Thank Me Later

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 279

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanK.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    One of the most true and real rap albums to ever be released. Drake raps with realism and relates to his listeners by telling us about his life.
  2. RyanD.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    Thank me later is really a nice laid back album. Drake is very depth in his lyric choice. His style is more energetic and calm in his debut album.He goes hard every song and kills it with is collabos with other artists.
  3. timothya
    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate hoax to trick people into thinking he is an updated version of the typical hardcore "street" rapper. Drake does not contribute anything new to the rap game, but instead comes off as a failed hybrid of lil wayne and Kanye west. Bragging abouts his exploits (in a less coy way than his contemporaries) and trying bitterly to have people understand that being rich and famous is difficult. We get it Drake, we are supposed to relate to you. However, in the end he is not the middle/upper class savior rap fans were hoping for. I think I will be thanking him much later, like never...That being said I like "Miss me" "Find your love" (I don't know why), "Thank me Now" and "show me a good time". Expand
  4. CodyH.
    Jun 15, 2010
    5
    Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the album. Drake attempts to use emotionally charged lyrics, but comes short. Overall the album is worth listening to but nothing special. Expand
  5. JD
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    Its pretty good. I could you some more of his mixtape style rapping. Also I dont like the AUTOtune in some of the songs.
  6. ChaoseK
    Jun 16, 2010
    0
    This autotune strash is just awful. His Lyrics are WACK as hell, & his flow is even more stupid. I hate Auto tune & his rapping is even worse. None of his songs are beyond just O.K, He gets by only because of his style & the fact that his futuristic music takes you to a place, a very strange place but a place nonetheless. I kinda like
  7. GregC
    Jun 18, 2010
    9
    Impressive debut album. Drake possesses some serious skills on the mic, being able to actually hold a tune unlike his advocaries who think that they could, and if you're still on that whole "Drake can't rap" boat, I advise you to get off because it's a quickly sinking ship.
  8. LashaeR
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album especially for a debut. I love the fact that not only can he rap but he sings , and when he sings it's actually pleasant.
  9. JMartinsS
    Jun 19, 2010
    0
    Awful, he can't sing, so what does he do all album? Sing. WIthout auto tune, this guy would be a laughing stock
  10. JamieRitchie
    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    amazing album
  11. ArmandoC.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    The smooth beats and really deep and insightful lyrics makes this a great album overall. Drake is very skilled and he knows it!
  12. Michael
    Jun 15, 2010
    7
    Overall this was an average album. I am completely surprised that the metascore is at 82 right now. I recently listened to Eminem's recovery and that smashes on this album. If this album is an 82, then Recovery should at the very least be a 90!
  13. JDX
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Is it a classic, almost. Not many new faces can make and album of this caliber the first time out which makes it even more impressive. Of course there will be haters, there always are, but Drake more than delivered on his hype in my view and they will just have to swallow it.
  14. JayM
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    One of the top albums of the year already. The synth chill beats he has on the album make it a perfect CD to waste the day listening to. Sometimes the subject topic is monotonous but overall Drake has fully embedded himself as a power in the rap game with this album.
  15. pitom
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Genuine introspection and bone-chilling production.
  16. VictorH
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Incredible!
  17. Gurjb
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Amazing how can these critics give this cd such unfair acclaim when they give artists like guccci mane soulja boy and others stupid rappers such good reviews.
  18. ConradM.
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able to show people what the real difference is between R&B and Pop. It is rare that a rapper can switch so freely between rapping and singing while still remaining in flow; even Kanye West had to do separate albums for each. The inside booklet is rather touching, but also ironic that he is thanking everyone else when the album's title suggests otherwise. The guest stars on this album supplement Drake well, with rappers Nicki Minaj, T.I., Jay-Z, Lil Wayne and Young Jeezy amplifying Drake's lyrical ability, and singers R&B Alicia Keys and The-Dream showing off his more emotional side. No I.D., Crada, Boi-1da, 40, Matthew Burnett, Tone Mason, Jeff Bhasker and Al-Khaaliq all show off their own production skills by helping Drake achieve what he has, and Producer-Rappers Swizz Beatz, Timbaland and Kanye West have given us their best. I am not going to ruin too much for you by mentioning any specific new tracks-that is up to you to think about-but European Bonus track Best I Ever Had is able to conclude the album by reminding us why we bought it. It shows us the journey Drake has travelled, and how much he has changed since his big breakthrough, So Far Gone, and you must remember this is his first album; Eminem himself didn't start off as great as he is now, anyone remember Infinite? Expand
  19. chada
    Jun 17, 2010
    5
    I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse he's just not talented enough to master the "Rap" side of the table he has catchy hooks but weak metaphors like"I can make you speak my language Rosetta stone" and a lack of substance and mediocre cadences make this one of the weakest rap debuts Note-No great rapper in history has had a weak or mediocre debut! Expand
  20. CodyT
    Jun 17, 2010
    3
    Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you Promising buzz single "Over" does not represent this album in the LEAST. I went in expecting an energetic, original rap album but was left scratching my head at all of the soft, auto-tuned laziness on the disc. At times the production sounds amateur and you begin to realize all the hype about this former child actor is blown way out of proportion. So with that being said I suggest you look elsewhere for in your face spitting, because you won't find it here on this lackluster debut. Expand
  21. RandyJ
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    This reshapes the genre as much as 808's and Heartbreak. A classic piece of music that explores the limits of hip-hop, R&B, and pop.
  22. KCc
    Jun 18, 2010
    0
    One of the most disappointing debuts in hip hop!!! Drake sounds like a whiny f**kin' teenager looking for love. The problem is Drake has no pain or real issues to deal with. I guess when you grow up rich you're biggest problem is worrying about what happened to your high school jump off. This album sucks!!!!
  23. EricY
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    TML is definitely one of the greates hip hop albums of the century. Drake has shown us, once again, his ability to be real and mix the genders. TML has different tempos and is one of those cds that you keep listening over and over and over again.
  24. MarkC
    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    This album was hyped to be so much, but was a completely let down. As a Hip hop fan, this is awful, Drake may as well call himself a Pop artist, he cant sing and just uses Autotune like theres no tomorrow.
  25. khalid
    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    Its a solid debut album...im not really sure if this is better than b.o.b.s album, then a good bit of tracks are r n b, but if you really like drake then this is a good album.
  26. ChadL
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Great album, all the way through. Lives up to the hype.
  27. AjayD
    Jun 15, 2010
    2
    Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then Does he have potential? Yes. The problem is, His lyrics are quite shallow and predictable at most times. In some songs, his subject matter is confusing. For example, In one rhyme he talks about his Grandma being on hospital and then he switches it up and starts talking about this hot girl at the mall. What? The beats are alright, Hooks needed more effort. This dude needs to do better then this. In the end, I would recommend this Album to the young listeners. The Adults need to listen to better Hip Hop like Joe Budden, Crooked I, Nas, Tech N9ne, Atmosphere, Jedi Mind Tricks, Chad (Canadian), and others. Expand
  28. JMoney
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    UNDISPUTED Album of the year!!!
  29. KaosH
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: *Fireworks *Show Me A Good Time *Up All Night *Unforgettable *Over *Miss Me the weakest tracks on the CD to me are Karaoke, Light Up, and CeCe's Interlude (not really a track, its an interlude, but still i dont like it that much). I Think that 11 out of the 14 songs on the CD are that good. This is why I gave it a 9 out of 10. Expand
  30. DougL
    Jun 16, 2010
    9
    This wasn't what we expected, and it's the best surprise of the year.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.