Ten New Songs - Leonard Cohen
Ten New Songs Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leonard Cohen's first album of new material since 1992's 'The Future' contains, oddly enough, ten new songs. Sharon Robinson co-wrote each of the tracks, as well as providing instrumentation and backing vocals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. 100
    You have to adjust to its lack of ornamentation and let it settle, seep, uncurl like smoke or love. And there are songs here to equal his best. [Album Of The Month, Dec 2001, p.100]
  2. He's never sounded more sensuous. [12 Oct 2001, p.88]
  3. The first four tracks... [are] as powerful as any he's written.
  4. 70
    His relentless intelligence is itself a consolation, bearing gifts of order and sly humour -- though not so many haunting tunes as on, say I'm Your Man. [Nov 2001, p.100]
  5. Beneath the plasticky politeness is the same old wry fatalism that the likes of Smog continue to strive for.
  6. It's not inappropriate to think of Ten New Songs as an audio book of poetry with musical accompaniment.
  7. This is the first time he's sounded less than vital.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. WodekS.
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    Sensitive without denying his masculinity. This album and a bottle of wine and you're guaranteed to get some action. Thank you, Leonard. A triumph. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "..we met when we were almost young/deep in the green lilac park..."

    I think about you every day. And I hope you are well. There's this version of "C'mon, Marianne" by Bill Callahan that just kills me. It makes me wonder what it would be like to be loved by you. But it's really a Leonard Cohen song. I have read so much about your condition. I'm a compulsive reader. Take care. Not in the cliched sense, but really, take care. If we ever see each other on the street, I hope you won't turn the other way.
    Expand
  3. EddieM.
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    you must have travelled a long, long way through life to be able to look at it from such a considerable distance, but without impersonal detachment ! I hope I get somewhere near that point someday ... Expand
  4. ZoranM
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fresh, from expierienced fox Leonard the great soul builder!
  5. PeterB
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    One exquisite poem/song, "Alexandra Leaving", makes this album a 10. The rest of the songs are very fine, but few songs of the last hundred years are as fine as "Alexandra". Collapse
  6. KimKim
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    Just superb. Dreamy, sensual music and just gorgeous listening. My first Leonard Cohen album, someone lent it to me and i'm now a big fan!! 9 out of 10 because there's one song I don't like (Boogie Street). Expand
  7. GQ
    Apr 7, 2004
    0
    I stepped into an avalanche...an avalanche so sticky I couldn't move. All around me I hear how moving it all is, but I can't breathe for all this goo. It is an unremitting stinker, an album so bad that it occuies a golden space in my musical mythology. I just can't throw it away. No, I throw it on whenever I need to get something done quickly or to urge guests to hurry up an leave. It really is that purgatorial. Sharon Robinson has bought the emperor a new synthesizer which sounds as if it got damaged in the post. I hate to think of the clothes she makes him wear. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews