Ten - cLOUDDEAD
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The mesmerizing quality they create through drone beats and varied vocals engage the listener in a whirlwind of noise, and it rarely ever lets up.
  2. It’s so intriguing that I continually find myself tuning and listening to it over and over again.
  3. Truly unlike anything else you'll hear this year, hip-hop or otherwise.
  4. 88
    By not making sense as we know it, cLOUDDEAD creat music that is open to interpretation. [#10, p.96]
  5. A thoroughly engaging exercise in uneasy listening.
  6. I’d recommend ten to anyone who bought oaklandazulasylum; to anyone else, I’d recommend both with some urgency...this is the real thing, and you’ll never know how much you needed it until you hear it.
  7. 80
    The flow is smoother, and the whole thing has a more compressed, accessible feel, without compromising the essential psychedelic madness at its heart. [Apr 2004, p.113]
  8. 80
    Everything they do is infused with an undeniable, albeit sometimes unfathomable, psychedelic spirit. [Mar 2004, p.92]
  9. 80
    Closer in spirit to Matmos' The Civil War than to any rap record, Ten dares you to let your inner child out to play. [Mar 2004, p.108]
  10. Gen-Y stoners who'd trade their favorite bong to inhale a hip-hop Pink Floyd, the exchange line starts here. [May 2004, p.108]
  11. This is hip-hop for post-rock fans and vice versa.
  12. Ten is half as long as the band's debut and much more focused; each performer shows improved range and sharper talents. And yet, it's still a mixed bag.
  13. 75
    Suggests a gullier Cocteau Twins. [May 2004, p.108]
  14. As rap, this hardly registers. As political commentary, it’s too obtuse to make much impact. But as eclectic, genre-bending music with an ear for interesting sounds and a knack for making ambiguous lyrics memorable, cLOUDDEAD’s second effort is uniquely promising and satisfying.
  15. After a few listens Ten emerges as an extremely clever audio novel.
  16. Some of cLOUDEAD's lyrics are too precious and oblique not to shrug off, but the good ones rub rich images from their absurdist couplings. [24 Mar 2004]
  17. Ten is forever on the point of falling apart but somehow doesn't. [#241, p.55]
  18. Not what you'd call an enjoyable listen, but one to be respected anyway, and also one that worms its way into your head.
  19. The trio have returned to the territory of their debut, but somehow failed to recapture the lightning that animated it.
  20. Clouddead's problem is their stubborn refusal to express anything.
  21. Ten turns out a few good songs, but there are better solo records by each of its members.
  22. They've sadly cranked up the wackiness. [Apr 2004, p.108]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. bozzobob
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    wikid
  2. JeffM.
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    re-Joyce my ears! This album reminds me of all those strange noises you make as a kid, trying harmonies and variations to create a moment re-Joyce my ears! This album reminds me of all those strange noises you make as a kid, trying harmonies and variations to create a moment that happens and dies forever in your back yard. (Other people did that, right?) This work -all of cLOUDDEAD's work- uses thoughts as the palette, and (some would argue) hip-hop as the medium. I prefer not to stuff this in a genre, I think the pressure of that, the expectations of that could be what caused cLOUDDEAD to end. "Our Name" is a shameless, somewhat veiled statement of "screw off, we're done then." I often wonder why... but I hear it was to save their friendship, not being pushed over the edge by fans/pans/critics. Either way, this album made me even more sad they're gone. It's top notch. Full Review »
  3. holliehorror
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    This is such an amazing cd! The album is a book for my ears.