Terms of My Surrender

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Terms of My Surrender Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest release of acoustic blues from the veteran singer-songwriter was produced by Doug Lancio.
Buy On
  • Record Label: New West
  • Genre(s): Blues, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Roots Rock, Heartland Rock, Acoustic Blues
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    The results are very pleasing indeed, from the mean faith-bating blues of Face Of God to the howling prairie wisdom of Wind Don’t Have To Hurry, the nononsense declaration of love, Marlene, to the hobo jazz of the title track.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    It's lush, grown-up, thoughtful, funny and very good. [Sep 2014, p.93]
  3. Q Magazine
    Jul 3, 2014
    All compensate in quality for what they lack in originality. [Aug 2014, p.107]
  4. 80
    The result is a warm, generally introspective but far from musty set that revels in predominantly acoustic material sung with Hiatt’s increasingly gruff, whiskeyed voice.
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    Produced by Doug Lancio, the lead guitarist in the Combo, Mr. Hiatt’s fine backing band, Terms of My Surrender has a relaxed and rawboned sound, credibly rooted in live performance.
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    On Terms of my Surrender, Hiatt has the blues, and he's got the goods, and this is another solid chapter in a recording career that's drifted into an unexpected but pleasing renaissance.
  7. 58
    A couple of the blues songs (“Here to Stay”, for instance) blend into the scenery and are soon forgotten, but the only real clunkers are the lighter fare, “Marlene” and “Old People”, which feel forced and unable to balance out the album’s darker moments.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 21, 2014
    Tempus fugit
    As time goes by, so John Hiatt is feeling older. As it seems in many songs he wrote for this album, he speaks of time, age,
    Tempus fugit
    As time goes by, so John Hiatt is feeling older. As it seems in many songs he wrote for this album, he speaks of time, age, suffering, good and bad, God and Devil, tough losses, broken love, etc. In most of them he uses his lower tone, and sings in a slow mood. It could be painful with music on a country mood, but the rhythm here is as smooth as it can be.
    I prefer this latest release from the previous ones, « Mystic Pinball » (2012), « Dirty Jeans & Mudslide hymns » (2011), « The open road » (2010) and « Same old man » (2008). In all of these, there were three or four really songs in every of them, but as much others which were forgettable. Here, like in « Master of disaster » (2005), there is no song that could make an enormous hit on the charts, if anybody cares about this anymore, but the quality of all the album is at a higher level in general.
    And I really love when Hiatt is showing us his tongue-in-cheek humour, like in « Old people » here, his most funniest song since « Back on the corner » nine years ago.
    This artist still has a lot to give us. We should enjoy his skills while he’s still alive. If you’re sticking to the lyrics, he seems close to the end. But the melodies are still great. And it’s rather good.