me, the one I've been waiting on. And it not only met, but EXCEEDED my expectations. "Over my dead Body" is the best song, followed by "Shot for Me". "Doing it wrong" is surprisingly third best, and the harmonica solo was great from Stevie Wonder but I wish he would have sung. To me, it is a tad better than So Far Gone and it mixes up a lot of styles he hasn't done before. Several tracks feel out of place, but I honestly liked them all. Rick Ross is good in 'Lord Knows', Rihanna as well in 'Take Care'. But the Weeknd shines in 'Crew Love'. 'The Ride was great on a second listen. Give props to Drake, because it begins and ends on great notes (Hate Sleeping Alone). The only two things that are missing are "Club Paradise" and "Free Spirit". A highly impressed fan here. I feel as if I've been hungry for weeks and just ate the juiciest, fruitiest, most satisfying meal of my life. Drake is real, and I enjoy hearing what I take as the tales of a lonely man surrounded by fakes, but finds happiness Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Great sophomore effort. Drake brings in big guests for this album, Andre 3000, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, The Weeknd, Rihanna, Rick Ross and Kendrick Lamar. It's amazing how he picked guests which are perfect for him to collaborate with, expecially The Weeknd and Rihanna. I liked this album because it had substance behind it instead of doing what his mentor Lil Wayne does, talks stupid. A fewGreat sophomore effort. Drake brings in big guests for this album, Andre 3000, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, The Weeknd, Rihanna, Rick Ross and Kendrick Lamar. It's amazing how he picked guests which are perfect for him to collaborate with, expecially The Weeknd and Rihanna. I liked this album because it had substance behind it instead of doing what his mentor Lil Wayne does, talks stupid. A few teary moments in this album, the tracks Doing It Wrong and Look What You've Done with a personal phone call from one of his elders. The only fault I had was the amount of tracks on the album, it could've been easily chopped down expecially the Marvins Room track, I got sick of the amount of times his drunk-dial woman was talking down the phone. Stand out moments, Kendrick Lamar on the interlude Buried Alive and Andre 3000 on The Real Her. One of the best albums of 2011. OVOXO Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Rapping is as weak as ever, WAYYYY too much singing, and too long of an album. Quality is still good tho. If he made the album shorter i would probably give him a 7. 6.5/10
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Im not a Drake stan in anway, but to deny this album is nothing but brilliant would be idiotic. When was this album ever labelled as purely rap, anyone hating on the RnB elements has never heard Drake before is just looking for an excuse to hate. Why are you listening to his second album if you feel so negatively towards him? Just admit you like him already, this album is incredible.
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This album made me like Drake even more. I like the fact that he incorporates different types of musical styles into his songs. He's not a bad singer so his technique is working in his favour. Each song creates a different atmosphere. I especially like his take on Juvenile's "Back That A** Up" (Practice). It's brilliant. As for the lyrical themes with the exception of growing into wealth,This album made me like Drake even more. I like the fact that he incorporates different types of musical styles into his songs. He's not a bad singer so his technique is working in his favour. Each song creates a different atmosphere. I especially like his take on Juvenile's "Back That A** Up" (Practice). It's brilliant. As for the lyrical themes with the exception of growing into wealth, I can relate to it. Which makes this album perfect. Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This album will be a classic, Drake created his own style of rap/hiphop. On his first album, the influence of 'Cash Money' producers was clear in some songs (Miss Me, Fancy). Even though that was a good album, it wasn't a great one. This album on the other hand, is great. The influence of James Blake is very clear in this album, leading to some revolutionary songs with revolutionary beatsThis album will be a classic, Drake created his own style of rap/hiphop. On his first album, the influence of 'Cash Money' producers was clear in some songs (Miss Me, Fancy). Even though that was a good album, it wasn't a great one. This album on the other hand, is great. The influence of James Blake is very clear in this album, leading to some revolutionary songs with revolutionary beats (to give an example, Crew Love). The Jamie xx produced Take Care has a beautiful build-up, and reminds me of "Weak become heroes" by The Streets (aka Mike Skinner). Instead of chosing for industry-leading guest stars, he has chosen guest artists whose voice/rap skills fit the song perfectly (except for Lil Wayne and Nicki Minaj, but they need to be on it for obvious reasons). Just like he gives Rihanna a surprising vocal role in Take Care; not the powerful Rihanna you'd expect, but an almost timid Rihanna. It's very obvious that he was left with creative control this time. I'm willing to bet he's going to receive a grammy for this one.

    "Take Care", "Marvin's Room", "Crew Love", "Lord Knows" are instant classics.
    Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    This album is unique. To some it will be the start of something great. To other like myself it is just another album. Nothing to special here, skip this one and go for Blue Slide Park.
  24. N10
    Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Stop hating!
    You guy's who says that Drake is the worst rapper, have you even heard other rappers. And I mean Sou lja Boy, is he really better than Drake? Certainly not. It's so many rappers who sucks right now...
    We have so many bad rapper's, and I know it. Listen to the other rappers and then comment...
    Drake= Do pest.. I love this album, Do Right And Kill Everything! OVO
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing CD. Great job Drake! I don't even know what to say. Pure art, pure magic, pure amazing. It's got a little bit of everything in there. It's a little different, and it definitely is not a pure rap CD, there is alot of R&B in it, but he pulls it off with class and style.
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is definitely the best album of 2011. Each and every song combines some sort of emotion and the beats are just too amazing to even describe. The only set back is one awkward verse from nicki minaj in make me proud or else this is the perfect album. Everyone should buy this album for sure
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This album is a classic OVOXO take care. There are several good songs on this album that represent the city that he is from and it is very special in its own way. This is because he has unique features that drive Drake's style into a new and more evolved direction. Who says change is bad?
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Just bought the album today. You can tell Drizzy put a LOT OF WORK into this album. A well deserved 10/10! Haters can hate all they want. Album of the Year Nominee for sure.
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The album is great. Front to back, not a boring song. Drake takes you through his journey of how he reacts around people with his new fame. Also, Drake holds no words and goes after other rappers and critics who make fun of him for being soft.
  30. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is a phenomenal job done by rapper Drake. Great blend of hip-hop & R&B. The standouts of the album are "Look What You've Done", "Lord Knows", "Cameras", "Over My Dead Body", and "We'll Be Fine" This is definitely in my Top 3 hip-hop albums of the year.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 80
    Considering Take Care is an affecting masterpiece easily on par with his debut, there could be no greater accolade for the genius of this man.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    50
    He's tightened his flow ever so slightly, but the brutal artlessness of his writing and character remains. [Jan 2012, p.69]
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    It's great at times, but far more work than it should be. [Jan 2012, p.127]