Take Me to the Land of Hell - Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    [The album blurs] genres with the same ease it blurs expectations. [Oct 2013, p.109]
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    The album repeats and reiterates her major concerns--artistic, political--and renders them witty and endearing. [Oct 2013, p.51]
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    Bonkers in parts it may be, but Take Me proves hugely enjoyable.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Take Me to the Land of Hell delivers performances with the kind of weight--and lightness--that can only come from an artist entering her ninth decade.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    The Land Of Hell is always interesting and always moving in many directions at once. Of the artists who can pull off that kind of randomness, Ono remains pre-eminent.
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Take Me To The Land Of Hell is one of Yoko Ono's strongest efforts. [Oct 2013, p.72]
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Land Is Hell is alive with 21st century energy. [Oct 2013, p.96]
  8. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    The album is singularly that of Ono's deliciously odd aesthetic. [No. 102, p.59]
  9. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    It's all made without an ounce of self-consciousness, by a woman whose philosophy is neatly summed up in the intro to Bad Dancer: "When your heart is dancing, your mind is bouncing."
  10. Oct 3, 2013
    76
    The fearsome, intellectual vitality of her funk-metal-electro freak-outs would surely put any teenager to shame.
  11. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    Hell is more gentle and sensitive than silly. It’s also spends more time plunging into new territory than being gentle and sensitive.
  12. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    Like most records that lack a central stylistic thrust, Take Me to the Land of Hell often resembles a great collection of tracks instead of a coherent overall work.
  13. Dec 3, 2013
    60
    Guesting on a Yoko Ono LP has become like getting cast in a Woody Allen film: an artistic validation and New York City-branded right of passage. It’s also clearly a hoot.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    I have been following Yoko Ono's music since 1981's "Season of Glass" the quintessential Yoko Ono album made immediately after husband/ex-beatle John Lennon was shot to death mercilessly outside their apartment building. This new album has lots for her legions of fans to enjoy. "Leaving Tim" and "Chesire Cat Cry" are my favorites. It's hard to actually say "favorites" because I like the whole album. It's the voice of a woman who has seen all the bad and great things life has to offer. And that's saying a lot. Yes, despite going through so much in life and now being 80 y.o. she continues on in her hip way making cool music which is relevant and worth listening to. John would be proud and happy over this album. This world lacks style, and most people prefer listening to tacky, throw-away, meaningless artists... Full Review »